We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best time ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We chose the Ambasciatori for our wedding drinks and reception after our wedding at the Museo de Correale after meeting and speaking to the events manager who was awesome.
The service was impeccable, the waiters attentive and the food brilliant. We organised everything ourselves through the manager and even with the language barrier he got everything absolutely spot on. They really made our day very special.
We also stayed one night in one of the suites with a hot tub on the balcony and an amazing view of the coastline. We were able to use the full facilities for the whole day after check out while our bags were kept securely at reception.
I would recommend the hotel for a wedding or just a holiday as they really do take pride in their hotel as do all the staff that work there.
I really cannot give enough compliments about it :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Many thanks for reporting about your wedding experience with us and appreciating the great job made by our event manager Mr. De Gennaro with the whole team. The tasty food is one of our flagship and we are glad to hear you appreciated it together with the whole hotel facilities and in particular our new Exclusive Suites each with its ownJacuzzi on the private terrace.

We hope all these may be good reasons for you to come back and stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently returned from this hotel and were very pleased with our choice.

The hotel interior is very luxurious and well appointed. It was cool and calm in the vestibule which was nice to relax in with a pre-dinner drink. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful with excellent English. Prior to travelling we asked for an upgrade to a full sea view room following the earlier reviews and I’m glad we did. I note some recent reviews suggest they were upgraded (presumably FOC) but we didn't want to take the chance, although you might :)

The view was one of the highlights of our trip - it was breath-taking. With a huge vista of a bustling bay full of fishing boats, ferries and expensive yachts by day and stunning views of the sunset at night it was no surprise we didn't turn the TV on once during our stay. It was lovely to relax and watch the world go by whilst the sun was setting before heading out to dinner. The balconies were not terribly private as it was just railings between us and next door, but neighbours were nice and friendly so no issue for us.
The rest of the room was spotless and well appointed and the bed was comfortable - all you need really. Top tip though - if you ask for a room on the high floors don’t be alarmed if you are told the room is on the first floor - the hotel had 4 levels below built into the cliff so the first floor is only 2 floors from the top :) Another top tip for beer drinkers - don’t pay 6 euros for a peroni from the minibar, head up to the local supermarket approx. 10 mins walk away and grab a case of 12 peroni for the same price. It was shockingly cheap for Italian beer there, naturally i took advantage…

The food in the hotel was good, with a varied breakfast selection that was fresh and well presented. The local bread was fantastic and there was loads available. Service was unhurried, which we were happy with as I hate people whipping plates off your table before the cutlery is settled. I can see how some people would consider it slow, but you are on holiday to relax so we were in no hurry, especially with the view for company. We only ate dinner once at the hotel which was nice, but the variety and quality of local restaurants meant we ate out most nights. The hotel was also one of our most expensive meals so it’s not cheap.

In terms of leisure facilities we didn't really spend much time by the pool, although it was well kept. The families with kids tended to stay by the pool so for some peace we went to the beach area, down the lift through the cliff face-very cool. The beach area was lovely, with sun loungers that didn't permanently have towels draped on them i.e. plenty to go round. The chance to swim in the sea straight from the deck was great. The water is surprisingly warm and it’s easy to float because it’s salty, so great to cool off and relax in between catching the sun.

Before leaving we were given a courtesy room to shower and change before leaving for our return flight, which was most welcome.

In all we were very happy with our stay at the ambasciatori and would definitely return to the hotel and to the area in general.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a full sea view if you can afford it, well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for choosing us again for your stay in Sorrento. Through your words we can feel how truly you appreciated the time spent with us enjoying all the hotel facilities, our tasty food served in the Restaurant Le Muse and in the à la Grande Carte Ambassador Bellevue Restaurant. Finally we would like to thank you for having appreciated the quality of service provided by our committed staff we take pride of. We do hope to welcome you back soon in our Hotel.

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel and had a great experience.

The staff were friendly but not intrusive. One staff in particular, Gennora provided us with an exceptional customer service. He made us and our little daughter feel the most special people in the world. One day after a tiring day trip, our 3 year old daughter fell asleep in her chair during dinner !!Gennora and other staff made sure she had a pleasant and comfortable rest, providing cushions, as we enjoyed our fantastic dinner with sea view!!

The breakfast was reasonably good with good choices.Dinner was AMAZING!!!!!!!!! The three course meal was unbelievable. Do not miss the warm chocolate cake with orange sauce..Yum!

We stayed in a junior suite(Room no.302) with Mt Vesavius view.. lovely view..It was great sea view , unforgettable daily view of sunset.

Enjoyed our stay tremendously.We will surely be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freudina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for submitting a review on your great experience with us.
It was so nice to hear you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the level of our customer service; as a guest-oriented company this is a very important matter to us and we are glad we surpassed your expectations. Also thank you for appreciating the quality of our breakfast and restaurant and the comfort of our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in Sorrento.

Best Regards

Customer Care department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

this is the second time we have stayed at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. it truly is a beautiful hotel, set in well tendered amazing gardens offering shade from the hot Sorrento sun. The staff could not be nicer and more helpfull, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are to die for, with lunch around the pool great value for money and really top quality. Will we be going back for the third time - already booked.

Room Tip: We have stayed on both sides of the hotel - both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank firesafetydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. Your remark about the quality of our breakfast is really appreciated as we try hard to ensure the best selection of food choices.

Great to hear you enjoyed the quality of service provided and hearing you are planning to return. This is the best reward we could get. We greatly appreciated your comment and can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently stayed six nights. We were upgraded to large rooms. The reception staff was helpful and courteous. The rooms were clean and the beds were ok.

The hotel only has one small elevator so if it is busy it can take time to get to your room. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the service by the pool restaurant was very good. However, the hotel limits the number of towels at the pool and beach to one per person, which was insufficient.

The location is good, being just outside central Sorrento. There is no fitness facility and no place to exercise on the hotel grounds so if you want to exercise you have to walk or run to a gym about 10 minutes away and pay a daily charge. A hotel of this character and cost should have a fitness facility.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. So nice to hear you enjoyed the quality of food served at the snack bar, together with the service provided by our staff and the comfort of our rooms.

Concerning the elevator, it is very strange that you didn’t realize, during your whole stay, that we have two elevators and not one. We do agree with you for the gym; it would be lovely to get one and maybe in the nearer we will arrange a new one. We hope to welcome you again in the next future for another enjoyable stay.

With kind regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I attended a wedding reception at this hotel - we were there from around 5:30 till late - the food was good, the hotel itself looked fabulous and the views accross the bay are breath-taking and that is where anything like a good experience stops. The staff were like the Keystone Cops - they had no management and were slower than slow - very poor English (but I can forgive that). The organisation and management is stuck in the dark ages - surely waiting is not that difficult a job. So very difficult (actually ipossible) to get a drink from the bar if you were not actually staying at the hotel and had a room to book it to (luckily a dozen or so of the guests were actually staying there. Definitely not a wedding venue if anyone is considering it - there were more than 50 guests and the hotel did not seem to make any of us or the happy couple even feel olike we were at a Special Occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank TFJ-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We selected this hotel for the view, and based on good reviews here. It is quite luxurious, with big marble spaces, icy air-conditioning, large bathrooms, lovely modern Majolica tiles on the floor, and a massive breakfast buffet. It might be too formal or too expensive for some travelers, but we got just what we came for. (You don't have to dress up, I meant for example, that the waiters wear tuxedos at dinner - you can come in a polo shirt.) Sometimes we had to wait our turn at the front desk for advice, but everyone was charming and helpful. We didn't try to visit them, but the same company runs four luxury hotels in Sorrento, and one free-standing restaurant.

It's actually hard to get a room in Sorrento at many times of year. That means there are few "off-season" prices. I choose an higher grade of room, Deluxe Sea View Double, but they may have given us an upgrade to Premier Double. I'm guessing that because (Room 402) we had the second-largest balcony in the entire hotel, with a glorious view of Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples. You could press a button in bed to raise the outside shutters to reveal floor-to-ceiling views. Our bathroom had a separate honeymoon-sized shower, as well as a jacuzzi tub, which we didn't use. This is why we were willing to pay so much. The bedroom was immense, light, and airy. This was 772 Euros, including breakfast for two.

The floor numbering is confusing because the cliff-front floors are numbered separately from the higher and (on the other side) city-view and garden-view floors. I don't mean that it's misleading, only like the hotel was built in two steps! Floor 4 was great for us because it's one flight down from the lobby, and we never had to wait for the elevator.

Honestly, I think the normal, small rectangular balcony would be just fine for most guests. But we also had an oudoor soaking pool, which we didn't fill. I should note that there is a very minor problem with seagulls roosting on the balconies. You could say that the dining room overlooked our level of balconies, but only if you stood at the window of the dining room. No one could see into our windows. The only minus to our room is that the one night there was a party, we could hear the dining room furniture until just before bedtime. (The entire hotel has lovely ceramic tile floors, very few rugs.)

If you book DIRECTLY online with them, you will find that they give you a credit, like a car dealer, of hundreds of Euros, to be used at the hotel, for hotel-provided services. We prefer to eat in town on most of our trips, but we were pleased to discover how good the Ambasciatori's food is, and give the formality of the dining room, how prompt the service is. The only negative for us was waiting for 7:30 for the dining room to eat. (One night, after an expensive wedding, dinner service was actually delayed until 8:00.) There is one bar drink discounted in the lobby each night for "Happy Hour." We also used our credit for laundry. We skipped the "Neapolitan Night" with a dancer and mandolin player.

Like ALL the luxury, cliff-front hotels in Sorrento, the private hotel "Beach" is not a beach. It's a luxury boardwalk built on the breakwater or on pilings. You take an elevator to the bottom and walk out to the chaises and tables with umbrellas. There is a bar down here during swimming hours. The Ambasciatori also has a clean, attractive pool with chaises and snack bar service, just beside the lobby. There are plenty of tables and chairs for relaxing with a view over the bay, more protected from the sun than the pool deck. We were lucky enough to be there when the Jasmine was blooming. What an aroma!

It's a very pleasant, almost level, 15-minute walk to the center of town. It might be hot in August, but in May, we enjoyed the walk after a dinner in town. There is a public viewpoint part of the way along, with benches, that was never crowded. You'll also pass the main art museum, and the touristy but authentic citrus grove exhibition grounds. It's ten minutes on foot to the Circumvesuviana train to Herculaneum, Pompeii, and Naples. This was too far for us to roll our bags. We took a cab. The overcrowded public bus to Positano stops in front of the Circumvesuviana station too. But we paid the hotel 255 Euros for a Mercedes and driver-guide to spend 8 hours on the Amalfi Coast. (This is a third-party provider. You can't use your room credit for this.) We thought it was worth the money.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea-view, even if you have to take a smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here for others to read. We are extremely delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay with us and loved our facilities, service, location.

Hoping to welcome you again in the next future we send you our best regards.

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £177 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing