We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel del Corso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel del Corso
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was close to everything we wanted. The breakfast was a good start to your day. The breakfast area was outdoors and the view was spectaclular. There's a famous gellato place right next to the hotel Gelateria Primavera. They were so delicioso. The Piazza is nearby and you can walk to the train or bus stations. We loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Corso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Returned from Sorrento last evening having spent 4 nights at the Hotel Del Corso. The location of the hotel is perfect, it's within walking distance of the train station, the bus station and even closer to the main square. We had perfect weather so were able to sit outside and enjoy breakfast every morning. Breakfast is just a continental but plenty of rolls, croissants, cereal and fruit,(mostly melon). We were given a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the narrow lanes where all the shops are. It's a very busy road but with decent double glazing we were not troubled by the noise at all. The room was basic but very clean. There was plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe plus a couple of drawers. The bathroom had a nice big sink with plenty of space to put toiletries. There was also a bidet and large shower.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The price was right and the staff very friendly, almost all spoke English.
We arranged with Luca for an airport pickup. If you're arriving late or unsure how to get to Sorrento this is a definite bonus. Expensive but we felt worth every penny. Our flight was delayed almost an hour but the driver was waiting for us, we were at the hotel within around 35 minutes.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Potsie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Needing a place to stay within walking distance of the Circumvesuviana train station, we booked one night at this lovely hotel next to the central Piazza Tasso. We would have preferred two nights, but the hotel was fully booked for the second, earlier, night we needed. My most telling memory of this hotel is the extraordinary friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We met four staff members during our brief stay and all four were wonderful. They allowed us to check into our room hours in advance of check-in time, gave us lots of very helpful information about Sorrento, and at breakfast, I heard one staff member speak in four different languages to the guests.

The hotel is right around the corner from the busy Piazza Tasso, where we were witness to the impressive Saturday night "passagiatta." (not sure I'm spelling this correctly; sorry my Italian friends). It is up a few flights in a building with apartments and at least one other hotel. There is an elevator from the ground floor. The room was clean, very comfortable and pleasant. At night, this room was a tad noisy, as we were right above either a restaurant or the hotel's terrace (can't remember which). But the noise was simply people talking a little loudly, and ended early, to my relief.

I am giving this hotel five stars because, if you're staying in Sorrento, need a place within walking distance of the train, and don't want to spend a fortune, this is a wonderful place to stay. My only complaint is with the town, not the hotel. My husband and I clearly missed the fact, when deciding on staying in Sorrento for our visit to Pompeii, that this is a "resort" town. We now wish we had stayed in Naples instead just because of the type of travelers we are. Sorrento is for people with a fair amount of money (in general, although this hotel worked well within our budget) and appeals to people with more expensive tastes than we have -- hence all the high end shops and tourist draws. But it is a pretty town -- great for walking and for people-watching, and has wonderful views of the surrounding cliffs and the bays. The food is great, too. So, although we are not likely to stay there again (NOT because of the hotel), we went with the flow and enjoyed our stay there nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the restaurant (or patio, whichever it was below our room).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel was outstanding due to its position. Right in the middle of Sorrento. The room was average but we had a great view onto the busy laneway. There was a lot of character about this watching tourist, shoppers and shop keepers selling their goods. The breakfast was typically continental however the breakfast area was quite a unique outdoor area, very pleasant. Staff were very friendly and obliging. The hotel was a walk from the station and in the middle of the shopping, restaurant area. From Sorrento we did a tour to Pompeii and Herculaneum, to do both in one day is a very big effort. Unless you have a particular interest in Herculaneum I would do Pompeii, it's a big day out to cover the site and digest the history surrounding Pompeii. I would certainly recommend this hotel. It's position outways any minor issues with the room.

Room Tip: Our room was basic but had a view with character overlooking the narrow street below.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as a group of 12 (so had 4 rooms). Hotel rooms were very average, shower was very old and weak, and rooms did not feel clean. However, the location was absolutely fabulous right in the main tourist area of Sorrento close to markets and restaurants. Great terrace for breakfast as well. Staff were helpful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 578cassc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

you would expect 3 stars hotel not to have hairs from previous gests at the shower, you would expect 3 stars hotel in Italy not to serve coffee from a machine but to make a goof cappuccino. the location is very good, the stuff are ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Short walk from the train station, right in the heart of the city center made this hotel a great choice to stay for 3 nights. Staff were so friendly and welcoming both in the morning and at night. Had a room with a small balcony which made it so fun to watch all the activity of the narrow street of shops and cafes below us. It was not noisy and I would highly recommend getting a room with the balcony. One night we brought food up to the top terrace and ate while watching the beautiful sunset. Breakfast was typical Italian but in such a fantastic setting! Ate outside on the 2nd floor street terrace! We had been in Italy for 18 days and were thrilled to see the hotel had a washer and dryer! (8 Euro, less than a laundrymat.) This is a family run place filled with charming little spots to rest and relax and we highly recommend staying here! (Luca and Imma were so helpful and have 2 beautiful daughters!)

Room Tip: Stay on the narrow street side in a room with a balcony. It is NOT noisy, close the shutters and it...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
#77 of 100 in Sorrento
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Corso

Address: Corso Italia 134, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £66 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Corso 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel del Corso is located in Sorrento, nearby the central Piazza Tasso, 100 mt. from the Train and Bus Station, and only 10 min. walking from the port, where boats leave to Napoli, Capri, and the other islands of the Gulf. Furtermore the beach of Marina Piccola is only 150 mt. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Corso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Corso Hotel
Del Corso Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing