We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay in Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Grand Hotel Ambasciatori was a beautiful, elegant hotel located less than 10 min walk from the town. The rooms overlook the sea with stunning views of the coast. The rooms were spacious and spotless. One of the nicer hotels I have stayed in.
The hotel has a beautiful pool with lush grounds, and a deck to swim off - we spent most of our time on the deck as the water was clean and refreshing, and the view was so Italian. The desk staff was friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet was superb - something for everyone.
I cannot say enough but if I go back to Sorrento I will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

It is a great pleasure to read your nice remark about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. Your words will definitely help us in maintaining and raising our standards to exceed your expectations again and again. We can’t wait to welcome you back in a near future.

With warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for a week in early June
Could not fault the hotel. Room was very clean with fantastic sea view
Reception staff were very helpful
Breakfasts had lots of choice and dining area give great views to sea
Had one evening meal and this was very good both food and service
There was regular entertainment on evening and bar staff had some fun with us
We used the beach facilities and again very good layout of sun beds and decking area with excellent service from the bar
All staff very friendly
Location of hotel just 10 minutes walk from main square in Sorrento, nice pleasant walk with shops on the way
Would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIAN782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for selecting Grand Hotel Ambasciatori as your holiday destination in Sorrento.
We are grateful for the time spent to post your valuable comment on Tripadvisor and for having appreciated your stay with us. Your words will definitely motivate us to maintain and improve our level of service. We look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Kind regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Have just come back from a week in Sorrento staying at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. The Hotel is excellent. I have no complaints about anything, The room was lovely and we had a great view over the pool and grounds and could see the bay from our balcony. The amenities were fabulous. Sun beds in good supply and towels provided. The staff were so lovely and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food again excellent. We were on a bed and breakfast board but we did eat dinner and lunch in the hotel on a couple of occasions. Hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the main street in Sorrento where there are bars and restaurants to suit everyone. The shopping is good too. Sorrento is lovely pretty town. Go on the Amalfi drive and visit Pompeii and Herculaneum but do it on an organised trip as they are so worth it. You would not get to see half as much without the guides. All in all a fantastic holiday only wish we were still there. My sister and myself would love to go back in the future and will be definitely staying at the Ambasciatori when we do.

Room Tip: No beaches in Sorrento but right on the cliff front and access to the sea and sunbeds on a pontoon...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your remark regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori on Tripadvisor.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your stay and finding out we succeeded in making your stay a pleasant one is the best result we could get; as company oriented to the excellence on service, we constantly strive to meet every guests’ expectations and go beyond.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Sorrento for another unforgettable stay.

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A wonderful location to celebrate our golden wedding anniversary year and staying at a lovely hotel. All aspects of the hotel met our expectations, beautifully furnished and decorated, very clean, great views. I also mention the friendly staff - very approachable and helpful especially Filippo, Gennaro and Evalinda. Eating out was great - many restaurants to choose from. L'Abate and Fuoro are good. II Leone Rosso is less expensive but value for money. Capri/Annacapri a must but best to make your own arrangements. Buy your ferry tickets day before and take an early boat - start at 8.10am.
sweetieBedford

Room Tip: Travelled with Thomson. Top floor side sea view and garden room which was fine.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetieBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear valued Guest,

thank you for your nice comment and for having chosen Grand Hotel Ambasciatori as special destination to celebrate your golden wedding anniversary. We are glad you appreciated so many aspects of our hotel and in particular the service provided from our passionate staff, the food and rooms décor.

Thank you again for your choice and we do hope to have soon a chance to welcome you back in Sorrento.

With kind regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just returned from two weeks staying at this amazing hotel!! We were lucky enough to stay in room 103!!!! Divine, wonderful with our own beautiful spa overlooking the bay of naples!!!! We adored every second!! The staff were ALL exceptional!!!! From breakfast to dinner joyous welcoming and perfection in a comfortable way!!! Sorrento as a base is a perfect choice to see the Amalfi coast!! All easy access via boat or road to Positano, Capri ! Anna Capri and Amalfi!! Still having the beautiful sorrento and it's glorious restaurants and lane ways to enjoy each day!!! Magnifico!!!! Would return tomorrow!!! Thankyou all at ambascatoiri!!!! We shall return!!!!!

Room Tip: We would advise a sea view!!! Room 401 was wonderful but 402 had a fabulous larger balcony!!! Both h...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter and Heath... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

It is an immense pleasure to receive your nice comment. Many thanks for your kind words, a real motivation to keep on doing what we do every day with more and more passion. We are very glad you enjoyed our new Suite with the jacuzzi on the private terrace with sea view.

We look forward to welcoming you soon for another unforgettable stay.

With kind regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from our sixth visit to this hotel and the experience was still fantastic. From the staff at reception to the staff in the restaurant, bar staff and the maids, the politeness and friendliness excel. This without doubt is our favourite hotel anywhere. Our room was with a sea view with a stunning outlook. With a beautiful garden and superb food, there is nothing more you could wish for. Mr & Mrs Braithwaite

Room Tip: A premier sea view room is worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs Braithwaite,

We wish to thank you for your wonderful feedback.
We are honored to be your favorite hotel and delighted to read on how you appreciate the professionalism and helpfulness of our staff. We are very glad as well to know that our standards meet your expectations and that's why you return to visit us so often.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon in Sorrento!

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We are regulars at this hotel, wherever we go around the world it's always 'why are we not at the Ambasciatori' This year was no exception. The sevice stadard on the deck was well below standard but the manager is aware and I have no doubt do somthing about it. The standards throughout the hotel are still great, staff, food, accomodation etc.

Room Tip: Side sea view I think represent the best value.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words. The satisfaction of our guests is really important to us and see you are returning every year means a lot to us. We carefully read your comment and took good note of the service inefficiencies provided down the beach which we immediately dealt with, in order to keep our standards as high as possible.

The whole team at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £198 - £823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing