We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, superb sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, superb sea view”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We went to sorrento for our 10 year wedding anniversary and had booked the delux double with a partial garden/sea view. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly porter to relieve us of our luggage and receptions staff. We loved the look and feel of the place as soon as we walked in but what made it for us was the free upgrade to a suite. The suite is on the second floor above ground level and was right on the see front with an amazing sea view and sunset. There was a lovely breakfast buffet with plenty of selection.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend others to do so.

Thank you for making us feel so welcome, the upgrade and all your assistance.

Room Tip: Go for the suite the view and space make the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raynor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Your kind words are really rewarding for our daily efforts. Many thanks for appreciating the outstanding service provided by our close-knit team.

Thank you for appreciating the beauty and comfort of our brand new suites overlooking the magical bay of Naples and the variety and taste of our buffet breakfast.

We would love to welcome you back very soon in our Hotel.

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    255
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
299
890
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Grand Hotel Ambasciatori had been on our "list" for years and we were not disappointed. The good reviews you read in general say it all. Our room was lovely with a spectacular sea view (Thanks for the upgrade!) Always clean and with efficient and quiet air conditioning. We found that it was a little further out from the centre than we had anticipated particularly as there is nothing much of interest along the road from town, and as it is on the main one way system, it is very busy and some of the pavement pinch points mean it is not always a pleasant walk. The staff are, in the large majority, great, suffering our attempts at Italian, and efficient and polite. Especial mention here to Tonino, Gennaro, Franco and Valentino for great service with style and to Marco for speedy and delicious eggs, omelettes and pancakes in the morning, even after a broken night with his handsome little son. Just a couple of points to mention. During the second week of our stay the lunch service started taking longer and longer to the point where we had finished the bread and wine before our food arrived (best part of an hour) this was a kitchen issue, not the guys serving. On the last day we tried the beach bar - even worse - over an hour for a sandwich and a plate of Parma ham and cheese and another three quarters for the senior guy to stop talking on his mobile and put together two dishes of ice cream - three of the smallest scoops we had anywhere in Sorrento. Perhaps if he spent more time assisting the guests and less time counting how many towels you used, this service might improve. A great hotel where you can only have 1 towel per person per day whether it was soaked in sea water or not. No such limit was applied around the pool. The evening meal was always great - we ended up eating in more than expected because it was comparable to many local restaurants and had a great view. Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea or side view both give a great view of the bay. You need to watch out for the cheapest rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edderss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for reporting such a nice comment on the web.
In particular we appreciated your tips: we are always keen to improve our standard in service but sometimes it may happen you may have to wait for a longer time when all guests come along at the bar or at the restaurant.

As for the deck there was a major issue which has been dealt with so we would like you to return soon to experience a better service overall.

With warm regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

From the moment we arrived we were bowled over with the helpful, charming but unobtrusive service. The public rooms are spacious and well maintained, the bedrooms comfortable but the big selling point is the view over Vesuvius and Ischia across the Bay of Naples from the restaurants and bedrooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Many thanks for having appreciated so many traits of our Hotel but on top of that the outstanding service provided by our staff.

It was a great pleasure having you here and our hope is that your travel plans for the future will take you once again at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were absolutely delighted with our choice. What a beautiful part of the world. The hotel is built into the cliffs, and has a private decking area for sunbathing. Would recommend a sea view room, as views are breathtaking. Short walk into town, pleased not to be directly in the centre as was very busy, so location perfect for us. Would definitely go back in a heartbeat! Food delicious, breakfast buffet excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as a destination for such an important moment in your life as your honeymoon.

We are delighted to hear you were happy with your choice and that you greatly appreciated the hotel location with the beauty of our new suites, the recently refurbished decking area and the delicious food from breakfast to dinners.

Hopefully we may welcome you very soon in Sorrento.

Kind regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location on a cliff top with a panoramic view of the bay of naples and vesuvius.The pool area is great and the hotel has a lift down to a private boardwalked area with sunbeds and steps to the sea.The food at the hotel is very good,the rooms are large and well furnished,The staff are friendly and helpful.
.I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on the web.
We are truly happy to hear you had such a positive and great experience in our Hotel and that you appreciated the passionate staff, the beautiful location, the comfort of our newly refurbished rooms and the beach.
Once again many thanks for your comment and we do hope to welcome you back in a very near future.

With kind regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel as part of family birthday celebrations, based on a family member's stay some thirty years ago!!!

The hotel had been significantly refurbished since then and was delightful!!!

We can't praise the staff enough either, all of whom were polite, helpful and attentive, whilst not being over-bearing or intrusive in any way.

The loungers by the pool were the comfiest I've ever laid on and really helped an afternoon snooze (or maybe that was the lunchtime Ovieto??? ;-) ).

We'd definitely return, hopefully sooner than thirty years.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room and could watch the sunsets - spectacular!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel as a part of a returning group that made you appreciate all the changes made during those years.

The hotel during the past few years, has undergone to deep changes that have improved the comfort of all facilities, from our suites to the new restaursnt, from the deck area to the swimming pool. But on top of all that, many thanks for enjoying the outstanding quality of customer service provided by our staff.

We do hope you are coming back in a very near future maybe to celebrate another family gathering.

Best regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent five nights at this delightful Sorrento hotel, perched high on the cliff top with spectacular views across the bay of Naples to Vesuvius and Ischia. The hotel has the feel of a great Italian classic, run over the years by several generations of the same family, with outstandingly courteous and friendly staff, many of whom seemed to have been there for many years. Our experience was made even more special by an upgrade to a recently refurbished suite, with a two-person hot-tub on the balcony, overlooking the sea. We enjoyed some excellent dinners as the sun set over the bay. We also appreciated the well-kept sun deck down at sea-level with access to the sparkling water. The hotel is a short walk into Sorrento, but has a sense of peace and timelessness that feels a long way away from the bustling tourist streets. We certainly hope to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slrowj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It was a great pleasure to read your great comment on Tripadvisor. Thank you for appreciating your stay at our Hotel established run from many years by Manniello family, already in the restaurant business since four generations. This explains our great passion for the food quality served in our Restaurant Le Muse and à La Grande Carte "Ambassador Bellevue" and great customer service we are glad you appreciated.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing