We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Royal and Sorrento”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grand Royal and Sorrento”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed with family and missus at the Grand Royal Hotel in Sorrento and was impressed with the hotel. We stayed on a half board basis and found the hotel to be very clean with all mod cons, bathroom cleaned daily, towels changed daily too. The hotel is Grand probably on a par with some 5 star hotels in the UK and we found it to be smart, but certainly not pretentious in any way. Staff were fab and always on hand to help and assist. The food was simply delicious with plenty of choice on the menu. Simple dishes and more exotic ones with vegetarian options also. Beverage prices bit pricey (about 4-6 Euros for a small/large beer). The hotel views were extactly how they are shown in the brochures. You have a port very close by which is not at all noisey, taking tourists to Capri and Ishcia (spelling) and craft stop at about 8pm anyway. You have a great view of Vesuvius in the distance and the bars and restaurants are a 10 -15 minute walk away (taking it easy). The evening attire is smart/casual in evenings. Breakfast was a buffet affair and was dazzling with anything and everything you wanted from cereals to pastries, to bacon, eggs, ham, and all kinds of fruits. There was a bottle of champagne on the go and replaced with a new one when empty. We snacked at lunch times and to be honest could have done without due to the breakfast. Excursions: Do not... i repeat DO NOT book with the travel agents. We hired private taxi which cost 50 euros an hour. We did 8 hours with a company called www.francescomarrapese.com. Frances took our booking and his business partner Luca drove us in a luxury Mercdes people carrier with plenty of room and air con. Luca acted as our guide and chauffeur and Luca's brother called Sacha (spelling) was our guide at Pompeii although he cost another 100 Euros but for an afternoon he made Pompeii come to life. We saw bemused tourists trying to listen through headphones and read from guide books, but we had a knowledgable and highly educated local that brought the story and its history to life. I would fully recommend this company and the extra cost of the guide. For our 50 Euros an hour we took the Amalfi drive along the coast with breath-taking views and stopped off for photo opportunities along the way. We stopped off at Amalfi itself and Positano (stunning town), before going to Ravello (admittedly we didnt see much of Ravello, but we drove on then to Pompeii where we were personally met by the Luca's brother Sacha. We spent 400 Euros on the chauffeur itself and an extra 100 euros for the guide - between 4 of us. Expensive yes, but worth it. Thomson were charging an average of £50 per person, per trip. Although arguably you would have had longer in each place as it would have been a full day trip. We took the Hydro-foil at the base of our hotel to the Island of Capri on another day and WOW what a place. Do take the chair lift to the top of Capri from the town centre it takes about 10 mins, but shows stunning views and you can see why it was such a strategic point during WW2. Boutique shops and lovely restaurants and smaller cafes on Capri. My wife and myself fully intend to return one day and we are people that say we wont go back to the same place twice, as the world is large enough. BTW for our trips with Luca we thought 50 euros an hour was a lot at first but the hotel is more expensive and so were Thomson and yet we got to see a lot in a day. Feel free to email me any questions - I will answer as honestly as I can.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cymruguy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    289
    79
    26
    16
See reviews for
350
917
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Great breakfast too, although we didn't have dinner there. The staff was super helpful, arranging for various services and taking care of all of our requests. We stayed on the top floor (6) and t he view across to Vesuvius, Capri and Ischia was without equal. Throw in the marvelous tiled floors and you've got the perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santino49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I stayed at the above hotel for 2 weeks from May 6 2011. My mother and I had booked this hotel a year ago and have been going to Sorrento for 20 years staying in the best 5* hotels to some very good 3*. We have stayed in all their other hotels and were so looking forward to the elegant fine dining with attention to detail re service and food that would put all the other hotels in Sorrento to shame. Alas, this did not happen. The hotel trades on it's former glory and has introduced a commercial aspect of Weddings - we had 3 in one week which affected the service, the facilities and indeed the food for those paying guests. The staff could not cope and one evening they were so tired that it took them 2 1/2 hrs to serve us and we had 10 staff members trying to figure out our order. Having to write this pains me as I had been dreaming about this experience and was so disappointed that I feel sad. Though, we tried to soldier on and in the end due to food poisoning we had to avoid the restaurant. The food in my opinion is processed and we also had to suffer the left overs from the weddings. The hotel will always retain it's view but other hotels also have that view and they will no doubt try to trade on its' former glory!

Room Tip: Chaplins Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melonie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

3 weddings in 1 week, poor food, treated second class .went as la carte with thomson, paid £700 for room upgrade only to watch weddings, put in room 600 next to the twin lift shaft with its braking system , bang bang bang from 5.30am to mid night. wedding prep started at 9am till 1pm then 350 noisey screaming wedding guets till 10pm then the noise to remove all the tables etc. the weddings had taken over 75% of the terrace area and you just get the pool area and snack bar to use. the private beach area was only half open with work men banging and crashing all day. we were given the second class restaurant to eat in for breakfast and dinner when the weddings were on. had to wait 45mins to order food. staff given the day off to prepare for the weddings which meant there was no staff to feed the paying guests in the evening. no bar tarriff in the hotel, 6 euros for a small beer. no life saving eqipment at the pool area. it may have been ok early season but it is now wedding season, if you can go to another hotel GO GO GO.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orrid_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Hotel is very classically European, immcaulately clean and with helpful, friendly, courteous staff. Our room was good, with an amzing view over the Bay of Naples towards Vesuvius.

We were on Half Board and though food was okay, it was by no means outstanding which is unforgivable in Italy. Wine list was okay and reasonably priced, although 6 euros for a large Beer is unjustified. Paying for Wi-fi is also frustrating.

All in all though I woudl return

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franb041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed for a week at the beginning of May, and had a very good holiday. The hotel is very well located - a 4 minute walk from the train/bus station, on the cliff top, and only a couple of inutes from the nearest shops. The gardens and patio area are very well maintained, from where there is the most wonderful view across the Bay of Naples. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the dining room was a lovely place to start the day. Our room at the front of the hotel was spacious and comfortable - the trafffic didnt disturb us between 7pm-7am, but was a bit noisy during the day.The rooms at the back, with a view over the garden and sea are quieter, but more expensive!
The bathroom was also quite spacious - we ha a shower and a bath, and was extremely clean. My only small complaint was that I found the bed rather hard, but my husband disagrees, and he was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashiraboppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Truly a lovely hotel. Outstanding service, food and rooms for the price paid. Lovely views from terrace. Great location its a lovely 5 min walk to the centre. Would most definitely recommend .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiem002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing