We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay extra for a decent room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked a basic room and were very disappointed. It overlooked some kind of shaft so there was no view. There was also a crack in the bath tub and a foul smell coming from the drain. We asked to move rooms but we were told that there weren't any. The next day we asked again and said we didn't mind paying extra so we switched to a gorgeous room for an additional €40 per night. It was a shame to have to spend the money but it was worth it - we had a great view of the pool next door and the sea.

The pool and beach area are really lovely and all waiting staff were very friendly. Breakfast was nice - pretty standard and lunch was fairly good too (although pretty pricey).

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main square and has amazing views.

Free wi-fi is provided.

All in all a great place, I just wished we'd had the better room from the off.

You may want to check out booking direct via their website as they seem to have some kind of offer that you get €600 to spend in the hotel (sounds too good to be true so may have a catch, but worth investigating)

Room Tip: Pay extra for a decent room - ask about the view beforehand. Avoid room 206!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent a fantastic week at The Grand Ambasciatori 11th to 18th July 2014. The hotel was first class, with room having, despite description of partial views, tremendous views out to sea and over the gardens - amazing sunsets. Staff were always friendly and courteous at all times. Breakfast was a feast. Ate in one night and good very good. Beach/Jetty great, swimming a joy, topped off by the beachside bar serving a very pleasant array of snacks and lovely refreshing drinks! Same can be had by the pool if the sea is not your thing. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Ambasciatori is the most wonderful oasis to relax and soak in beautiful Sorrento and the surrounding coast. The Hotel grounds are gorgeous and the balcony views are breathtaking. The food and staff are excellent and the sunsets during dinner are amazing.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amicita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We visited The Grand Ambasciatori Hotel between Friday 4th July to Friday 11th July having read many great reviews on Trip Advisor.......they're all true. It really is a 5 star Hotel in a beautiful location with stunning views across The Bay of Naples. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel special and nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and the waiters are always very bright and cheerful despite working very long hours. The Hotel is immaculately clean and very well maintained with beautiful gardens and a great pool. We stayed in a partial sea view room which was lovely and had a great view. The cocktails and nibbles in the piano bar was a lovely way to start the evening and the bar staff really looked after you. Don't miss the special meal once a week on the Terrace, it's a real treat with a lovely three course meal in a beautiful setting watching the sun go down. Sorrento is a bustling and lively location and the Hotel is a tranquil oasis to relax and recharge your batteries. We loved it and can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that will accommodate 3 Adults in full sized beds. Choose a partial or full s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived at the Grand Ambasciatori Hotel on Monday 30th June 14 for 5 nights.
On arrival we had been upgarded to a Suite. The room was fantastic with great views of Versuvius along with a balconey overlooking the sea & coast. The bed was big and comfortable, the bathroom was complete with a bath & shower cubicle. On request more coat hangers were supplied, the room was equiped with 2 TV's, Hairdryer & safe but not tea & coffee making facilities.
The sea and boardwalk was accessed by a lift or many steps, but on arrival was well worth the effort. The beach bar served snacks & drinks until 6.30pm and sunbeds were always availiable.
Entering the sea was easy via a few steps down off the boardwalk.
Whilst in sorrento we had also arranged to get married and have our reception at the Ambasciatori. The views from many of the areas around the hotel are 2nd to none.
A special effort was made to make sure our wedding day was memorable even though we had a relativly small party of 14. The food was amazing, the service was brilliant and the setting fantastic.
The hotel is a short walk from the town centre which we found to be perfect.
Just a small note that if you require car parking at the hotel this is an extra charge.
The staff are very, efficent & friendly.
Thank you to everyone at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori for helping to make such good memories

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed at the Ambasciatori on many occasions during the last 10 years & have previously booked as a package through travel agents. After looking at the hotels web site, we decided to book direct & take advantage of the offers they were promoting. We found it very easy to make the bookings online to tailor our requirements & found that by doing this, we made savings on room upgrades in particular. Whenever we had any questions regarding the bookings, our emails were handled very efficiently by the hotel with prompt responses. Since our last visit the hotel has continued to improve it's already high standards & obviously is very responsive to customer feedback. The food in the hotel is excellent, but it's greatest asset is the friendly & efficient staff who cannot be faulted.. We will definitely be returning to the Ambasciatori.

Room Tip: Refer to the website for pictures of the various room options. Some rooms clas sed as "Garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights during a recent holiday on the coast of Italy. This is a beautiful, older style hotel. When I say older I don't mean dated, rather less modern and more grand.

We opted for a sea view room which was very spacious and clean, it was situated on the floor below the room however it was very quiet and were not disturbed given the main restaurant was above us.

We had the bed and breakfast option, the range at breakfast was large, including both hot and cold options with an egg station. The hotel amenities were good, a private beach accessible to hotel guests only, a small pool are and a garden overlooking the ocean. There is a main restaurant as well as one by the pool and another down at the beach.

We ate out in Sorrento in the evenings, with the walking being 10-15 minutes into the centre so very convenient. We ate lunch at the poolside restaurant one day, we found this to be reasonable priced with large fresh salads.

My only small complaint relates to the pool loungers which is always a controversial topic. There is a very small number near the pool, maximum 20 with people reserving them before breakfast and not coming back for hours. I think where there are very few this needs to be managed more tightly as people are clearly taking advance of this. There were many more loungers available down at the beach.

Overall a great hotel in a convenient location!

Room Tip: Opt of a sea view room. We also noticed some rooms facing the street, I would avoid these as the ho...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank flying_kiwi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £175 - £529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing