We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to go in June for a short break look no further than this cliff-top hotel in Sorrento. It has stunning views across the bay from Capri to Vesuvius. The rooms are impeccable and all the staff are friendly, efficient, and welcoming. We take a evening meal package when we arrive as the food is truly excellent. This is our fourth visit to the Ambasciatori and June is a perfect time of year to enjoy walking in the surrounding area without huge crowds. The hotel is a 10 min easy walk from the centre and we were lucky enough to see the Picasso exhibition this year. Overall it's not cheap but the experience is truly worth it. Planning to return again next year.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your nice remark about your recent return at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori! It is really delightful to us to read such good words regarding our high standard of service, rooms and hotel location. The whole team is looking forward to welcoming you for the fifth unforgettable stay.

Warm Regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Where do I start... Our very spacious, impecable room had a breathtaking sea view of the sorrentine peninsula. The hotel is located an easy 15-20 minute walk to the center of town, in what in my opinion is the BEST part of town, because it's away from the crowds. Hotel sits at the top of a cliff and rooms with sea view are basically embedded in the rock (if you stay here, definitely pay extra bucks for a room with sea view).

Service was excellent, staff were very helpful. We wanted to have dinner at a restaurant in Positano and they kindly made reservations for us.

Food was great, both buffet breakfast and restaurant. Views from the restaurant are amazing. It is just great to eat surrounded by such beauty, with great service and delicious food.

It is obvious that this hotel, part of the maniello group, has decades of experience and excellence serving guests. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great overall experience in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Full sea view or partial sea view are a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juxie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate very much the time you have taken to write your lovely comment. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our aim ensuring your holiday to be both memorable and relaxing.
Once again, we would like to thank you for the nice feedback and we really look forward to seeing and welcoming you back again.

Warm regards from Sorrento,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here with my husband and 2 children aged 14 and 10 years towards the end of May. Booked an Exclusive Suite with a Jacuzzi on the balcony which overlooked Vesuvius across the bay. Would really recommend the rooms if you have a family as trying to find a suitable larger room to fit all of you in at Sorrento can be quite difficult. The meals were great, the staff were quite brilliant and helpful - a credit to the Hotel chain. The views from the restaurant were simply stunning. We saw weddings at the hotel nearly everyday we were there including local Italian couples so you can understand about the quality of the hotel and how beautifully it is set out. Would love to go back next year but perhaps take a 30 minute ferry from Naples to the port at Sorrento instead of hiring a car as the drive to Sorrento is quite stressful and very busy which didn't help with my two children feeling sick in the back with all the turns and twists so we had to keep stopping. If you can, get a taxi from the airport to Naples port which isn't very far and get on the regular ferries over to Sorrento which is about 15 euros each and you will cut out a lot of your journey.

Room Tip: Try to book a Suite with a Jacuzzi and unobst4ructed view of Vesuvius from your balcony-bliss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 43SandyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at our Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. What a pleasure to read that you and the whole family appreciated so many aspects and in particular our rooms.

Our Exclusive Suite with private large terrace and heated hot tub boast of an outstanding view over the sea and the Gulf of Neaples and are the result of a deep and recent renovation to meet our guests expectations.

We are glad we succeeded in providing you with an enjoyable stay and once again thank you for your wonderful comment.

With warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to sorrento and we chose this hotel as we saw it on our previous visit. To be honest we could not fault a thing.
The view is amazing!! We had a garden view room the overlooked the pool and you could still see the sea!
Everywhere was very clean and well kept. The rooms have great air con and are thoroughly cleaned each day.
All of the staff seem very happy and not just put on!
I loved having a special cocktail that they change each day before we went into town for the evening.
Breakfast great!
Everything great.... The best thin there has to be the newly refurbished jetty on the sea which you get to in a completely mirrored lift... You arrive in a tunnel that you walk through to get to the beach... Amazing! So pretty and well kept! Brilliant sunbeds!!
We lived off of caprese salad and aperol spritz at the hotel!
You would not be disappointed at this hotel it is great!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank granthannahbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori with all the readers of Tripadvisor. We are pleased, your stay was filled by superb choices and all the aspects you pointed out met your expectations. We hope to be able to welcoming you back in a near future for another memorable stay!

With warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Grand Hotel Ambasciatori was a wonderful surpise to an already great vacation in Italy. The hotel is pearched on a cliff overlooking the water, the restaurant has a magnificent view, the room was spacious and well appointed, and the service and friendliness was superb. The hotel is a short walk to town center which was very pleasant. The one tip is to get a room with a balcony overlooking the water, it's well worth it. Sorry we could only be there 2 nights. Nice pool too although a bit chilly in May. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comment. We are really pleased to hear that you appreciated the stunning position of our hotel located on the edge of a cliff right on the sea. We are glad you had a relaxing and pleasant stay and your words will certainly help us to improve our standards.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back for a longer enjoyable stay in a near future.

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Beautiful location, genuinely attentive, friendly and helpful staff. The tradtional feel of the hotel really charmed me, down to having a real key and not a card! We didn't have a sea view and overlooked the road at the front of the hotel, however the windows and shutters certainly allowed for an uninterrupted night's sleep. Will be going for a sea view next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are planning to return. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon and make, once again, your stay unforgettable.

Warmest regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently spent a week at this wonderful hotel with our 2 children and my wifes parents celebrating their golden wedding anniversary. The hotel was just fantastic and above all else the staff were exemplary with service levels that were as good as anything we have experienced. Of course it helped that the hotel has a fantastic cliff top location with lovely terraces and fantastic views , that the rooms were tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and quality air conditioning and that the breakfast buffet was just bursting with good things to eat in a beautiful airy restaurant which spilled out onto a terrace. However the thing that really stood out was the attitude of the staff who were kind , attentive , charming and helpful all in equal measure. A great time was had by all. The Thomas Family , Kent , UK

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Mr Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to post your nice feedback after your stay at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. We are really happy to know how impressed you were from the hotel location, rooms and from the outstanding service you received.
We are all looking forward to having you back in Sorrento in a near future with the whole family.

Warmest regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £175 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing