We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I have never written a review before.....we have stayed at the vittoria in the past which is excellent but this time we were with our 7 month old son.(Luca) .....and it could have been a difficult experience but the way the staff on the front desk and in the restaurant dealt with us was with the highest proffessional and genuine kindest which was very impressive......anyone giving a bad report of this hotel would be of a generally negative dispositon anyway!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 5 nights in July 2010. We all ( 2 adults ad 2 teenage boys) thought it was one of the best hotels we had ever been to. Everything about it was relaxing and stylish. The food was terrific as were the rooms but what we would particularly like to comment on was the level of service offered by every single member of staff that we came across - they could not have been more friendly, helpful and informative and although wrong to single out indiviuals the front desk/concierge staff were exceptional.
A really lovely 5 days

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perryfamily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We have just returned from an 11 day stay at 'The Grand Hotel Ambasciatori' in Sorrento and I can honestly say that it was 11 days of total bliss! My husband and I travelled with our two teenage sons and one of their friends, (ages 13, 16 & 17). From arrival to departure nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff, every member of staff we met was kind, courteous, polite and helpful. The buffet style breakfast offered an extensive choice of fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, cooked foods, breads, meats and cheeses, in addition there was an omelette and crepe chef that cooked to order throughout breakfast. The evening Al a Carte menu offered a good variety and every dish I ordered was utterly delicious. I must to make special mention of the restaurant staff who were fantastic - especially with my youngest son who is a very fussy eater, they were very accomodating of his dietary needs. I must also make special mention of our lovely chambermaid who had to contend with a bedroom occupied by three teenage boys on a daily basis - she was fantastic. The hotel was beautiful and plush, our bedrooms were the same.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

To all potential travellers thinking of booking a stay at this hotel, please disregard some of the unkind reviews you will find on this website regarding The Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. On your arrival you will find them to be unfair and untrue. The service at this hotel is exceptional in every possible way and the staff do everything within their power to make your stay memorable. We would love to experience a week with them again and enjoy their wonderful food and hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backhome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

The hotel and view were spectacular. We booked a room with a sea view only to be upgraded to the King's suite! It was magnificent. We had a beautiful terrace overlooking the water. The room was wonderful. The breakfast fabulous. We only wished we stayed for dinner. The grounds are also great. We stayed one night and wished we had staued a week. Only down side is the dumping of toilet rubbish (pads and tampons) from the boats in the sea which floats into the swimming area. This was a problem elsewhere along the Amalfi. The Italians need to police the boats! Still wonderful hotel staff were gay/lesbian friendly.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bellebutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon at the Ambasciatori. What can I say? Fantastic hotel in wonderful surroundings with great staff. Food 10/10, rooms 10/10 and service exceptional.
Salvatore at the poseidone bar by the sea was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble, always friendly and with a smile on his face. He truly works very hard to make you feel special.
The food within the restaurant was very good. My husband and I have eaten in some exceptional Michelin starred establishments and the food we had matched this, together with the service. Giovanni was warm, inviting and attentive, as was Valentino. My poor efforts at Italian were welcomed and encouraged. Emmaunello had an infectious personality and sense of humour with great advice upon wine and food matches. Equally Mario the breakfast chef made the most delightful omelettes and crepes.
Carla on reception always greeted us with a smile and was very very helpful. All in all you could not wish for better staff. Our only grumble is that we could not stay for another week. If you decide to stay, pay for the sea view rooms well worth it!! As for those who grumble about the decor, mini bar and the food - what planet are you on? We will return and have already looked at dates for next year - we only returned yesterday!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Little-MrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We went to Hotel Ambassadiori for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and were very disappopinted with the results. We were given a bottle of spumante courtesy in the brochure in the room but that was it. No card, nothing special was done for our meal for dinner i.e. flowers on the table or complimentary drink. We were not expecting the red carpet but we have been to other hotels for birthdays and they have been more obliging that at this hotel.

We were disgusted that we had to pay 21 euros for a week for our safe deposit box. Never had to pay in other hotels and they have been 4 or 5 star. We also had to wait an hour and a half for our room when we arrived and was told to go to the pool area and have a drink which we had to buy ourselves - not complimentary. After a hour and half's wait we decided to go back to reception and was then told by coincidence that the room was ready. Not good enough.

If you want to go to this hotel for a special occasion then forget it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £178 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing