We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Positive but some noise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #76 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Montana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Positive but some noise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Positive but some noise

The Hotel Astoria is located in central Sorrento on the edge of the pedestrian district. It has an attentive staff and it serves a very nice breakfast. The rooms do not suffer from traffic noise but are not well insulated from one another and so you will hear some noise from the adjacent rooms if they are occupied. The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the train/ bus station. We spent ten days there in October and enjoyed our stay. We would recommend the hotel to anyone seeking a central location in Sorrento.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peregrine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    115
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
29
142
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed at the Astoria in October as a package holiday,.bed and breakfast with Thomson.Due to the location of the hotel,guests are picked up from coach station by a member of hotel staff.This was a very short and quick journey.The room was beautiful,lovely tiles and a balcony that overlooked the garden and a lemon tree. The room was a little on the small side for a double,but as I was a single traveller it was perfect for me.I had a problem with blocked drain in shower,however it was sorted very quickly without the need to refer to travel company. The breakfast was very good,I was pleasantly surprised to find scrambled eggs,sausages and bacon available every day.There was also an assortment of cereals, fresh croisants,bread rolls and lovely white and some kind of brown(maybe rye) bread,available for toasting,although perfectly fresh to eat untoasted with the cold meats and cheeses.There was also many varieties of yoghurts,fruit in syrup and fresh fruit.The coffee machines made perfectly acceptable coffee and there were teabags available as well as hot water.I believe hot chocolate was also available.There was fresh cold water available and fruit drinks plenty of portions of butter,jam ,honey and chocolate, packets of 'toast' and fresh cake.Everywhere was clean and tidy,clean towels every day and somebody came to the room evry evening to check that everything was ok.Amazing....I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: My room 208,was lovely and overlooked the garden.Only complaint was that the bed and pillows a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guilietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Astoria is a small mid-level hotel in the center of the tourist shops, central Sorrento. Walk out the front door, turn right, left, or straight and the restaurants, shops, Gelato are within steps, the sea cliff down to the pier is 2 blocks. The place is quiet, with rooms opening on inner courtyard, however, we were placed in room 102, right across from elevator and stairs (why do hotels put rooms right next to their elevator? Why do I so often get them?). The breakfast was quite good, all the usual with bacon and eggs. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very small, but clean with good bed, bath.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

had read reviews before i travelled but feel lot were unfair.the staff were friendly and helpful and we had no problem with language barrier.breakfast had cooked choice and plenty of other things.superb location.staff came round every evening to check if you needed anything never seen that happen in britain.rooms clean and comfortable what more do you need

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freddte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is the type of hotel you will either love or hate. If you're expecting four star luxury, with large bedrooms and plenty of facilities that could be anywhere in the world, then you will hate this place. If however you're looking for a typical Italian hotel that is right in the centre of the old town and are prepared to put up with smallish rooms and the odd noise from the next door neighbours having a row then this is for you. We were dropped off at Sorrento's bus station and picked up by the hotels mini bus. This has to be the narrowest mini bus ever made and it needs to be, because it has to negotiate some of the tightest alleyways in Sorrento in order to reach the hotel. Our room was on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the garden. Now we like to sit out in the afternoon on our balcony with a bottle of wine. Most hotels have a mini bar which is totally useless. This hotel, however, has a fridge and for only 7 euros you can by a chilled bottle of white wine from the bar and get two decent wine glasses, which you can then take back to your room. Perfect! Our only disappointment was the breakfast which was always the same and not massively appealing.

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel itself is lovely, nice staff, good breakfast. however we were 2 friends (60 years old) who had booked a double/twin room. Our beds were almost beside each other and squished against walls. We had to leave our suitcases (we only had 1 each) in the bathroom as there was just nowhere else. After 2 nights (out of 6) when I couldn't stick it anymore I went to reception to asked for a bigger room (like we had been shown in the brochures). They said that all the room were the same. We found out later that this was a lie and we visited 2 other rooms which were a normal double size and looked like you could walk around them a bit. When we went back to our room after breakfast the housekeeper had been in. she pushed a locker between the beds. Now one bed was blocking the door to the balcony. We had to scramble over it to get out to the balcony with some effort. Our bathroom door didn't shut so we had to wedge a carton in it to have some privacy. The walls are thin you can hear your neighbours flushing the toilet, having a shower etc. On the balcony the view down into the garden is lovely, if you looked up it was derelict building...and not charming old Italian buildings, more like construction work. Sorrento itself was wonderful we also did a tour of Amalfi, Pompeii and the island of Capri. These were brilliant experiences I would recommend them. the people we met were welcoming and kind. We booked with topflight, it wasn't a cheap holiday so was expecting a better sized room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Astoria had run out of rooms and sent us to a high-end competitor where we got an amazing upgrade to a junior suite overlooking Sorrento's harbor. The Astoria paid the difference between their price and the more expensive hotel. They made our vacation.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ascot
Hotel Ascot
#63 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 24, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria is in the heart of the historical centre of Sorrento, just a few minutes walk from the main square, the port and the railway station and is surrounded by narrow, cobbled streets, unique to this old part of town which is the hub of everyday activity here. The friendly atmosphere, courteous staff and a long family tradition in hospitality combine to make your stay at the Hotel Astoria enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing