We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and really bad”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good and really bad”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at 3 hotels on this trip. This was by far the worst. The front desk staff was rude and very unhelpful. The room was clean but very outdated decorations. All the linens (towels and bedding) were like sandpaper. We spent most of our time on the balcony because the view and the grounds of the hotel were wonderful. I just didn't want to turn around to be reminded of the yucky room we were paying a fortune for. We were in a premier, it was bad enough that I called the front desk when we walked in to make sure it was the right room and they said yes. The I called back again to try to upgrade and they were rude. I decided to just be happy and forget it. The ONLY nice person at the desk was Salvatore but he just wasn't that knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    277
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
326
867
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Grand Hotel Royal is certainly one of the best hotels we have ever visited. An outstanding feature is its situation on the cliff top overlooking the beautiful Bay of Naples.The rooms are clean and spacious and the facilities are excellent including the pool,the gardens and the swimming area on the decking below the hotel. The breakfasts are served in a lovely room overlooking the gardens and the range and quality of food are first class.

Another important factor.which does not apply to many hotels in Sorrento,is that the hotel is very near the centre of Sorrento and some good restaurants and is also close to the bus and rail stations,which is helpful if you plan to make independent visits to Pompeii and the Amalfi coast.

In order to avoid any misunderstandings,however,we would advise that you check the category of room between classic,superior and de luxe,particularly if a sea view is important to you.

Room Tip: As mentioned above decide whether your budget runs to a sea view or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derek y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have been on the road (plane and train) for a few weeks and felt exhausted. We decided to go to Sorrento and relax. The Grand Hotel Royal is absolutely brilliant if you want to unwind in beautiful surroundings. You are on the cliff top overlooking the bay. The pool is great as is the private jetty and swimming area in the bay.
The rooms are very clean, tidy and spacious. Breakfasts are good and Patricia (on the egg station in the mornings) will cook you an omelette, scrambled eggs or organize poached eggs for you.
The location of the hotel is superb as are the facilities.
Come here and do nothing. Just relax, read, sleep, sunbathe, swim.......

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road (get one facing the bay). The road is busy and noisy. The rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was our first visit to Grand Hotel Royal and it was lovely. The hotel has that old fashioned, laid back charm with lovely decor, though the dining room could do with being toned down a bit! It's very mint green. The gardens are beautifully maintained and the pool is large with good sunbeds.

The staff are very helpful and attentive. A credit to the hotel.

Breakfast is limitless. If I stayed here again (which I would), I'd take a mug with me as the tea/coffee is self service in tiny teacups (not pots). That's just me though!

There is a vast array of cold mixed buffet style breakfast and omlettes/fried eggs cooked fresh to order, though you can request poached and they also were very good.

The evening meal was 3 course, 4 or 5 choices each. All served to you. There is a self service salad buffet. The meat/fish course was very acceptable but we tended to stick to fish as the meat choices, for us, were a little overcooked.

We had a sea view room which was large and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was small but well equipped. My only gripe was the shower curtain (which was clean - I just don't like shower curtains).

The hotel was an easy 5/10 min walk from Tasso Square though the road is quite busy so if you think you may be disturbed by traffic, it would be best to ask for a side or sea view room.

We stayed as a couple and on the whole, that seemed to sum up the main clientele. There were a few young children there though. The pool area didn't have a children zone but the jet pool area being shallower was being used for children. I didn't personally feel that the hotel had amenities suitable for young children but they were certainly catered for.

I don't know if there was a spa or gym area so cannot comment on this.

We would stay here again. It was good value and a lovely holiday overall.

Room Tip: The road adjacent is busy so if you think you may be disturbed, ask for a sea view or side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We just love this hotel. April 2012 was our fourth visit to Sorrento, which is a walkable contained small city. Location of a hotel is important to us, especially for a eight-night stay. This is our second stay at the Grand Royal and it was just as satisfying as in 2009. It's a quick walk from the hotel through Parco Lauro to Corso Italia - take a left on Corso Italia and you are in Piazza Tasso within 4-5 minutes.

Our room was very clean as well as the bathroom, bed linens were changed frequently, plus the room was quiet so we were able to sleep well and wake up rested in the a.m. The breakfast room is gorgeous and the food selection on the many tables is one of the best we ever experienced.

As far as the front desk staff (including the hotel manager) and the rest of the hotel staff, they are/were professional, attentive to all our requests, all the while a pleasant demeanor. We were a part of four adults, and it was such a pleasant end to our day to have a night cap at the hotel bar. The bartender, Gennaro is a special person. He was the "icing on the cake" at the end of every busy day for four American tourists!

The grounds of the Grand Royal are splendid! The gardens are well-kept and colorful, the pool is huge, wisteria vines cover lattice work that shades a sunny area. The interior is furnished with lovely overstuffed furniture without having a formal affect - it's really quite cozy in the parlors.

What's not to like? We will certainly book at the Grand Royal Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DameKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal with a group of 17 people for 5 nights. From arrival to departure, the staff at reception, the bar and in the dining room could not do enough for us. Great charm and personality, accommodating every wish and very engaging. The Hotel was absolutely spotless! the rooms are comfortable and the balconies great in size. The food was outstanding, location perfect and the whole property very well maintained. I have stayed in top 5 star Hotels that don't rate nearly as highly as the Grand Royal. it is the people that make an experience and every staff member ensured we got heaps of good service in abundance. A truly wonderful stay and i hope to return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and take the sea facing rooms - the views of the Bay of Naples are wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is our 4th stay at this hotel and it never dissappoints. i thought i would write this review to inform about the single rooms. On this trip we were travelling with an eldrly relative and so required a single room or double for single occupancy. The price for the double was almost the same price for 2 persons on HB as it was for one. We were offered the single room option but struggled to find any information on the facilities (there is no metion of single rooms on the web site for Manniello Hotels). So, here it as - there are 2 single rooms in this hotel. They have been created by the division of one standard room. Each has a single bed and a balcony (213 has the larger balcony facing south, 214 faces east) bathroom with small bath and all the other usuals (mini bar, tv). 213 and 214 are situated on the south east corner of the hotel looking inland. The hotel is close to the road at this point so expect some road noise. i am a light sleeper and it didn't cause me a problem. Hope this helps the single traveller.

Room Tip: if you have never stayed here before it is nice to pay the premium for the sea view as long as you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Addman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing