We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely ROMANTIC!!!!!”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Sorrento is absolutely AMAZING, words can't describe, but I will try. The people are so nice we didn't have one person be rude to us tourists (we come from New Jersey). We celebrated our 10th Anniversary at the Grand Hotel Royal and the staff was extremely nice. The best location as far as a hotel goes. It was worth spending more to wake up to a sea view that I will remember forever.The people are so sweet everywhere the restaurants, staff, even the taxi drivers--courteous (try a cab in NY ). I thought the location was great to go to Capri which we did a couple of days and Amalfi Coast tours and close to Ravello and Positano. We took advantage of their beach deck and it was so relaxing(not all hotels have this, quite a luxury).We walked to the best restaurants in the area (great location of hotel)which was sweet each night in itself because after a couple of stops for gelatos and teas then we would be received by a very nice staff each time. My only suggestion was during breakfast, no one offered an espresso or cappuccino, but I think there were a lot of guests and the staff maybe was overwhelmed. I just want to be pampered on my second Honeymoon.
Thank You for the wonderful MEMORIES!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nayri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We loved it. We have no complaint whatsoever on this great hotel. Perfect location, great hospitality, super clean. it is worth the money. Sorrento itself is magnificent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the stree is as good as the ones facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at 3 hotels on this trip. This was by far the worst. The front desk staff was rude and very unhelpful. The room was clean but very outdated decorations. All the linens (towels and bedding) were like sandpaper. We spent most of our time on the balcony because the view and the grounds of the hotel were wonderful. I just didn't want to turn around to be reminded of the yucky room we were paying a fortune for. We were in a premier, it was bad enough that I called the front desk when we walked in to make sure it was the right room and they said yes. The I called back again to try to upgrade and they were rude. I decided to just be happy and forget it. The ONLY nice person at the desk was Salvatore but he just wasn't that knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Grand Hotel Royal is certainly one of the best hotels we have ever visited. An outstanding feature is its situation on the cliff top overlooking the beautiful Bay of Naples.The rooms are clean and spacious and the facilities are excellent including the pool,the gardens and the swimming area on the decking below the hotel. The breakfasts are served in a lovely room overlooking the gardens and the range and quality of food are first class.

Another important factor.which does not apply to many hotels in Sorrento,is that the hotel is very near the centre of Sorrento and some good restaurants and is also close to the bus and rail stations,which is helpful if you plan to make independent visits to Pompeii and the Amalfi coast.

In order to avoid any misunderstandings,however,we would advise that you check the category of room between classic,superior and de luxe,particularly if a sea view is important to you.

Room Tip: As mentioned above decide whether your budget runs to a sea view or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derek y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have been on the road (plane and train) for a few weeks and felt exhausted. We decided to go to Sorrento and relax. The Grand Hotel Royal is absolutely brilliant if you want to unwind in beautiful surroundings. You are on the cliff top overlooking the bay. The pool is great as is the private jetty and swimming area in the bay.
The rooms are very clean, tidy and spacious. Breakfasts are good and Patricia (on the egg station in the mornings) will cook you an omelette, scrambled eggs or organize poached eggs for you.
The location of the hotel is superb as are the facilities.
Come here and do nothing. Just relax, read, sleep, sunbathe, swim.......

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road (get one facing the bay). The road is busy and noisy. The rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was our first visit to Grand Hotel Royal and it was lovely. The hotel has that old fashioned, laid back charm with lovely decor, though the dining room could do with being toned down a bit! It's very mint green. The gardens are beautifully maintained and the pool is large with good sunbeds.

The staff are very helpful and attentive. A credit to the hotel.

Breakfast is limitless. If I stayed here again (which I would), I'd take a mug with me as the tea/coffee is self service in tiny teacups (not pots). That's just me though!

There is a vast array of cold mixed buffet style breakfast and omlettes/fried eggs cooked fresh to order, though you can request poached and they also were very good.

The evening meal was 3 course, 4 or 5 choices each. All served to you. There is a self service salad buffet. The meat/fish course was very acceptable but we tended to stick to fish as the meat choices, for us, were a little overcooked.

We had a sea view room which was large and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was small but well equipped. My only gripe was the shower curtain (which was clean - I just don't like shower curtains).

The hotel was an easy 5/10 min walk from Tasso Square though the road is quite busy so if you think you may be disturbed by traffic, it would be best to ask for a side or sea view room.

We stayed as a couple and on the whole, that seemed to sum up the main clientele. There were a few young children there though. The pool area didn't have a children zone but the jet pool area being shallower was being used for children. I didn't personally feel that the hotel had amenities suitable for young children but they were certainly catered for.

I don't know if there was a spa or gym area so cannot comment on this.

We would stay here again. It was good value and a lovely holiday overall.

Room Tip: The road adjacent is busy so if you think you may be disturbed, ask for a sea view or side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We just love this hotel. April 2012 was our fourth visit to Sorrento, which is a walkable contained small city. Location of a hotel is important to us, especially for a eight-night stay. This is our second stay at the Grand Royal and it was just as satisfying as in 2009. It's a quick walk from the hotel through Parco Lauro to Corso Italia - take a left on Corso Italia and you are in Piazza Tasso within 4-5 minutes.

Our room was very clean as well as the bathroom, bed linens were changed frequently, plus the room was quiet so we were able to sleep well and wake up rested in the a.m. The breakfast room is gorgeous and the food selection on the many tables is one of the best we ever experienced.

As far as the front desk staff (including the hotel manager) and the rest of the hotel staff, they are/were professional, attentive to all our requests, all the while a pleasant demeanor. We were a part of four adults, and it was such a pleasant end to our day to have a night cap at the hotel bar. The bartender, Gennaro is a special person. He was the "icing on the cake" at the end of every busy day for four American tourists!

The grounds of the Grand Royal are splendid! The gardens are well-kept and colorful, the pool is huge, wisteria vines cover lattice work that shades a sunny area. The interior is furnished with lovely overstuffed furniture without having a formal affect - it's really quite cozy in the parlors.

What's not to like? We will certainly book at the Grand Royal Hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DameKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £171 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing