We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So under expectations!”
Review of Bellevue Syrene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bellevue Syrene
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So under expectations!”
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We booked this hotel quite expensive, to spend a romantic holiday in sorrento and we were very disappointed.
The service was pretty poor: the room wasn't cleaned before 3 p.m, people at the reception desk and the (so called) beach were very unfriendly!
Plus, the restaurant is way too average given the standing (or would be standing) of the hotel.
Our room was located on the lower floor which was very noisy during morning because of the breakfast room nearby (hotel clients and staff shouting in the corridor from 7 a.m).
The room wasn't as big as figured on the pictures.
The bed was really comfortable but there was no quilt cover, only two sheets laid under and over the quilt. It can appears not so important, but it was reallly desagreable to sleep in this bed.
In the end, the only nice thing was the free food and drinks during the day, but only available in the garden...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    84
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
172
659
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2010

You will enjoy this really great 5* Hotel. Very educated and discret stuff, excellent Breakfast, private carport and situated on a hill with a fantastic view over the bay in direction to Napels.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThomasL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We had our wedding reception at the bellevue syrene and we also stayed for 7 nights.We had a deluxe sea view room which was not cheap but was very nice.In fact we were expecting more for the type of room it was and also for the price we had paid for it.When we arrived at the hotel we were met by a blonde lady at reception.As the days went on she did not appear to be as pleasant as she should of been.On the other hand the hotel manager was very nice.the location and the views of the hotel are really amazing.We were annoyed that we were not offered anything complimentary eg champagne,flowers etc considering we had spent thousands at the hotel.Also would like to advise anyone going there to make full use of the club lounge they offer free drinks and food eg bread,cakes,coffee etc (selection not great.food at our wedding reception was very nice.they also stopped the music very early and kept coming over to us to keep the noise down(30 guests at wedding therefore there was not a great deal of noise) few nights later we were waken by alot of noise from another party and alot later 2am.one rule for one it seems.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank messy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights during a 2 week sojourn on the Amalfi Coast. I have to start by saying that we have stayed in all kinds of nice hotels all over the world from Four Seasons, Ritz Carltons, to Starwoods, to castles, Peninsulas, Bel Air Hotel in Bel Air, CA, etc...all wonderful but THIS was the best hotel experience of all of them.....The hotel is situated on a cliff overlooking the Bay of Naples and is one of the grand old hotels...but it is renovated with a very modern flair...almost South Beach with elegance. Venetian chandeliers, cool contemporary art thru out...There are only 35 rooms, all have great views and I think all have balconies. You MUST have a balcony here. The staff is so attentive and friendly that we felt like movie stars. In adidtion to the full breakfast, they have a little cafe area that is open all day long and offers complimenatry snacks, coffees, beverages, wine, proseco, etc...until 10PM!!! You are walking distance from everything in Sorrento, even the train station which makes for easy in and out access and a good day trip to Pompei. ..hotel has a private lift to beach so while everyone around you is climbing up and down from the water, (quite a climb!!) you zip up and down your privtae elevator...which whisks you to your private beach (tiny) and lovley floating beach dock and club with chairs, attendant, etc...Look no further...if you can afford this hotel, BOOK IT NOW!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleurdelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We were to have a short stay as well as our wedding at the Bellevue prior to leaving for our Mediterranean cruise. Family members were due to arrive the day of the wedding also. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us. Whether it was ensuring we had everything we needed in our room or making dinner reservations on our behalf, the staff handled everything, often before the request was ever made. We could find no fault with any aspects of the service during our stay. Each and every member of the hotel was a consummate professional without the formality making each one of us feel at home. We were very happy with the room. The view was absolutely breathtaking! The facilities were terrific and the room, as well as the hotel itself, were kept incredibly clean. As I said earlier, we were there for our wedding ceremony and reception and everyone had a fabulous time. Family members are still talking about it!! There was not one thing we would change. Our server, Franco, added such a wonderful touch to our reception - such a wonderful man, so charming! The hotel event planner, Ferdinando, did a wonderful job calming our pre-wedding nerves considering we were in the midst of a terrible storm and for a while it looked like we may have the ceremony inside! But on the wedding day we had that beautiful weather for which the Amalfi Coast is so well-known and all of the hard work of the staff paid off. A wonderful experience had by all! For those of you who wish to contact me about the other vendors I used for the wedding or details about the hotel and the wedding, please feel free to do so by email. The only downside was saying good bye because the people at the hotel very quickly came to feel like family; that Italian hospitality coming through! As I said, my husband and I were heading off for a cruise and as those of you who have cruised well know, that service is hard to beat. Once on the ship, we found the service lacking because the service we experienced at the Bellevue was just that good! We are anxiously awaiting to return - no doubt we will be back many, many times in the years ahead!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesaucyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

The Bellevue Syrene is simply fantastic! We loved every minute of our 3 night stay. We are 2 couples who were at the end of a 2 week trip and staying in Sorrento at the Bellevue Syrene was the icing on the cake. We had beautiful rooms (each room had 2 balconies) over looking the Bay of Naples with the most amazing views. The location of the hotel can not be improved on.....people come 24/7 to take pictures at the entrance of the hotel....the view is that amazing! We had dinner in their terrace restaurant on the last night and it was our favorite evening of our entire trip. They have a very talented, charming man who plays the piano so well it will bring you to tears.....the food was great (homemade pasta with lemon sauce)......and the service was without fault. The front desk was more than accommodating (and friendly!).....getting us reservations at a local restuarant on the water with a car pickup, securing a private boat for a day trip to Positano and welcoming us back after long days of touring Capri and Pompeii with champagne chilling in our rooms. As we had to leave very early in the morning for flights back home, the hotel prepared us box breakfasts to take with us. Also, the club level lounge, which offers complimentary water, wine, soda, juices, and all different kinds of pastries and cakes, was such a treat and available throughout each day! We are well traveled and simply fell in love with Sorrento (can those lemons be real???) and the Bellevue Syrene. You will love it here! Do not hesitate to stay at this beautiful property, it's 5 star all the way.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights recently as part of a long tour of Italy. This a seriously lovely hotel with a wonderful location. The interior design is to a high spec and the elegant public rooms are a clever mix of old and new - which really works. It is expensive though, and for that we expected just a little more than comfort and good design. We would recommend this hotel and would probably go again but ,overall, we felt that it lacked a cohesive ambience and this probably comes from the top. We found the waiting staff to be fine - but that the reception and administrative staff - while efficient and pleasant - were quite distant and any more senior management were practically invisible. We were not sure quite what the hotel was aiming for - jolly 'Italian' as evinced by the waiters or cool distant elegance.

The main problem with this hotel though is it's restaurant. The food is expensive but, as the hotel has a lovely restaurant terrace, we decided to eat there. What a mistake - the food is incredibly poor value, being bland and poorly presented - the very worst kind of hotel food and the sort found much lower down the hotel pecking order. Eat elswehere in Sorrento - there are lots of places.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Syrene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Syrene

Property: Bellevue Syrene
Address: Piazza della Vittoria 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellevue Syrene 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Syrene is a 5* boutique hotel in peak of the sea, overlooking the bay of Sorrento. It is a charming house with ancient frescoes, in the historical centre of Sorrento. A spa and a private solarium on the water are available. Romantic terrace restaurant during summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Bellevue Syrene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Syrene Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing