We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception, Ambasciatori Hotel, Sorrento, September 2009”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Reception, Ambasciatori Hotel, Sorrento, September 2009”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We got married in Positano on the 24th of September 2009. The reception was held in the Grand Ambasciatori Hotel that evening.

Guests were served canapes and drinks in the hotel gardens whilst enjoying the spectacular sunset over the Bay of Naples. The hotel staff made all the guests immediately welcome and had them seated in the gardens with minimum fuss.

We arrived 10 minutes after our guests to find everyone relaxed, enjoying canapes and a drink, taking in the breath-taking view and looking forward to the rest of the evening unfolding. It is a huge relief, as the bridal couple, to see guests settling in and getting comfortable so quickly. I must compliment the hotel staff on the slick service and getting everyone settled so well.

The main meal was fabulous with service to match.

I must thank Giovanni and his staff for the seamless service and for allowing us, the bride & groom, to relax in the knowledge and confidence that everything was under control. Their advice and help on all the arrangements during the preceeding months ensured that all went beautifully on the day. There is a lot of "behind the scenes" stuff that paid divedends during the receotion party.

Summary: the hotel, the service, the gardens, the views and the food were top class. The management of the various sections of the celebrations was very smooth. Everything had an air of professionalism about it.

Thanks again the Giovanni, Imma and the rest of the team at the Ambasciatori for a wonderful day with memories to be treasured for many a year. I would recomment this hotel for a wedding reception without hesitation.


All the best,
Linda & Declan (Ireland)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeclanC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    258
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
302
907
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Stayed here recently for 5 nights, found the hotel okay, nothing special though. It's a 10 minute walk to the town if you want to run the gauntlet of the usual tourist tat - on the main street of Sorrento you could be anywhere in the world.

We ate in the restaurant on just 1 night, we found the atmosphere stuffy and the food mediocre. I would not book here again, in fact I would not come back to Sorrento, but if I were to consider this neck of the woods again I'd stay on the other coast, maybe Amalfi.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We went with Citalia , probably wouldn't use them again. The hotel has a wonderful location and the views are superb if you get the right room. We paid extra for a side sea view room which was well worth it to wake up to such an amazing view each morning. If you go avoid room no 702 which was our initial allocated room - we could hear the lift whirring and thumping each time it was used although the room itself is not near the lift, this noise went on until after midnight and resumed again at 6am. The room we were moved to was nearer to the lift but thankfully no lift noise. When we requested a room change because of the noise we found the reception staff very considerate apart from the very arrogant manager who told us that it was not possibel to hear the lift and that we should have paid more to get a full sea view room(non available when we booked).That did leave a bit of a nasty taste. Service in the restaurant got slower as the days went by and on our last evening we waited almost an hour between courses. However the food was very good and the waiters very pleasant..Not too thrilled with the entertainment but that was just our opinion and could well leave others thrilled.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAinslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I often visit this hotel on my own which because of the friendly staff is never a problem. I love the location of the hotel and its spectaluar views across the bay of naples - hard to beat! One of the main reasons I return to the hotel is its private beach which is exremely well run by Salvatore who goes out of his way to make all guests feel welcome and comfortable.
The bar and restaurant staff - particularly Pasquale the head barman - are also really friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ciaoBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed at the Grand Ambasciatori for 2 weeks in July this year. The hotel was fantastic and all the staff were outstanding, as seasoned travellers we tend to always find at least one fault but not this time! We went to Sorrento to get married in the San Francesco Cloisters and decided after reviewing various reception venues to have our reception at the hotel. Prior to travelling we contacted the hotel to arrange the reception and dealt with the General Manager Giovanni, what a true professional. Upon arriving at the hotel we discovered that lots of Italians have their wedding receptions at the hotel again which Giovanni arranges. Whilst we were there for 2 weeks they held only three receptions so it's not a conveyor belt of wedding receptions which I have witnessed before at other resorts and the receptions do not intrude on other guests at the hotel or stop you from using any hotel facilities. The food was fantastic we had said we would go out of the hotel for dinner on a few occassions, but the food at the hotel was too good to miss. A few previous reviews have said it is not authentic Italian food, if that's the case I obviously don't know what italian food is?? we thought it was beautiful and buffett night is great!! yum yum. At breakfast there is everything you could ever want for. The Maitre d'hotel, another Giovanni, is just such a lovely friendly guy and so, so helpful, we have to also applaud Luigi and Guiseppi in the resturant to, they were absolutely spot on with service and personality.

We were lucky to have Giovanni and Luigi looking after us at our wedding reception which I was really hoping for but felt a bit cheeky to ask so it was a lovely surprise and just another perfect addition to our day. We had cocktails on arrival on the sea gull terrace looking over the most amazing view then onto a fantastic 4 course meal finished off with a stunning and delicious wedding cake, all our guests were fully contented with the food (a polite way of saying stuffed) and were really impressed.

Our room was cleaned every day very well and were perfect for everything we needed. We had a room on the road and at first thought the noise from the road may stop us sleeping but once the window shutters were down all noise disappeared.

The bar staff were great, especially Pasqualie he can make any type of cocktail just how you like it!! The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a perefct location to get into Sorrento about a 10 min walk with pavements all the way.

All in all we had a fantastic time, the hotel and staff were exceptional and we would recommend this hotel to everyone. My 'new' husband loves to find fault and for once could not fault anything....is he now a changed man????

The Ambasciatori is definately a place we will be going back to, in hopefully the not too distant future

Tracy & Simon Prescott

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAPTAPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My wife and myself have just returned from spending a week at this hotel and can do nothing but praise the hotel for its service etc from arrival until departure.
All hotels are only as good as the staff and at this hotel they are second to none from reception throughout.
We will return again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one week beginning the 21st of August 2009. We had researched many hotels in Sorrento before our trip, as we planned to hold our Wedding reception at this hotel during this stay.

We were married on Monday the 24th of August at the Cloisters in the town of Sorrento, we then held our reception at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori after this service. We had a total of 47 guests and many of our party had not travelled to Italy before.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed by all of the staff (including the manager Giovanni). It was immediately clear the staff could not do enough for us and catered for our every need. The hotel has a very grand entrance and when you walk outside on to the terrace it is like something of a movie. That is, it is one of the most beautiful views of the bay of Naples and absolutely breathtaking.

We soon settled into the hotel and I must say that the food was out of this world. We sat outside on the terrace for all of our meals and the waiter staff were very professional and again could not do enough for you.

We spent most of the time before the wedding lounging by the pool or down at the waters edge on the jetty, Again, the atmosphere was so relaxing and the weather was fantastic. The Hotel supply an endless amount of towels and the pool and sea temperatures were so warm that we spent most of the time in the water.

Now the Wedding reception - What a show of professionalism. The whole team at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori worked non-stop all day to make sure that the wedding went just perfect. And perfection it was. They say the your wedding day is the best day of your life and we solely have Giovanni and his staff to thank for this. Everything from the buffet style food, to the Wedding cake that they provided, to the wonderful setting and the attitude of the staff. What a day.

We have stayed at many top hotels over the last few years, from Cuba to the Maldives, Las Vegas to Barbados, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori was simply the best of the lot. We will be returning very soon, as this hotel will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorrentowedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing