We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food andservice let this hotel down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
whitehaven
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor food andservice let this hotel down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Splendid hotel, setting, features but food and service do not live up to standard. Our room outlook was not very pleasant either.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unclejohnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    271
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
317
839
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel last July for two weeks and I have only just got round to writing a review. It is a fabulous hotel - wonderful location, lovely rooms (don't worry about the noise from the road side rooms unless you leave your window open), and excellent food. But the main thing that has made us book again is the staff - fantastic - couldn't do enough to ensure you enjoyed your stay - and I have to single out the restaurant staff especially. When I didn't like the risotto, there was major concern! There wasn't anything wrong with the risotto - I just don't like it but thought I would try it on my first time to Italy! Due to the deserved popularity of this hotel, we have only managed to get a week in July, but are so looking forward to returning. Especially looking forward to meeting Antonino, Bruno and of course Franco again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaLawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I just returned from a vacation on the Amalfi Coast. Our trip started in Sorrento and we stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal. This is a five star Hotel posing as a four star. Everything about the Hotel was outstanding. The rooms were spotlessly clean and our balcony overlooked the Bay and the beautiful grounds. The staff at every level could not be more helpful. This was our first trip to this part of Italy and we had many questions. They were very gracious,and patient, and helped us with all our needs in Sorrento. The food in all the Hotel's restaurants was excellent, but I would be remiss if I did not comment especially about the breakfast. It was simply the best assortment of breakfast treats my wife and I have ever enjoyed. Vacations are supposed to be memorable and a Hotel like the Grand Royal works very hard to achieve that goal. It was an outstanding experience which we hope to enjoy again, and recommend highly to all our friends.
Marlene and Bill Laraia

Room Tip: Be sure to select a room with a balcony that has a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was my fourth holiday to Sorrento but my first at the Royal Hotel and it certainly won't be my last! This is an excellent four star hotel, which deserves to be five star. The location above the Marina is excellent and so close to the town centre. The views from the terrace across to Vesuvius are superb. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and even acknowledge you if they happen to pass you in the street. The food in the restaurant was good and varied, although the hot food at breakfast was not always as hot as one would like. The rooms are a very good size and well furnished. We had a room overlooking the main road, but had no problem at all with noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from ten days in glorious Sorrento.
We stayed at the Grand Royal which deserves more than 4 stars. It is a typical, traditional Italian hotel, spotlessly clean and very charming.
What makes this hotel so great are four things: the Location, very close to the centre of town and all the activity (shopping heaven); the uninterrupted Views over the bay of Naples to Vesuvius are breathtaking, glorious at sundown sipping your Campari; the Food is varied and delicious. We were half board and went into town for lunch, which was perfect; and lastly the Staff! From Serena at Reception, to the waiters in the restaurant and at the pool, right down to the lovely chambermaid - every staff member we met was always friendly, helpful and polite - often with a great sense of humour. Lovely people all of them - it must be all that sunshine!
We will definitely go back, but next time ask for a room with seaview. The rooms onto the via correale can be a little bit noisy if you sleep with the windows open. With the windows closed and aircon on no problem.
I would give a holiday in Sorrento at the Grand Royal 10 out of 10. A great base for touring the Amalfi coast.

Room Tip: A top seaview room has fabulous views over the Bay of Naples onto Vesuvius and is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The only good thing about this hotel was the staff and they were always polite and friendly. But the main problem with the hotel is that unless you pay for a sea view, your room will overlook a very, very busy main road....and 'very busy' is probably an understatement as it actually sounded like a race track at night. The sound of mopeds bombing up and down and people shouting most of the night made our stay miserable...due to the severe lack of sleep we were getting. Unfortunately, when you book either through a travel agent or the hotel directly, no one is going to be honest enough to tell you of this major disadvantage. So, unfortunately, we definitely wont be going back to this hotel or Sorrento either.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The rooms in this hotel are spacious and gorgeous, the views of the Bay of Naples are absolutely spectacular. The room furnishings are especially beatiful, all with matching inlaid wood for which the region is known. The seaward rooms have good-sized balconies that hold a bistro table and two chairs, perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and perhaps some cheese (purchased in town) after a day of touring and before dinner. The location is great, just a few minutes walk from the center of Sorrento and just down the hill from the train terminal (head straight for the bay and you will run smack into the hotel), no taxi required. Meals are more geared toward tour groups rather than individuals, but the breakfast is quite nice with a selection that can fortify you for a day of touring - the fresh fruit was particularly good. The staff is very helpful and friendly, especially Mario who once he learned my wife needed to eat gluten-free had special GF treats ready for her each morning. The grounds are lovely and the pool is large, the hotel is expensive but if you can afford it you probably will not be disappointed. The only drawback is that without the balcony door open, it got quite stuffy in the room - maybe because we were there in the spring the AC wasn't on yet? The weather was so nice this was not a big enough issue to ask for expanation or rectification (but did prevent a 5 star rating, and yes we knew that opening the door cut off the heat/AC) but it could be an issue in hot weather (I'm speculating). Room safes did not cost us extra as some have written, we just needeed to get the key for the safe from the desk (we had a seaview deluxe room). Not that you are likely to spend much time watching TV, but there was a better than average selection of channels for Americans in Europe.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing