We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

I absolutely loved this hotel, it's so clean,well decorated,and of course in the heart of Sorrento, the rooms are big and comfortable and from my window I could see the narrow streets of Sorrento. Lovely place, I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    114
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
29
141
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

After traveling around Italy for 2 months, and staying in 27 hotels and bed and breakfasts, I can safely say that Hotel Astoria was the best value I found. The rooms are squeaky clean and cheery (the yellow looks better in real life than on the website), and the tiling in the bathrooms is adorable. The showers are spacious and the sinks have plenty of counter space (for Europe and at this price). My room was completely quiet and the bed was comfortable. The manager Michele was particularly nice and helpful. The breakfast was pretty standard, but with plenty of options. The location is very central. Though I vehemently recommend against staying in Sorrento as a "base" for visiting the Amalfi coast, Capri, or Naples, it is a cute town and only a short train-ride away from Pompei, Herculaneum, and Mount Vesuvius. If you do stay in Sorrento, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

I stayed here as part of a package holiday with TopFlight. The best thing about this hotel is the location. If you are staying here you are in the centre of Sorrento and within walking distance of great restaurants, the beach and the marina. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and they nearly all speak English. The hotel is basic but it's very well maintained and I don't think I saw a spec of dirt while I was there. I think a 5 star hotel would of been wasted on us for this trip because Sorrento is so beautiful that you will spend very little time in the hotel anyway.

The main issue with this hotel is the noise. It's in the centre of the town so there's a lot of people walking past the hotel late at night. Also there's a very nice restaurant right outside the door of the hotel. It's very good and does a roaring trade but it's usually 12.30am before it closes its doors. Also as other posters mentioned there's a lot of people up and about going on trips early each morning so these do tend to make noise inside the hotel. The tiled floors probably carry the sound more than say carpet floors would.

Aside from that it's a great hotel and I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saigon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

When we stepped into our room we were impressed. It was modern, sunny, and spotless. The bed was nice, and the view was out onto a nice terrace. We even had a little patio.

But what would have been a 5 rating was not to be. The next morning at around 6:30am the bus tour people started leaving the place. Imagine around 100 elephants in high heals crashing down the stairs, dragging rolling baggage behind them on tiled floors and down staircases, all while screaming at each other to hurry up. This would go on for 2-3 hours each morning. After 4 nights of interrupted sleep I was delighted to get out of that place.

Admittedly, we were unlucky in that we had been put in a room on the first floor close to the stairwell, so maybe it is worthwhile requesting a room on an upper floor away for the main traffic artery. But overall this is a very promising hotel than needs to rectify its noise issue.

As a final note, the service wasn't great. When we arrived, our confirmation had gone missing, which may explain why we got such a noisy room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odeydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

The Astoria hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento's historic centre, is truly a nice find and great value for money! The hotel has recently been refurbished. The rooms are bright, comfy (decorated in blue and yellow with ceramic floors...traditional colors of the area), extremely clean and spacious with plenty of space to store or put your things down (which was a nice surprise since hotels in Italy can tend to lack this).

I would definitely recommend the Astoria...you cant beat the location and my room was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very welcoming too.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yourfriendinitaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ascot
Hotel Ascot
#63 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Via S. Maria delle Grazie 24, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria is in the heart of the historical centre of Sorrento, just a few minutes walk from the main square, the port and the railway station and is surrounded by narrow, cobbled streets, unique to this old part of town which is the hub of everyday activity here. The friendly atmosphere, courteous staff and a long family tradition in hospitality combine to make your stay at the Hotel Astoria enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing