We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel. Booked wrong hotel, -- but more than happy with result, nice clean room with sea view, - 10 out of 10 for breakfast! Staff very helpfully & nothing was to much trouble. 10 mins from main square and nice quiet location. -- yes I would return, without hesitation!

Room Tip: Only around 5 floors in hotel, we had top floor room and nice side sea view, front sea view best but...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaretdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear valued customer,

It is nice to read that, even if you booked the wrong Hotel, your stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori has been pleasant and has exceeded your expectations.

We hope that next time you decide to come to Sorrento, our Hotel will be your first choice.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again, we remain

Warmest regards

Customer care department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for a week in May, leaving last Friday - sad day!! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, everything was perfect from arrival to departure! We had an absolutely beautiful suite, Room 101 with a fabulous sea view across the Gulf of Naples to Vesuvius, with a balcony with its own hot tub as well as table and chairs to sit and enjoy the sunset - and what sunsets! Every part of the hotel is fabulous, the location (10 minutes easy walk to the main square), the gorgeous gardens, the communal areas inside, the wooden decked beach (accessed via lift), the pool area, the dining areas, everything! The reception staff are happy to arrange trips to various local sites etc and arranged a hugely enjoyable trip to Capri, with tour of the Island for us - they do offer a wide selection of trips and visits so do ask at reception on arrival. Apart from the fact that this hotel is absolutely beautiful what also made our holiday were the wonderful staff! All the staff here are exceptional, from the excellent reception staff to the chamber maids. It seems almost unfair to leave anyone out, but a special thank you to the wonderful Gennaro and Tonino and Maitre D'Hotel Giovanni, together with Valentino. All I would say is that maybe the gentleman fronting the beach area could perhaps take a few tips from his colleagues! Very unusually for us, we ate in the hotel every evening, as well as most lunch times - the food here is delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfast is also very good with a huge selection. This hotel and it's hard working staff are wonderful - we will definitely return - very soon hopefully and would highly recommend to anyone considering visiting this beautiful area.

Room Tip: Our Room 101 was perfect, however, on return will ask for Room 102 next door, simply because it has...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harrysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear valued customer,

thank you for sharing the positive experience you had at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori with all the readers of tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed one of our new Exclusive Suites with a large terrace on the sea and a heated hot tub where to relax and enjoy the sunset.

Your comment has been highly appreciated from the whole staff at the Ambasciatori who work very hard in order to make our customers stay as pleasant as possible and in your case seem they have reached the target.

We all look forward to welcoming you soon and remain

Warmest regards

Customer care department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My sisters, husband and brother in-law had the greatest experience ever at this wonderful hotel. The setting was extraordinary and the staff was outstanding. The rooms were fantastic, updated, and clean. The moment we walked into the hotel we knew it was going to be the best experience ever. The lobby was filled with confortable seating, the marble floors and wood inlaid desk were breath taking.
The pool area with many sitting areas overlooking the breath taking views were outrageously wonderful. The deck at the beach via a wonderfully mirrored elevator was quite an experience. Even though it was May and the water temperature was cool, many of us enjoyed a swim in the Mediteranean from the deck.
The breakfast in the morning is included in the price of the room, complete with fresh fruit, crepes, and omelets made to order, sweets, cheeses, meats, bacon, champagne, and way too much to mention everything. The staff were always ready to please and making sure that we all felt part of the hotel's family.
Downtown Sorrento is within walking distance for shopping and fantastic restaurants. It is also a jumping off point to take the ferries to Amalfi, Rovello, Positano and Capri. This hotel was in the perfect spot for seeing and doing everything we wanted over 5 days.

Room Tip: We were all on the 7th floor and even though listed as garden rooms, we all had great views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear valued customer,

thank you for your time spent in writing you comment on tripadvisor.
It cannot be so nice to read how wonderful has been your stay at our Hotel and we expecially thank you to report that it has been the greates experience you have ever had.

Thank you to appreciate our new rooms as well as the buffet breakfast served in the morning in our restaurant with panoramic view over the Gulf of Neaples and Vesuvius.

We are sure you will bring with you good memories of our Hotel for a very long time.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon, we remain

Warmest regards

Customer care department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just finished an 8 day stay with the Ambasciatori in Sorrento and had an outstanding experience. From the staff, to the location, the food, ambiance, and incredible hospitality, this was by far one of the best hotels we've stayed in so far. Our room was impeccable, spacious and cleaned daily. It was quiet but not far from the main piazza of Sorrento, within walking distance to everything including the main port and bus/train terminal. The grounds were impeccable including the swimming area, pool, elevators and general areas. Sorrento is a great destination if you wish to make day trips to Amalfi, Positano and Capri. There are plenty of transportation choices to get you from Sorrento to the other villages and the Ambasciatori is located within walking distance to all of these choices. I don't have a bad thing to say about this hotel and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I believe you can choose for a sea view or garden view. The garden view is more reasonable. We sel...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear valued customer,

with great pleasure we learn how incredibly nice was your stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
Thank you for sharing your positive comment with all the readers of tripadvisor and highlight the outsatnding service provided from our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the nearer future, we remain

Best Regards

Customer care department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori in Sorento for a week in early May. We had a larger room and our daughter had a small room, both of which perfectly met our needs. The hotel is slightly further away from town compared to some others so going back to the room each night took an extra 10 minutes. However, it is a beautiful resort right on the water in a very scenic setting. The lower floors of the hotel are actually built into the mountain and the elevator goes through the mountain all the way to the beach on the lowest level. The service was excellent. The people at the front desk were helpful. The breakfast that came with the room was excellent; an egg or pancake station, meats, breads, fruit, drink of choice. The restaurant was well staffed, clean, and they attended to your needs. At the pool, there is also a selection of food and drink for snack or lunch.
Each longer term reservation comes with a voucher that may be used for in hotel expenditures. We saved about $100 and our daughter saved about $70 on food and drinks that we bought at the hotel; a definite savings.
The beds were very comfortable, the room was large enough for us. The shower was a hand held that is placed on a holder so that it is like a standard shower; worked fine. Overall we were very pleased with the experience and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for the time spent in writing such a wonderful review! So nice to hear you enjoyed the location, right on the cliff but in a walking distance from the center. The wide choice that our breakfast offers is one of our stronger point together with the quality of service: we are glad you could feel how passionate is the staff about their work. We look forward to welcoming you soon in our Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.

With our kind regards,

Customer care department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have spent a beautiful week here. Peaceful and charming. Stunning views. There is a walk In to town but the views are amazing and it is ten minutes and flat.
The restaurant and bar staff here couldn't have been more charming. We found the staff on the front desk a little unfriendly. ( which is why we have given 4 stars not 5) . Our welcome was not warm and we were not asked on our departure if we had had a nice time. We chose our flight times in the evening to extend our stay.... It's a busy time of year in half term, but we were refused a late check out and we could only use the courtesy room until 2pm. It would be fitting for such an elegant place to have a shower room somewhere( not just an open one in the men's toilets by the pool) this would enable late leaving guests to freshen up before they travel. It felt a bit like we had over stayed our welcome and that asking for the use of a shower before our flight was an imposition.
The only other disappointment was the saga ( type) tour... The dining room felt a little like a retirement home for the first half of our week. Also the behaviour of those guests wasn't so great with the early nabbing of sunbeds in the mornings. A problem that completely disappeared once they had gone.

Top tips
Capri .... We went over on the ferry for one day.... Wish we had done two..... So so beautiful. Our open top taxi driver Pasquale was very friendly and informative.

Amalfi coastline .... We went with a very sensible careful lovely driver called Marriella. She drove us in her air conditioned, immaculate car up to Ravello , stopping endlessly for photo opportunities . She will just wait whilst you explore. Her number is + 39 334 165 7184
she will take you anywhere ... Pompeii , amalfi anywhere you wish. She booked us restaurants and always seemed to get a good table .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sussexseagulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for the time spent in writing such a nice review. It was really rewarding for us to hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the hotel location and the service in the restaurant and bar. We always try to do our best to meet our guests expectations and we regret you did not have a positive impression of the front desk staff. We will make sure your feedback will improve our standards. As for the check-out we are always keen on allowing it when we have a chance but on a changeover day it is impossible.
A courtesy room is always available to give our guests a chance to get ready for the journey back. We all look forward to welcoming back you soon at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.

With our warmest regards,

Customer care department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have been enjoying the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori .at this time of year for the past 8 to 9 years.This must say a lot for your hospitality and excellent dinning experience
and your very successful theme evenings on Monday and Thursday.
We intend God willing to return again in May 2015.
David K.

Room Tip: Select a Garden/Pool view room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David Kirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £202 - £840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing