We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo - Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bellisimo - Faultless”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Woken up at home the day after returning from the beautiful hotel Ambasciatori and Sorrento. I read the reviews before we travelled and again when we returned, I hope anyone looking to book here understands that some people are never satisfied or can have a bad experience but all the great reviews tells you something..
To the hotel.... Perfect is how I would describe it, outstanding location and views across the bay of Naples and a lovely feel of Italian culture in it's decor, no it is not a new glitzy gin palace, it is a traditional old hotel with character. We paid extra for the sea view and would recommend it if your budget allows but the garden rooms have a good view non the less. If you can request room 402 it has  a larger balcony to sit out on.
The service was outstanding across the board but the best was the attendant down by the sea who was helpful and entertaining. This area of the hotel is a beautiful place to relax and watch the boats coming and going into Sorrento.
I was concerned about having to book half board and wanting to eat out in town but was not disappointed by the variety and quality of the food plus the views/ sunsets.
Location is good if you want to be in a quiet area but near enough to walk in to the main shopping area ( 10 mins walk ), there is  Sorrento's football ground behind the hotel and one night there was a game on but there was no disruption just the occasional cheer or groan from the crowd, had I known it was on I would have gone to watch not a downside to put you off.
One reviewer made reference to the cleanliness, we had found the complete opposite generally the hotel is spotless and our room was cleaned and changed every day as you would expect to the standard you would expect.
In summary Italy is not cheap but you get what you pay for and this hotel, service ,facilities, food and it's location are spot on. We would and will return as have a number of people who we met while we were there. 
 

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    269
    61
    23
    14
See reviews for
323
927
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2010

In summary the hotel gives a fantastic relaxing holiday experience. Great staff. Good food. Stunning views. Well equipped and maintained rooms. Close to town. Pompeii trip a must.
Not sure what else you want....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Went to this hotel for one week, for our honeymoon, and stayed in a “double prestige” room, at a cost of £260 a night.

Sad to say we were both bitterly disappointed.

Stayed in room 505, which had separate lounge, and balcony overlooking sea, however decor was very outdated – especially in the bathroom, and not what you would expect for the price paid. it is in seroius need of a re-furbishment.

The bathroom had grout falling from the tiles (see pictures posted), dirt on the windowsills, and the shower, which was just bolted to the wall with a shower curtain in the bath, was never hot enough.

We did ask (politely – I’m not a rude man) if we could change room, but were brushed off with the hotels full... that I can accept, however that was on the first day of a weeks stay, and I would expect another hotel would have tried to accommodate our request the next day, or later in the week if they were able, or at least listed to our request.

Hairdryer in the bathroom was wall mounted and akin to something from the 1970’s, seriously, it was total rubbish. (again see picture - awful!)

Balcony was tiny, with only just enough room for two chairs, and one table – at a squeeze., albeit it did have lovely views.

Reception staff were a bit stuffy, and what I would describe as "corporate" – they were not bad, just not good either.

Food in the hotel is also disappointing. We had a free meal one evening (included in the cost of the room), and the restaurant has very much a “school canteen” feel to it, with only three menu choices presented each evening (not proper a la carte), with food presented under metal lids (very gimmicky), and deserts rolled around to be chosen off a trolley. Quality of food was also very poor, and not a patch on some of the fine restaurants to be found in Sorrento.

Breakfast was average, with a reasonable cold spread, some hot food, and eggs cooked to order, which were good.

The swim deck is one of the hotels few saving graces, which provided a nice place to relax, and swim.

The real killer for us was the cleaning of the room.

Whilst the linen was changed every day, the rest of the room went unloved. Empty drinks cans were left on tables, rotting fruit left in bowls, discarded shower gel sachets left on bath, and on inspection under bed before we left, we found lots of broken glass conveniently swept under the bed (which was not from our stay – heaven knows how long it had been there).

No serious attempt was made to clean the room for the whole week we were there. Indeed, one morning our whole corridors rooms were cleaned in the time it took to have a quick breakfast – that’s 20 minutes for about 6 rooms – indicates how little time and attention was paid.

Another issue was wifi. there was no inroom wifi,with reception charging extra for this by the hour, and coverage only extends to the reception area. Again, not what you expect for £260 a night.

The hotel seems to win over on location and the swim deck, I cannot see much else in its favour.

When choosing this hotel we were woo’d by the reviews here on tripadviser, and am frankly amazed that this hotel gets so many positive reviews... it does not, from our experience, deserve them.

Fortunately for us, the second week of our honeymoon was saved by staying in “Villa Ducale”, Taormina, Sicily – now that was a great hotel, that did live up to its tripadviser rating.

Do yourselves a favour, choose somewhere else to stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JupiterGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We are just back from Sorrento where we had our wedding at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. It is hard to put into words just how magnificent the hotel is, the views are amazing!
From the time we booked the wedding the general manager Mr Giovanni Savrese and his staff were more than helpful and assisted us in every way they could. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the hotel for the week of the wedding and all week each and every member of staff was friendly, courteous and professional.
On the day of the wedding all our guests were extremely impressed with the venue and the words 'unbelieveable' and 'spectacular' were ones we heard a lot throughout the day! We had pre-dinner drinks on the terrace overlooking the water and it was amazing! The wedding meal was delicious - my mother said the seabass was the nicest she had ever eaten and the wedding cake - wow! We opted for a traditional Italian cake on the advise of the manager and to be honest we didn't really know what to expect but when it was brought out at the reception we were shocked at how fab it was!

the breakfast buffet each morning was beautiful - must have been to get us all up after a 'few' down the local Irish pub the night before! A fantastic selection of hot and cold food, omelettes and crepes made to order! Yum!

Another feature of the hotel which makes it stand out from the others is the waterside jetty where you get to lie out and relax with a lovely sea breeze and then take a dip into the sea with Mt Vesuvius in the background. Paradise!

It is not often we have stayed in a hotel and to struggle to think of anything we didnt like but this time we couldn't think of anything - no matter how hard we tried! A return trip to Sorrento is definately on the cards and when we do go back we will be staying at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_and_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The Ambasciatori was truly exceptional from the quality of service at the front desk (specifically Carla & Stefano), to the clean modern rooms, and breathtaking view of the coast. The breakfasts were excellent and the first hotel we visited that had everything the kids were looking for.

Good location near Piazza Tasso. Elegant hotel with quality staff at all levels!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I have never written a review before.....we have stayed at the vittoria in the past which is excellent but this time we were with our 7 month old son.(Luca) .....and it could have been a difficult experience but the way the staff on the front desk and in the restaurant dealt with us was with the highest proffessional and genuine kindest which was very impressive......anyone giving a bad report of this hotel would be of a generally negative dispositon anyway!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 5 nights in July 2010. We all ( 2 adults ad 2 teenage boys) thought it was one of the best hotels we had ever been to. Everything about it was relaxing and stylish. The food was terrific as were the rooms but what we would particularly like to comment on was the level of service offered by every single member of staff that we came across - they could not have been more friendly, helpful and informative and although wrong to single out indiviuals the front desk/concierge staff were exceptional.
A really lovely 5 days

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perryfamily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing