We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is certainly a Belle View”
Review of Bellevue Syrene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bellevue Syrene
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is certainly a Belle View”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Arriving in Sorrento I was slightly concerned at what to expect but I had nothing to worry about, the Bellevue Syrene in a wonderful hotel in an excellent location with a really quite stunning view over Vesuvius that will remain with us forever.

A slight irritation was that on the day of arrival we went to the restaurant for dinner, at 8.30, to be told it was full. I explained that we were staying at the hotel but they just repeated that they were full and there wasn't anything they could do. The concierge wasnt much better suggesting room service. I explained that I was disappointed that nobody had pointed out that if we wanted to eat at the hotel we should book in advance. Regardless the following evening we did eat at the restaurant, we found the menu a little limited and boring and the food likewise BUT the view, the sunset, the setting make it all worthwhile...it really must be one of the most romantic places for dinner but be warned when booking make sure you ask to be seated on the sea side of the restaurant.

We stayed in room 606 which was a standard sea view room with terrace. Once again the views are tremendous and the terrace was great. The room has been built in what was, I assume, the attic which means there are slopping ceilings and whilst the room is perfectly spacious with a nice bathroom you cant help but feel that you're in the cheap seats. Although special praise must be given to Elena who cleaned our room a charming, helpful and enthusiastic lady who is a credit to the hotel.

Breakfast is served in a beautiful partially open room over the sea and is a total joy with an excellent selection of food, great service and lovely classical music playing in the background.

The private beach, which is actually a converted jetty is easy to get to by lift and well looked after by the hotel employees.

All in all a beautifully located hotel with stunning views and if you avoid the top floor and book the restaurant in advance you'll have a perfect time.

One final piece of advice, if you want unpretentious authentic Italian food of the highest standard try the restaurant that you walk past to get to the hotel beach, its called Bagni Salvatore, the owner is called Antonio, the food cooked by his sister Elena. When you take the lift down to the beach and walk along the small path take the first right and you walk straight in to the restaurant. The food we ate here was the best we had during our entire 2 weeks in Italy. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor and pay for the sea views, they really are worth waking up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    92
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
189
715
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Beautiful hotel. Love the view, the gardens, the staff and the rooms. The open gardens were just amazing. The breakfasts were the best we had in Italy. . The actual restaurant was ok-very over priced and mediocre food. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomandkatie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

From the view to the service to the rooms to the food to the art... just breathtaking and still makes me smile thinking about it. Perfect walking distance from shops, restaurants and the great Sorrento vibe. A must-stay.

Room Tip: The view of the sea is obviously the way to go, if possible. Just awe-inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Four lifelong friends chose to stay at this hotel for our 50th birthday trip during our Italy leg. It was recommended by our travel designer and it exceeded our expectations! The location was perfect. The staff was wonderful (special call out to Nello for his helpfulness!). Nice touch to have cocktails/drinks available at no charge! After a day of touring it was very special to return to our tranquil setting and have a glass of proseco!

Room Tip: Go for a rom with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bailey0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We are on our way home after a 4 night visit to celebrate our silver wedding at this amazing hotel.
It is without doubt the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in , the sea views from the terrace are fantastic ,a great place to relax .
The staff are attentive and helpful without being overbearing , the club lounge facility provides drinks and canapés from 10.00 until 21.00 making it very hard to resist an extra glass of prosecco .
We had plans to visit Capri and Amalfi , but the hotel is so beautiful and relaxing you don't want to venture far.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband I stayed at the Bellevue Syrene for our 2 week honeymoon in Aug 2012. This hotel is everything it promises to be and although it looked beautiful in the pictures, it is so much more so in reality.

Hotel - very grand, beautifully furnished and tastefully but not blandly decorated. Upkeep is first rate both indoors and out. Lovely seating areas dotted around to relax and not bump into other guests. Our room was a deluxe sea view and was huge! There was a seating area which had steps leading down to the bedroom. We had 2 balconies; 1 from the seating area and the other from our bedroom - waking up to views off the sea and Mt Vesuvius was a treat. We even bought ham, cheese, crackers, wine, and limoncello and enjoyed a relaxing night enjoying the views one night.

Pool - small pool in a terrace area which is sufficient to cool off and relax but not to swim. Loungers available around the pool. There is also a private sunbathing platform on the sea front which is away from the madness of the other hotels so very peaceful and tranquil. Swimming in the clear waters was lovely.

Food - room service expensive. Breakfast is buffet style and is exceptional; meats, salads, cheeses, various breads, yoghurts, cereals and a choice of a hot breakfast if required. Breakfast dining was on the terrace overlooking Mount Vesuvius and is a gorgeous way of starting your day! Club Lounge which offers complimentary snacks & drinks throughout the day are little hors d'oeuvres and bread rolls - these are sufficient to keep you going throughout the day if needs be. Drinks include tea, coffee, canned pop, bottled juices, beer, wine, & prosecco. At 6pm the spirits were added to the Club Lounge and this is served on the terrace.

Location - perfect! Built into the cliff, several views out onto sea. About 10min walk from the main square in Sorrento so very peaceful but easy to reach all the various restaurants and bars of which there are plenty. Great base for Capri, Positano, Boat trips around Amalfi Coast, pick up points for day trips to Vesuvius, Pompeii, & Herculaneum. For the latter two, we did them both in a day by getting the train there ourselves - much cheaper.

Staff - very attentive to all requests. Always ensured Club Lounge was fully stocked. Staff helped me when I had a problem with some sunglasses i'd bought from Capri.

This hotel is expensive but if you want something that's special and luxurious then i'd say go for it as you won't regret it!

Room Tip: I definitely think the deluxe room is worth the extra so if you can afford then it's well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Della C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I travel a lot, both for business and pleasure. Every once and a while we stay at a place that offers up some surprises - Bellevue Syrene is one of those places.

It's the little things that add up - the personalized greeting at the front gate with a stroll down the walkway to reception. The "lounge" that offers free snacks and drinks for much of the day. The birthday cake delivered to our dinner after a passing comment that we were celebrating.

This hotel is perfect. Location. View - we could see Mt. Vesuvius from bed. The style is a unique blend of authentic, traditional period with modern accents.

Staff is unbelievably helpful and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Syrene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Syrene

Property: Bellevue Syrene
Address: Piazza della Vittoria 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellevue Syrene 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Syrene is a 5* boutique hotel in peak of the sea, overlooking the bay of Sorrento. It is a charming house with ancient frescoes, in the historical centre of Sorrento. A spa and a private solarium on the water are available. Romantic terrace restaurant during summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bellevue Syrene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Syrene Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing