We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$679
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$218
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
US$244
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$533
US$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$312
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$522
US$434
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$309
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,632)
Filter reviews
1,632 results
Traveller rating
1,244
285
63
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,244
285
63
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewthe cliffbay of naplesbeach barbathing platformprivate beachhotel groundssmall balconylovely hotelour honeymoonten minute walksun deckamazing viewshalf boardtown centrejunior suiteevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 1,632 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We selected this hotel for the view, and based on good reviews here. It is quite luxurious, with big marble spaces, icy air-conditioning, large bathrooms, lovely modern Majolica tiles on the floor, and a massive breakfast buffet. It might be too formal or too expensive for some travelers, but we got just what we came for. (You don't have to dress up, I meant for example, that the waiters wear tuxedos at dinner - you can come in a polo shirt.) Sometimes we had to wait our turn at the front desk for advice, but everyone was charming and helpful. We didn't try to visit them, but the same company runs four luxury hotels in Sorrento, and one free-standing restaurant.

It's actually hard to get a room in Sorrento at many times of year. That means there are few "off-season" prices. I choose an higher grade of room, Deluxe Sea View Double, but they may have given us an upgrade to Premier Double. I'm guessing that because (Room 402) we had the second-largest balcony in the entire hotel, with a glorious view of Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples. You could press a button in bed to raise the outside shutters to reveal floor-to-ceiling views. Our bathroom had a separate honeymoon-sized shower, as well as a jacuzzi tub, which we didn't use. This is why we were willing to pay so much. The bedroom was immense, light, and airy. This was 772 Euros, including breakfast for two.

The floor numbering is confusing because the cliff-front floors are numbered separately from the higher and (on the other side) city-view and garden-view floors. I don't mean that it's misleading, only like the hotel was built in two steps! Floor 4 was great for us because it's one flight down from the lobby, and we never had to wait for the elevator.

Honestly, I think the normal, small rectangular balcony would be just fine for most guests. But we also had an oudoor soaking pool, which we didn't fill. I should note that there is a very minor problem with seagulls roosting on the balconies. You could say that the dining room overlooked our level of balconies, but only if you stood at the window of the dining room. No one could see into our windows. The only minus to our room is that the one night there was a party, we could hear the dining room furniture until just before bedtime. (The entire hotel has lovely ceramic tile floors, very few rugs.)

If you book DIRECTLY online with them, you will find that they give you a credit, like a car dealer, of hundreds of Euros, to be used at the hotel, for hotel-provided services. We prefer to eat in town on most of our trips, but we were pleased to discover how good the Ambasciatori's food is, and give the formality of the dining room, how prompt the service is. The only negative for us was waiting for 7:30 for the dining room to eat. (One night, after an expensive wedding, dinner service was actually delayed until 8:00.) There is one bar drink discounted in the lobby each night for "Happy Hour." We also used our credit for laundry. We skipped the "Neapolitan Night" with a dancer and mandolin player.

Like ALL the luxury, cliff-front hotels in Sorrento, the private hotel "Beach" is not a beach. It's a luxury boardwalk built on the breakwater or on pilings. You take an elevator to the bottom and walk out to the chaises and tables with umbrellas. There is a bar down here during swimming hours. The Ambasciatori also has a clean, attractive pool with chaises and snack bar service, just beside the lobby. There are plenty of tables and chairs for relaxing with a view over the bay, more protected from the sun than the pool deck. We were lucky enough to be there when the Jasmine was blooming. What an aroma!

It's a very pleasant, almost level, 15-minute walk to the center of town. It might be hot in August, but in May, we enjoyed the walk after a dinner in town. There is a public viewpoint part of the way along, with benches, that was never crowded. You'll also pass the main art museum, and the touristy but authentic citrus grove exhibition grounds. It's ten minutes on foot to the Circumvesuviana train to Herculaneum, Pompeii, and Naples. This was too far for us to roll our bags. We took a cab. The overcrowded public bus to Positano stops in front of the Circumvesuviana station too. But we paid the hotel 255 Euros for a Mercedes and driver-guide to spend 8 hours on the Amalfi Coast. (This is a third-party provider. You can't use your room credit for this.) We thought it was worth the money.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea-view, even if you have to take a smaller room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here for others to read. We are extremely delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay with us and loved our facilities, service, location.

Hoping to welcome you again in the next future we send you our best regards.

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Ambasciatori feels more like a 5* than a 4* hotel, especially when it comes to the service - All the staff were fantastic and any (minor) issues that we had were dealt with very promptly and efficiently.
Its about 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento with great views over the bay and some lovely communal areas. We only ate dinner there once and that was very good, breakfasts were fairly basic in terms of choice - Continental with a few hot options, but again very good food.

The only issue to bear in mind if you're thinking of staying here is that although it has a pool area and a private 'beach' area is that they are both pretty small and get very busy, particularly the beach which has far too many sun loungers cramped into a small area and felt very overcrowded. So if you're looking for a hotel to lounge about in the sun then this may not be the one for you.

Leaving that aside its highly recommended in particular the exceptional staff and service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alfie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your nice comment about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. We are so delighted to hear we managed to exceed your expectations and that especially the passionate staff made the difference in providing an excellent service.

Also thank you for reporting the situation of the swimming pool and the beach area, definitely one of the main attractions of our hotel: for this reason they may result a little bit crowded but it is only through your advices that we can improve our standards.

We do hope to welcome you soon in Sorrento for another great stay with us.

With best regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Oh this hotel is stunning! It is a beautiful posh hotel where we were upgraded to a very nice large suite with a jacuzzi (although not what we would call a jacuzzi) big room great views with recent renovations to the room. We had Very nice terrace with lounge chairs and table. One might catch fireworks here at night as well which is always fun. We were really tired our first arrival day and had dinner in the hotel at the A La Carte Restaurant which was very good. We had good mussels au gratin to start and a red shrimp pasta that was good and I had sea bass and my husband had the turkey - and I had a glass of wine. Very mellow dinner with excellent views. The hotel service was great at this place. Our housekeeping came in twice a day, both times to clean (one of those times being turn down service) and they did a great job. the front desk (especially the woman with the short brown hair) were so accomadating as we called for questions, reservations, etc. Very good english here as well. Although we didnt eat breakfast, just lots of good coffee in the morning, the breakfast looked plentiful and they had a chef making omelettes, crepes, and pancakes. The walk is about 10 minutes to the center of town. its not a bad walk at all. Cant beat the views here and the service. Lots of places to stay in the center of the town in Sorrento, but none looked as nice as ours. We never made it to the pool, but the dock with chairs and room to swim were lovely. We would absolutely return here and feel it was definitely worth the money. What a nice way to end our honeymoon!

Room Tip: If you dont get a full sea view, you might as well not stay here. the views are gorgeous and well worth the money.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MeLoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for submitting a review of your experience in our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recently stay with us and that our staff made you feel so welcome, just as it should be.
Thank you for remarking the quality and taste of à la grande carte Ambassador Bellevue Restaurant and of our breakfast, the comfort and view you can get from our new suites overlooking the fantastic Bay of Naples.

Such a nice comment motivates us further to maintain the level of our services to high standards.
Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

With kind regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from a week at this beautiful hotel. Paid for an upgrade to a full sea view which I would recommend. Friendly and helpful service throughout. Stunning views and only a 15 minute stroll or 10 minute walk to the main square. Sorrento is a fantastic and vibrant place with a great choice of restaurants and shops. I highly recommend this hotel and resort ... rest assured the pictures simply do not do it justice!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your generous comment, especially towards the hotel beauty and location and service offered by our team, is really gratifying: it means that our efforts were most effective and appreciated.

Many thanks for that and we do hope to have you here again for another nice stay with us.

Kind regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just wanted to say a big thnk you to the staff at the Ambasciatori during our holiday 28th July- 4th August. We had our wedding in Sorrento and as a nice gesture the hotel upgraded our room which was lovely. The staff are so friendly, they remembered us and our room number whenever we ordered drinks etc. They were really helpful when my dad discovered his money had gone missing when we first arrived at the hotel. The rooms, pool, facilities, gardens and breakfast are fantastic and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolCurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori as the special destination for your stay in Sorrento. It was nice to have the whole family with us for such an important event like your wedding. Thank you for remarking the friendliness of our team with the beauty of our hotel and facilities. We do hope to have another chance to welcoming you soon for another family gathering.

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews