We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a very nice hotel . . . in 1985”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This was a very nice hotel . . . in 1985”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Coming back in to the hotel after a dinner in Sorrento was like walking into the lounge at a nursing home. The room was filled with old people sitting quietly on sofas upholstered in pastel floral patterns.

The hotel isn't terrible by any means. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is superb. The views and location are ideal. The grounds and pool area are very nice -- and the poolside bar had very good service.

Rooms and bathrooms are large by Italian standards, although the linens were worn and second-rate. We were disappointed in that our room was on the side of the hotel, so we did not get the true ocean view we had expected.

However, the hotel -- while in good condition -- is very dated. It definitely appeals to an older clientele (primarily from the UK it seemed). There is no fitness center nor anything else to indicate the 21st century has arrived. Nor is it an old classic hotel full of art and antiques. It's not a bad option, but I have to believe one can do better -- particularly for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpringbokGamecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    281
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
333
884
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

just arrived back-great hotel-we stayed on 6th floor which had a great view of vesuvious
All staff were very attentive professional and courteous though friendly .
rooms were a lovely size cleaned and linen changed daily
there were a couple of weddings when we were there but they didnt impact on our stay
its situated a short 10 minute walk into piazza tasso in a quiet location
its also a short walk to port for ferries to capri
i would definitley recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to sorrento

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamEnglandKag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

A grand hotel, in the heart of Sorrento. Easy walk to piazza tazzo..the heart of the city. We had a water view with balcony, two rooms. The room on the end on the hotel 315 was lovely and large, i found the room next to it to be half the size but equally as comfortable. If i went back, and i will, i would request and end room. The view of Naples was breathtaking. The pool and deck on the water front were great! The breakfast buffet was amazing, including a glass of champagne if you were so inclined, which the Lous were! My only disappointment was that they had scheduled tree removal work on the property during our stay. It was loud and disruptive to this beautiful, and what should have been peaceful, setting. But it definately wont stop me from going back. If you want a splurge, this is the place. Enjoy. Ciao!

Room Tip: And end room, water side, any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLous_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Justvreturned from a 5 night break at the Royal.We had a wonderful time and were delighted with the hotel.The staff were excellent-really attentive and service was really goodWe stayed B&B and the breakfast wasfantastic.The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable and we were pleased with our 'ghastly'room at the front overlooking the road! For us the best thing was the beautiful garden-lovely terrace and great pool.The walk into town was apleasant stroll and I would not want to be any closer to the town due to the noisy karaoke bar near Hotel Excelsior!There was only one wedding-Italian- during our stay but it ws lovely to see everyone in their finery!We didn't overdo the trips-a visit to pompeii and the Amalfi drive which we did using the local bus.One tip is to return from Positano/Amalfi on the ferry-lovely views as you approach Sorrento.We also enjoyed wtching the world go by down at the Marina Grande.We fully intend to return same time next year-not over busy and lovely weather without being too hot

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EveGlos_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed with family and missus at the Grand Royal Hotel in Sorrento and was impressed with the hotel. We stayed on a half board basis and found the hotel to be very clean with all mod cons, bathroom cleaned daily, towels changed daily too. The hotel is Grand probably on a par with some 5 star hotels in the UK and we found it to be smart, but certainly not pretentious in any way. Staff were fab and always on hand to help and assist. The food was simply delicious with plenty of choice on the menu. Simple dishes and more exotic ones with vegetarian options also. Beverage prices bit pricey (about 4-6 Euros for a small/large beer). The hotel views were extactly how they are shown in the brochures. You have a port very close by which is not at all noisey, taking tourists to Capri and Ishcia (spelling) and craft stop at about 8pm anyway. You have a great view of Vesuvius in the distance and the bars and restaurants are a 10 -15 minute walk away (taking it easy). The evening attire is smart/casual in evenings. Breakfast was a buffet affair and was dazzling with anything and everything you wanted from cereals to pastries, to bacon, eggs, ham, and all kinds of fruits. There was a bottle of champagne on the go and replaced with a new one when empty. We snacked at lunch times and to be honest could have done without due to the breakfast. Excursions: Do not... i repeat DO NOT book with the travel agents. We hired private taxi which cost 50 euros an hour. We did 8 hours with a company called www.francescomarrapese.com. Frances took our booking and his business partner Luca drove us in a luxury Mercdes people carrier with plenty of room and air con. Luca acted as our guide and chauffeur and Luca's brother called Sacha (spelling) was our guide at Pompeii although he cost another 100 Euros but for an afternoon he made Pompeii come to life. We saw bemused tourists trying to listen through headphones and read from guide books, but we had a knowledgable and highly educated local that brought the story and its history to life. I would fully recommend this company and the extra cost of the guide. For our 50 Euros an hour we took the Amalfi drive along the coast with breath-taking views and stopped off for photo opportunities along the way. We stopped off at Amalfi itself and Positano (stunning town), before going to Ravello (admittedly we didnt see much of Ravello, but we drove on then to Pompeii where we were personally met by the Luca's brother Sacha. We spent 400 Euros on the chauffeur itself and an extra 100 euros for the guide - between 4 of us. Expensive yes, but worth it. Thomson were charging an average of £50 per person, per trip. Although arguably you would have had longer in each place as it would have been a full day trip. We took the Hydro-foil at the base of our hotel to the Island of Capri on another day and WOW what a place. Do take the chair lift to the top of Capri from the town centre it takes about 10 mins, but shows stunning views and you can see why it was such a strategic point during WW2. Boutique shops and lovely restaurants and smaller cafes on Capri. My wife and myself fully intend to return one day and we are people that say we wont go back to the same place twice, as the world is large enough. BTW for our trips with Luca we thought 50 euros an hour was a lot at first but the hotel is more expensive and so were Thomson and yet we got to see a lot in a day. Feel free to email me any questions - I will answer as honestly as I can.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cymruguy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Great breakfast too, although we didn't have dinner there. The staff was super helpful, arranging for various services and taking care of all of our requests. We stayed on the top floor (6) and t he view across to Vesuvius, Capri and Ischia was without equal. Throw in the marvelous tiled floors and you've got the perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santino49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I stayed at the above hotel for 2 weeks from May 6 2011. My mother and I had booked this hotel a year ago and have been going to Sorrento for 20 years staying in the best 5* hotels to some very good 3*. We have stayed in all their other hotels and were so looking forward to the elegant fine dining with attention to detail re service and food that would put all the other hotels in Sorrento to shame. Alas, this did not happen. The hotel trades on it's former glory and has introduced a commercial aspect of Weddings - we had 3 in one week which affected the service, the facilities and indeed the food for those paying guests. The staff could not cope and one evening they were so tired that it took them 2 1/2 hrs to serve us and we had 10 staff members trying to figure out our order. Having to write this pains me as I had been dreaming about this experience and was so disappointed that I feel sad. Though, we tried to soldier on and in the end due to food poisoning we had to avoid the restaurant. The food in my opinion is processed and we also had to suffer the left overs from the weddings. The hotel will always retain it's view but other hotels also have that view and they will no doubt try to trade on its' former glory!

Room Tip: Chaplins Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melonie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing