We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Bellevue Syrene!”
Review of Bellevue Syrene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bellevue Syrene
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Bellevue Syrene at the start of our 2 week vacation in Italy. We had chosen Sorrento because we wanted a good base from which to visit the Amalfi Coast and Capri, and the Bellevue Syrene because we had read so many positive reviews. We were not disappointed!
These are the things that we loved: complimentary club lounge with cocktails, prosecco, soft drinks and snacks offered all day and into evening; abundant breakfast buffet with made to order eggs, etc, included; perfect location - within quick walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in Sorrento; a balcony that literally hung over the water with stunning views of the Gulf of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius; very helpful staff; and finally, free wi-fi! (a personal pet peeve that high-end hotels and resorts often charge a daily fee)
I would recommend the Bellevue Syrene to my family and friends, and I hope we are able to visit again soon!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank member63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue Syrene
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had our wedding reception at the Bellevue Syrene on 11th August 2011, the location is absolutely fantastic along with the amazing staff here at this beautiful hotel! We couldn’t have asked for more when our wedding planner Alessandra from Book of Dreams introduced us to the Manager at the hotel, he was so lovely and accommodating, the feel of the hotel was exactly what we were looking for. The actual day couldn’t have gone any better than we wished for, the organisation of the staff and the arrangements of the day were fantastic. We got married at the Cloisters and after we may the 2 minute walk from there with our 40 family and friends to the Bellevue everything was already ready for the guests. The food was amazing and well worth the money, the wine just kept flowing and was being topped up the whole night, the wedding cake was huge, the value for money at this mazing hotel was fantastic. A wedding in Italy is absolutely beautiful, the people are amazing and so attentive you couldn’t ask for anymore! We were so happy with our time at the Bellevue, our family and friends are still talking about what a fantastic day it was, the staff at the hotel are the best! I can’t wait to go back to beautiful Sorrento!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank summer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Hotels in Europe can sometimes feels inundated with gothic, weighty decor and medieval spirit; however, Bellevue Syrene is a quirky mix of tradition and modernism, with grapevine arbors & arches overlooking the Sorrento sea and unexpected touches scattered throughout-think a Roman statue adorned with a sea coral "bouffant" or ornate Italian Fresco's on the turquoise walls of your suite with a tin VW bug & trailer toy on top of your chest of drawers. The property has incredible views (most of which are coveted by those outside the hotel grounds) which congregate to snap pictures of the grape & strawberry hued sunsets.

And, though the price may seem steep on the on-set, the welcoming and care that you receive through out your stay from the staff, coupled with the inclusive morning breakfast buffet (with made-to-order eggs, frittatina's, yogurts, numerous homemade breads, cereal, fresh squeezed juices, etc.) and onslaught of complimentary cocktails/snacks/fruit/treats throughout the day and into the night, all while enveloped in your own lush, stretch of Sorrento seaside, makes Bellevue Syrene worth every penny. *Rarely, had room for lunch-but, thoroughly enjoyed the sunset, serenade dinners and strongly recommend the whitefish entree-Benissimo!

**One caveat: local traffic is sometimes audible from the courtyard rooms-and DO NOT accept room #405, as it is located near the recycling storage; on collection night, we were kept awake by the sound of bottles clanking and bin hauling from 3 AM-5 AM!!!

Room Tip: Do Not accept room #405-see above!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ncll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Pertched on the edge of the Sorrento cliff, Bellevue Syrene's view is majestic. Both the breakfast, and lunch/dinner dining areas take full advantage, as do the sea view rooms. Staff are helpful and kind, and the rooms are clean and lovely, though not spectacular.

Some standard rooms have a bath but not a shower, so be sure to ask for a room with a shower if you require one.

The walk to the shops and dining areas of Sorrento is only 90 seconds away from this wonderful location.

The dock down at seaside level is disappointing. Chairs are light and uncomfortable, and there are very few amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Lavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I don't think you can go wrong staying at the Bellevue if you understand you are staying at an 18 century villa.

I understand the rooms on the upper floors have been redecorated and are accurately reflected on the tripadvisor site. Note the modern colors. Our room was reasonable with a small terrace just big enough for a small table and 2 chairs - felt a bit boxed in with the slanting roof line limiting broader view but could stand at the rail and enjoy the full panorama.

Excellent breakfast buffet included. The real value add is the club lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks literally all day then moving to cocktails on the terrace overlooking the Gulf of Naples also complimentary.

Lobby staff were professional, friendly and accommodating - recommending very good restaurants and even a beauty salon where I got an excellent haircut. Upon check-out, they facilitated storing our bags and securing a taxi to take us to the ferry - coordinating the timing and were absolutely on top of it.

Only complaint I would vocalize is the wait staff in the club lounge were "unfriendly". No eye contact, no greeting and no service but they were tasked with stocking and cleaning up the lounge area, a thankless job.

Above I provided the pros and cons for the benefit of the tripadvisor audience but want to state I would NOT hesitate to stay at the Bellevue Syrene again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debrabeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Beautiful location, private beach, excellent service, free snacks and drinks from 11am til 9 pm. Have stayed here many times and it's always perfect

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Beautiful hotel, gorgeous location, amazing suite, terrace same size as the room!
Everything is perfect! We have celebrated our anniversary last night and the dinner was spectacular! Staff very attentive, Pianist played beautifully, there was nothing else we could ask for. So sad to leave tomorrow and would love to come back! Would recommend to all couples!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Syrene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Syrene

Address: Piazza della Vittoria 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £293 - £811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellevue Syrene 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Syrene is a 5* boutique hotel in peak of the sea, overlooking the bay of Sorrento. It is a charming house with ancient frescoes, in the historical centre of Sorrento. A spa and a private solarium on the water are available. Romantic terrace restaurant during summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bellevue Syrene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Syrene Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing