We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rota Suites(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zi Teresa(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Tourist(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Capri(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,631)
Filter reviews
1,631 results
Traveller rating
1,244
285
63
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,244
285
63
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewthe cliffbay of naplesbeach barbathing platformprivate beachhotel groundssmall balconylovely hotelour honeymoonten minute walksun deckamazing viewshalf boardtown centrejunior suiteevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,260 - 1,265 of 1,631 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Wedding day 18th September. We have just returned from a truly magical 2 week stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori for our wedding and honeymoon

We booked through Thomson and upgraded our room to sea view and extra bedroom for our bambino Louis which was well worth the money. The views are breathtaking it was a dream looking out to Mount Vesuvius and the cruise ships every day. We chose Grand Hotel Ambasciatori for its grandeur, the chandeliers, traditional Italian decor and the sheer opulence and was not disappointed. Giovanni the hotel director who organised our wedding reception was wonderful. A professional yet warm and gentle man. Nothing was too much trouble as all he wanted to do is make our day as perfect as possible, which he and his team most definitely did.

Arriving by horse and carriage we married at the Cloisters which is beautiful setting, nothing could compare to the idyllic location The Italian wedding vows are so focused on the family and how you need to work together to make a marriage work. They were really lovely, bringing home the true meaning of marriage.

We returned to the hotel to be greeted by all the staff clapping and cheering along with a mandolin and singer serenading us, making it is very special occasion. Everything was planned so well and nothing was too much trouble, even to preparing special meals for my mother and the children. At the last minute we were changes are minds of where to have the wedding breakfast and were late arriving from Cloisters. Nothing fazed Giovanni and his head man Carlo, they were all true professionals and went out of their way to make everything truly magical.

The food all our guests said was exquisite and totally 5* quality, the table decorations and traditional Italian wedding cakes were all beautiful, and to be honest I left it up to the hotel to do and they did not disappoint. I left a box of decorations to be added to the tables and they added their own along with fresh flowers which was a really lovely touch. In the evening there was a traditional band which was very fortunate for us as we did not have to pay for, it was all a part of the wonderful entertainment the hotel provided.

One further thing, all the staff in the Ambasciatori were totally friendly and went out of their way to play with our Son, although they are not a family hotel, the people who work there were the nicest you would ever meet and catered for us 100%. Giovanni you and the team are doing a marvellous job and we hope to see you very soon, on our second wedding anniversary maybe as we are expecting another baby this year. Grazie mile Grace and Craig x

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We visited this hotel in August last year for one week and found everything to our expectations then, and so on our return home , we booked the same room, for two weeks commencing 15 May.
Having visited the hotel last year, we were just expecting that the same high standards would apply and we were amazed that it had been improved upon. The staff were even friendlier, the service was exceptional, the food was absolutely delicious in so much that there wasn't a course on any meal that was not up to the very high standard. Staff went out of their way to ensure that evrything was served superbly.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, at all times. Cleanliness was faultless. There were serveral large weddings taking place in the hotel during the fortnight, the hotel was able to cope quite capably with these functions without detriment to the residential guests.
The reception desk staff were always on hand to answer queries from guests promptly included on occasions checking with historical sites in the Naples area as to opening times and facilities available
It would be unfair to single out any member of staff for particular mention as every member of staff gave one hundred percent throughout our stay. The Manager and his staff ensured that we had a holiday well worth remembering and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharkSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon. We booked a wide range of accommodations in the 6 cities that we visited during our trip from B&B's to 3, 4, and 5 star hotels. This hotel was the highlight of our trip. After 14+ days of sightseeing across the country we stayed in Sorrento as a 'vacation from our vacation' and we were delighted with the hotel. It had everything we could want and during day stay we never left the hotel. Our room had an amazing view of the Bay of Naples, the beds were great, bathrooms big, breakfast was really top notch from champagne to omelettes and the staff was very wonderful (they even knew the bottle of wine we had for dinner when we asked for another bottle to be delivered to our room later that night). They have a very nice pool surrounded by gardens and a great restaurant for lunch and deck on the beach with another bar for snacks. Their formal restaurant (dinner only) served excellent food. Sorrento was easy to reach by the local train system from Naples (~60 minutes and 6 euro/person) and since we didn't have a car it was perfect. The hotel was walking distance from the train station (~10 minutes) and very convenient. We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRitucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We have just spent a fantastic week at this Hotel. Its setting is breathtaking. The Hotel and grounds are beautiful and kept spotlessly clean. Our rooms were very comfortable and overlooked the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.
We were a little concerned,after reading reviews, about the standard of the restaurant . Our concerns were blown out of the water on the first night. The food tasted great and was presented well, the menus varied with a good selection. The restaurant is run very effiiciently by Head Waiter Giovanni ,his team of waiters are all very attentive.
We look forward to retuning to this hotel , we came away feeling that we had been very well looked after.
A truly "Grand " Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayatms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We found this wonderful Hotel in Thomson's Al a Carte brochure, how lucky we were.
We checked in at around 21.30 hrs after our journey from Naples Airport, the very friendly receptionist assured us that there was no need to rush and that we had plenty time for an evening meal, which was great as we had had a long day travelling.
The Hotel restaurant looks over the Bay of Naples and the views are breathtaking, this was our first trip to Sorrento and what an introduction, next we met Giovanni and his brilliant waiting staff, as fine a team of waiters as we have found anywhere and nothing was really too much trouble for them, with the jewel in the crown being our favourite Guiseppe who as well as being a fine waiter who genuinely could not do enough for you but also kept us in stitches with his antics and his descriptions of the desserts on offer every evening hilarious, if you decided to give them a miss he was mortified.
I've read reviews on TA saying that the evening meals were not very good at this Hotel, but we found the food and the choice terrific every night, the cannelloni was better in this Hotel than in The Garden Restaurant in Sorrento that claims to have invented it.
The breakfasts were the same every morning, but the chef Gerrardo was on hand to make you ommelette, fried and scrabbled eggs to your liking with no request being a problem.
We had a sea view room on the top floor number 705, the small balcony looked out over the Bay of Naples with Mount Vesuvius in the background, although the supplement for
the sea view rooms borders on the extortionate, if you can afford it, book one as it's a truly wonderful setting.
The room was not the biggest but big enough, with a very comfortable bed and nice furnishings with plenty storage space for clothes, it also had a mini-bar and safe with a electrically operated roller shutter door on the balcony doors which you could operate while still in bed if you wanted to keep out the early morning sun.
The en-suite was a nice size with all the usual facilities with possibly the bath in need of replacement and there was maid service (Francesca) every day who also did a good job.
The whole Hotel is very tastefully furnished with very nice internal lounge and bar areas,
the Hotel garden, external terraced and pool areas were very well kept, towels are provided free for use on the sunloungers around the pool, with a good selection of lunch time food and beverages from the pool bar.
There is also a bathing platform below the hotel and reached by a reached by a lift.
The location of the Hotel is around 1000mtrs from the Piazza Tasso/Corsa Italia shopping areas, but if the Hotel was any closer to them it would not have the wonderful position and views that it has, so the walk into town is only a minor inconvenience but also means you are away from the main traffic areas.
This may have been have been our first visit to this fantastic Hotel, but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtsl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews