We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bellevue Syrene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bellevue Syrene
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Richboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gem of Sorrento”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Our May 2013 trip to Italy was Tuscany, Amalfi Coast, finishing in Rome. During our three days in Sorrento, we stayed at the Bellevue Syrene. Our suite (to accommodate three travelers) was oceanfront with exquisite views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The balconies were large enough to sit and enjoy the scenery and take in the sights and sounds of the Sorrento waterfront. The breakfast offerings were extensive and nicely prepared. Unfortunately, the weather was too cool to offer the oceanside lounging area as a possibility. Hotel is close (5 min walk) to Capri ferry and convenient to Sorrento shopping and dining areas. Extremely inviting and clean property. Management of property is very exacting and precise. Premium pricing, but with it comes premium service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    81
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
165
638
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Best things about this hotel:
Location. Right beside village. 2 min walk to centre and 5 minutes to ferries for islands like Capri
Views to die for
Simple, elegant design of rooms with excellent use of colour and attention to detail.
Complimentary drinks and snacks served up to 6pm including wine, beer and prosecco
Very romantic terrace to dine on in the evening overlooking the sea
Nice breakfast buffet
Balcony's off bedrooms could be more private. Everyone looking at everyone else right now

Things that could be better
Very expensive for Italy - expect to pay through the nose especially for room service and guided tours
Service is average - not 5 star level but staff tend to be friendly
Internet is fine for emails but slow slow slow for everything else

Overall we found it great for a few days of sightseeing and shopping but boredom set in quickly and the bill can be a big sting in the tail. Was it worth the outlay? To be honest not quite. Lovely spot, but overall we feel we did not get real value for money compared to what other options are out there.

Room Tip: Don't go unless you can get a sea view. The larger rooms are very large (especially considering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheehanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations by far. The facilities are gorgeous and immaculate, the view amazing, and the service wonderful. Although expensive, this hotel is worth every penny. We had a balcony view overlooking the bay of Naples and it was unforgettable to wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto the cliffs. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were only supposed to stay here for two nights at the end of our two weeks in Italy. We extended our stay another three nights. We had a room that had two balconies overlooking the Bay of Napoli. We had a view of Vesuvius and saw both the sunrise and sunset. It was heavenly. Each room had a theme including a specific color scheme. Ours was turquoise. We were with friends and their room was lavender. Thick cotton robes and slippers. The most beautiful tile throughout. Too much to recall. If you have the opportunity, please go.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the same floor as the concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Bellevue was recomended by friends. My wife and I stayed there two nights on our honeymoon. The hotel is in an outstanding location. Extremely convieniant to shopping and resteraunts. The views are spectacular. Many of the visitors in Sorrento come to the gate outside of the hotel to watch the beautiful sunsets. I really don't think there is a better view in all of sorrento. The staff was polite and very helpful when we had questions. They went above and beyond in several circumstances. I travel a lot, but this is my first tripadvisor review. The positive experience at this hotel compelled me to express my appreciation for the quality time in Italy. Thank you:-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. The service is superb and the staff are so friendly. The views from the hotel are amazing and the hotel is right next to the town. The food is wonderful, the best spaghetti with clams I have ever tasted.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smansell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Sorrento’s Bellevue Syrene is a beautiful hotel with comfortable, clean, and luxurious accommodations. The staff was friendly, helpful, and very welcoming to our family with 2 young children. The views from the breakfast lounge, restaurant, and room were stunning! Mt. Vesuvius was directly across the bay and is still providing conversation topics for our curious 4 year old! Without a doubt, if you are staying in Sorrento, you should stay at the Bellevue Syrene.
To tour the Amalfi Coast, we hired the Monetti family taxi service, www.monettitaxi17.it . We liked them so much, we used them the next day to tour the Greek ruins at Paestum, and the next day to drive us to the Naples airport. Spending time with Raffaele and his cousin Bernado was a joy. Our children still talk about Bernado and Raffaele, our friends in Sorrento.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyDeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Syrene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Syrene

Property: Bellevue Syrene
Address: Piazza della Vittoria 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellevue Syrene 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Syrene is a 5* boutique hotel in peak of the sea, overlooking the bay of Sorrento. It is a charming house with ancient frescoes, in the historical centre of Sorrento. A spa and a private solarium on the water are available. Romantic terrace restaurant during summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bellevue Syrene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Syrene Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing