We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't really complain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2008

After staying here I am surprised the rating isn't higher. I had originally booked the de la ville, but due to a 'booking error' (I was told they didnt realize some guests were extending their stay) we were moved to the Ambasciatore. This was fine w/ me since it's a more expensive hotel and unlike the de la ville, is actually right on the cliff facing the sea.

I have just 3 complaints:

1. The de la ville desk clerk assured me I'd have a full ocean view room at this hotel -- the room category I'd booked for de la ville. But when we got to the Ambasciatore we were put in a room with a side sea view. I asked the man at Ambasciatore reception if they had full sea view rooms available and was told no, nothing. This was clearly a lie, bc when I then called the de la ville to tell the man I was not getting the room I'd booked, he called the Ambasciatore and within 10 minutes we were moved to a full sea view room. The view was indeed awesome.

Yes the balcony was tiny (this was in the 600s) ; I noticed rooms one level down had bigger balconies, but whatever - it's not like we were throwing parties out there. There was room for 1 table and 2 chairs. I wasn't able to use it much anyway given the constant smoking of other guests on their terraces. (note to smokers- you truly do ruin everything, not that you care). Luckily the restaurants are all smoke-free (indoors).

2. Ants. The reviews indicate this is a hotel-wide issue which is understandable given the fact that the maid frequently left our balcony doors open after cleaning. However, given how expensive this hotel is (overall I do think it's overpriced) you'd think they could fix it. Luckily the ants were confined to our shower - they were coming out of the vent over it. I put shampoo up along the tile to block their path which helped confine them. When I complained, I noticed afterward that there were fewer ants, though they werent totally gone. I never saw any in the room outside the bathroom. This isnt a deal breaker for me; it's not like I had a line of them across my pillow as I've had in the caribbean.

3. Food - it's deplorable, but then there are so many restaurants w/in walking distance of the hotel, why would you eat here? We only did on the first day/night bc of exhaustion. The pizza I ordered for lunch at the snack bar by the pool was basically a hunk of dough that fell apart when I lifted it. The fish I ordered at dinner had been frozen (oddly much of the fish on restaurant menus here is frozen) and tasted of rubber, yet was over 19 euros. Vegetarian options are nil.

The restaurant atmosphere was stuffy and looked like a retirement home. I think I counted 4 people under age 70 in this place. EAT ELSEWHERE. (Except for the free breakfast; this was fine and comparable to other hot/cold buffets I've had in europe, though I wish they knew what pancakes really are).

As for basement/jail cell rooms, I see what people are saying. The hotel is longer in back than in front bc it descends the cliff, so there are 2 floors above reception, the rest 'below ground' beneath reception. The ocean view rooms on these low floors still have balconies and sea views but I cant imagine the rooms w/out the view down this low. We went down there once and the hall smelled very musty. Avoid; request a room above reception level.

Room decor - the rooms are not the homiest or most comfy, unless you like lots of gold and LIberace-style decor. The beds were very low to the ground but comfy. It just had a very cold aspect to it, not a welcoming kind of room and seemed sparce. Here's what was in it: round small wooden table; 2 french chairs; large bureau w/ drawers and the minibar, flat screen tv, 2 wood endtables, a 2-shelf marble suitcase thingy and a large wooden headboard attached to the wall. The closet was large and there's a safe inside operated by a key.

A nice touch was the remote-controlled screen that came down from the balcony so that you could completely close out all sunlight if you wished, or open it just enough to get fresh air.

The good outweighed the bad for me:

1. Location. You're pretty much going to be at the train station every day if you plan to see the amalfi coast/pompeii/vesuvius etc, so it seems foolish to stay far away from it., e.g. via capo hotels. This hotel is just 10 minutes walk. The royal is a lot closer, but I didnt want to pay that much. If you dont mind paying more, I'd reco the royal for location alone. It also looked very nice.

2. Grounds and lobby are very attractive

3. Beyond the ants the room was very clean and the maids were friendly.

4. the women desk staff were very friendly and helpful; one even xeroxed some book pages for me for free. The men are another story, however.


5. Room size was fine; not the biggest I've had but I can't complain. There is no carpet, which I dont mind though at these prices you'd think a robe/slippers would be provided.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trav226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2008

FOOD. Disappointed with meals.Menu very descriptive but in reality a let down. Reminded of basic English cooking. Possibly to cater for English taste? Bottles of H.P Sauce on display which reminded me of cheaper Meditteranean resorts. I chose The Ambasciatori hoping to experience good Italian food, not to be invited to add English sauce! Some meals similar to pub 'basket' meals, fried in breadcrumbs. Quite bland. Considering fish and steak were offered ,no fish or steak knife were set . Bread was limited to one roll per person (freshness doubtful) One evening was a buffet spread. No other option was provided. Not a fan of buffet dining. I though an alternatine should of been available. Buffet is always a good opportunity of clearing old food?
Breakfast was very good though. Eggs were cooked to your liking i.e ommlettes / scrambled by a cook in the dining area. Good idea.
Everything else was excellent. Just the dining experience. Poor

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

We got married in Positano last July and decided to have our wedding reception in the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, Sorrento.
As I did not hire a wedding planner, I found the help that I got from the hotel general manager, Giovanni, extremely helpful. He assisted me with every little detail along the way. The staff are very friendly and accomodating, especially Carla on reception, Massimo the accomodation manager and of course Giovanni.
The hotel are very experienced in catering for weddings and my day went beautifully.
The wedding meal was absolutely delicious. We had a choice of salmon, lamb or veal for mains. All my 44 guests raved on about how delicious everything was. The bridal party arrived at the hotel a few days before the wedding so we had time to sample the wines and choose our favourites for the day.The service on the day was impeccable.
We had some photos taken down on the private getty. In hindsight I would perhaps have asked for the railing along the getty to be decorated etc. It doesn't do the photo justice.
Our bedroom overlooked the pool and had a large terrace upon which we could sunbathe. This was ideal but we had to use our powers of persuasion to get this room! On the morning of the wedding my hairdresser and beautician came to my room. These ladies were recommended by the hotel, and I can see why, they were brilliant. Expensive compared to prices back in Ireland, but normal for Italy and definitely worth it!
All in all, we had a fantastic day and our guests were very impressed, especially with the breathtaking views from the hotel. My mother really enjoyed eating her breakfast while gazing out at Mt. Vesuvius every morning.
I can't wait to return to the Ambasciatori. It was a most memorable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CazzIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori during the week of September 13th, 2008. The moment I stepped into this hotel I was politely greeted and knew I loved it. Not only was this a spotless (very clean) hotel, but it was very beautiful, and modern as well.

As a first time, lone traveller, and person who was worried about being lonely and unsafe I found this hotel to be the exact opposite. Not only did I feel safe but was surrounded by the friendliest staff members any traveller could wish for. The staff tried to satisfy my needs in every way and they most certainly exceeded expectations. Since cleanliness is very important to me, Antonella, my chambermaid, made sure my room was always spotless, and in order.

Then there was the wonderful evening atmosphere where they had live music everynight , the instrumental band playing was my favorite. Giovanni the bartender and his assistant were also very friendly. Francesco, the night front desk receptionist, always had a friendly smile, (even though he had to work the late night shift), at the same time maintaining a great sense of humor. He was also very helpful when it came to calling taxis for me, at night when I went into town on my own. Once I returned from town he would actually help me in figuring out what to do the following day. I visitted nearby towns, and beaches that were not the typical tourist spots, yet still beautiful. He truly was a blessing in disguise!!

The Grand Hotel Ambasciatori is a beautiful hotel situated on a cliff overlooking the Meditteranean Sea. In the evenings one can see the lights of the brightly lit up strip in Sorrento, which is walking distance for those who enjoy a scenic walk.

The meals at the hotel were delicious offering a variety of foods that would appeal to any palate. Dinners were served on the spacious outdoors patio or indoors which overlook the Sea and in the evenings would be very romantic if one is with their significant other. Breakfast was also wonderful, they offer a buffet style breakfast with a variety of breakfast items. My favorite were the fresh croissants, and cookies.

I had a wonderful vacation, and I truly have to thank the staff who made it as pleasurable as it was. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for standards that exceed average service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wldcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Had mixed feelings given the extremes of reviews on this site but went with it anyway based on a personal recommendation.
Hotel is the typical 'shabby chic' that you get - old but quaint, (relatively well maintained in most areas), however it's a bit too expensive given that you can accept the olde world style if the service, extras and finer details / easy things were up to 4 star standard (eg - waiters white jackets were poor quality / polyester, steps to beach very neglected)- the easy things that can have a big impact to your impression. There was no one extreme thing that was a problem and we enjoyed our stay once we ignored the €300 tag and didn't let it influence our judgement too much. Good points: Room was fine (no ants!), sea view was excellent, beach area and attendant, reception, plenty of general areas / garden/balcony etc., no extra charges for towels/sunbeds. Seems well established in return custom / tour operators which might explain the impression you get that not many people/management are going the extra yard with effort or investment. Guest profile was more towards the senior citizens. No one was outwardly uncooperative or rude but nor were they overly interractive. It's about 10/15min walk out of town so taxis will cost €12-15 if you get fed up walking back each evening. There seemed to be other hotels a little closer that looked on a par (eg Royal, Tramontano etc). The upside of being a little out is that you do have a beach area and are a little further away from the crowds and ferry traffic.
Food: Breakfast had good hot & cold selection, Lunch- Bar & Pool snacks available are fine, Dinner - only tried it once - not impressed enough to do it again particularly with so much choice in town (PS Il Buco, Carusos, L'Antica Trattoria all very good - approx $150-200 for 2 for 3/4 courses and good bottle of wine - plus the nibbles, appetisers you're given). In summary - if you got this hotel for €100-150 euro (given the location and the fact that Sorrento is more expensive anyway) you'd have zero complaints but for the price it was just missing that 'extra special stay' feeling. Would I stay again? Its not a bad hotel - it's just disappointing that it has so much going for it and could be excellent, so - ignoring that we rarely if ever return to the same place twice - Yes, but not at that price. I do know someone who stayed through a package deal and it was significantly cheaper - maybe €1800 for 7-10 days incl flights and half board during peak season.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balanced8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Ambasciatori when we got married six years ago. We returned for our first wedding anniversary and we returned this year with our baby Ava-Loredana. Some people could say that I am biased because my Mama is Italian but she comes from the north and anyone that has visited the north knows that the south is by far the most beautiful part of Italy. The Ambasciatori is wonderful, the staff are first class and there wasn't one of them that I could find a fault with. I love this hotel and I have found that the people that stay there have been so nice. Americans, Belgians, Swiss as well as many English. It has a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere and the food is so good that you WILL come home at LEAST half a stone heavier! The breakfast buffet has approximately twelve to fifteen varieties of cakes and at night you may as well be in one of Sorrento's finest restaurants.

Anyway, I hope to go again next June and see Tony and Jean if the credit crunch doesn't bite us all away xxx

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TinaMarinaItaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We booked our honeymoon through sovereign via a travel agent.
from the outside the hotel looked impressive. upon checkin the staff were anything but friendly. we had room 607-horribly decorated, infested with ants but a nice view-we paid £370 a night and it was unbelievable how disgusting it was.

the minibar was full of drinks that had been half drank and it wasnt even clean!the bathroom was also dirty. we couldnt believe this was our honeymoon! we had a meal in the hotel on the first evening and i was sick that night and woke up the next morning unable to move my hands, id had an allergic reaction to either the food or an ant bite! we came home on the second day...we couldnt stay any longer!

DON'T GO-EVER!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank astra08Derry_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £177 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing