We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star, all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bellevue Syrene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellevue Syrene
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“5 star, all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Imagine driving the autostrada for 5 hours, then getting lost on the Amalfi penninsula (in a good way) for another 2. Only to find our final destination Bellevue Syrene, an amazing hotel. Yes, we looked like a bunch of Californian Hillbillies after our pilgrimage down from Umbria (SPOLETO, read separate review). We parked in front, and were greeted by a lovely crew of polished pro's, who encouraged us to relax, enjoy the complimentary bar, Persecco? OK. We gave them our passports, and were quickly upgraded to a better room, King Bed! In Europe, this is a big deal since most are doubles. Our stay was for three nights, the last being Halloween. By far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. Great staff, food, and location. It is believed emperor Agrippa had his summer home in this very location. Roman caves are carved in the volcanic Tufa stone adding to the historic and beautiful appeal of this magic place. Plus a pier, and a nice salty swimming area. So salty in fact, that it is difficult to get to the bottom, unlike the pacific ocean. Nonetheless, great stay, 5 star all of the way. Parking is 25 Euro per day, worth it. Take a day trip from the wharf to Capri 30 euros per adult, round trip. Want to check off an item from the bucket list? Rent a boat at the famous wharf to take you to the famous Blue Grotto, 16.50 eurp per adult. Once there don't stop the adventure, get in another small rowboad/canoe/panga with a captain, pay 12.50 euro each to enter the sacred grotto, and the rest is photo history. Note: at Capri, you will disembark at the main point in the Harbor. However, returning ships to Sorrento for example leave at the end of the adjoining peir, we almost missed this boat. Check with the locals when you arrive, they will point to the spot. Back to Syrene, awesome!

Room Tip: Did you know there is a secret elevator that takes you down to the wharf and up from the wharf to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fremontbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    81
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
166
640
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Service was average and concierge advice really terrible, including some of the tours recommended that became a nightmare (a "luxury" boat to go around Capri ended in one with a bathroom out of order and no room to change your cloths).
The hotel has a great location like almost all the good hotels in Sorrento. The pool advertised is far away from their premises, actually at the Hilton Hotel which means that you need to take a taxi cab instead of going to a nearby hotel with a swimming pool.
The best of the hotel are the rooms and the outdoors restaurant. Our experience was not a good one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here for four nights in October. The hotel is lovely with amazing views of the bay... Fishermen, cruise ships, ferries, Naples, Mt Vesuvius... Grey haired lady from NH swimming in the ocean in October! (Yes, me) I had a room two floors below the main lobby with a fantastic huge tiled shower... I was the cleanest lady in Sorrento! The amenities at the hotel are divine...afternoon prosecco and canapés and delicious breakfasts. A myriad of streets is just outside to shop, visit a cafe, enjoy a gelato.... It's a perfect location! The staff is helpful, friendly, and honest. Two days after leaving I realized I forgot my beautiful aquamarine ring. One call to the hotel and my ring was on its way home as housekeeping had found it and turned it in. I would definitely return to this hotel again! Staying here was one of the highlights of my trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mamafrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Almost no words to describe the beauty. The setting is spectacular and the rooms are amazing. High ceilings rooms with large sitting area and lovely bed with view through the glass doors of the balcony to the bay. Don't miss this property during your visit to the Amalfi Coast area. Sorrento is perfect. The hotel staff is totally friendly and accommodating. The complimentary reception provided every evening by the hotel is absolutely a five-star spread. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Simply stunning ..

room:- we stayed at the suite roccacia it has a pool cum Jacuzzi inside the room, It gives a feeling of living inside a rock . the bathroom is a bit small but thats ok. stunning views of the ocean. The entrance of the room is simply stunning. As soon as you enter it gives a feeling of walking inside the cave. stayed there for 2 nights and barely stepped out of the room.

Food;-
breakfast was a huge spread with diffrent kind of cheeses, breads , choclates , fruits , cereals and fruit juices. Their orange juice maker was kind of entertaining to watch Not many choices for vegetarians but they would gladly take your request.

they made arrangements for us to go to the capri island . Any requests made by us was fulfilled by them without any fuss and they go by the policy of not saying no for any demands made my the guests.

Room Tip: Suite roccacia.... though its expensive , but if you can afford it nuthing like that ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrj20mrj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a small group tour in mid-October .... 4 nights in all. The rooms are spacious and ours included a lovely balcony. The views were superb. The bathroom was large, with 2 sinks and fully up to date. It was a short walk to access the swimming area, although most of that was shut down for the season. Wifi was available but dropped frequently.

One of my favorite aspects of this hotel was the complimentary drinks and appetizers served throughout the day and evening. After a day of touring, it was wonderful to relax on the terrace overlooking the water and enjoy these amenities. Breakfast was a well-stocked buffet.

The Bellevue Syrene is a delightful Sorrento experience and a great launch point for exploring the Amalfi coast.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are on the top 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on honeymoon end of October 2013. Beautiful hotel with picturesque views across the bay particularly from balcony sea view rooms. Lovely staff, friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast and club lounge offering canopies wine beer coffee free from 10am to 9pm at night. Fantastic location within sorrento town near the port. Well worth the money , would definitely go back. Thanks for a fab time syrene!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Meganne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Syrene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Syrene

Property: Bellevue Syrene
Address: Piazza della Vittoria 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellevue Syrene 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Syrene is a 5* boutique hotel in peak of the sea, overlooking the bay of Sorrento. It is a charming house with ancient frescoes, in the historical centre of Sorrento. A spa and a private solarium on the water are available. Romantic terrace restaurant during summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bellevue Syrene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Syrene Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing