We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent ten days at this hotel in June. It is in the most stunning peaceful location, overlooking The Bay of Naples and just a short walk from Sorrento town. The rooms are large by Italian standards and well maintained and beautifully clean. The hotel itself is set in beautiful immaculate grounds with very nicely maintained and luxurious surroundings inside the building itself. The professionalism and attention to detail of the staff cannot be faulted, they were more than helpful in every way and nothing was too much trouble. We are light sleepers and our room was very quiet and peaceful and of course the view was absolutely amazing. We went to the hotel on a half board package where the only upgrade available was for a side sea view. However, our room was upgraded to one overlooking the bay which was a very nice touch. We found the food excellent, the breakfasts particularly couldn't be faulted and there was only once I didn't particularly enjoy my dinner (main course), but I think that was just personal taste and preference, there was nothing wrong with it really. Like a previous reviewer I was slightly miffed that we had to pay for the safe and also wireless internet access but I think this is common in Italy so this wasn't a great surprise. The pool and beach access did close at 6 and that time could do with extending somewhat even if it was only by an hour. If the hotel would splash out and change these rules I think it would be perfect, it could easily be done by very slightly amending the price of a week's holiday without anybody really noticing and it would be a big plus for customer service. However, having said this, I must say I would go back to the hotel again tomorrow. We had such a lovely holiday and I would recommend it to anybody but families with children. It wasn't realy a suitable place to take kids, but great for couples. I have rated this properly excellent, I think it was a bit better than "Very Good" and the small complaints I have do not warrant dropping the ratings I don't think, but the hotel would do well to address them. I recommend this hotel should you want a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with good service, friendly staff and very good food.

Room Tip: Get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggieofbirches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    270
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
316
835
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Just returned with my wife from a week at the Grand Hotel Royal and thoroughly enjoyed our first stay in Sorrento. Lovely hotel with old fashioned charm and service but with all the mod cons. To all the reviewers who complain about paying for wifi, room safes and dressing gowns all I can say is that you need to book direct with the hotel and all these are included. We looked at booking with Thomson but they would only do half board, which we didn't want, and none of the previously mentioned services were included so we booked flights with Thomson, and the room direct through the hotel website on a b&b basis for a sea view room. We also booked the hotel's own transfers from Naples airport and back which initially look expensive at €95 each way but were the height of luxury in an air conditioned Mercedes. The hotel package included one nights dinner which can be used for the restaurant or the highly recommended gala buffet on the terrace and overall with transfers worked out much better value, saving us the equivalent of €95 per night for food out in Sorrento's many restaurants.
We requested and got a top, 6th floor room away from the lift (616) with magnificent views over the bay of Naples and with our large bed facing the French windows it only took a touch of a bedside button to raise the electric shutters and provide a magnificent wake up view of Mount Versuvius. Breakfast was superb and the omelettes cooked to order by the lovely Patrizia were a highlight. We did a lot of trips to Herculaneum, Pompei and Capri but also really enjoyed sunbathing and swimming from the hotel's sea deck at the base of the cliff reached by lift or rather scarey steps and tunnel and were looked after with food and drinks by the ever smiling Francesco at the beach bar. Salvatore and Stefano also provided wonderful service at the front desk and were always happy to provide info about train and boat trips etc. Only minor grumble would be the Sea deck closing at 6pm and the pool at 6:30pm but going up early for a glass of wine on our balcony watching the sun set over Capri was no hardship!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

There is no question this is a classically stunning property. The grounds are lush and opulent. The architecture is classical and breath taking. The rooms are large by european standards and the location is just a couple of minutes away from the square so its not loud at night. It is obvious from the second you walk in the door that this is not your average hotel in any way. That's why a couple of things really bother me about the Grand Hotel Royal. Perhaps other hotels do the same thing, I dont really know. But after a long day of touring in 90 degree weather, nothing feels as good as a swim in the sea. At this hotel you better be back in time to take a swim in either the pool or the sea by 6PM. Why should I have to rush back to the hotel to accomodate their schedule?.They should be accomodating the guests and keep the pool and beach area open until at least 7:30 PM. That's 2 people at more than likely minimum wage to keep a hotel full of people happy. That my big grip. My little gripe is paying to use the computers in the lobby area and to pay for the safe in my room. At this pricepoint, that is a bad management decision. The other reviewers are right. Too many rules at this hotel. Yes it is stunning, and well run. But I for one would not come back unless the rules are changed at the swimming areas. ALso the food is good but overpriced. Breakfast was included for us and there are no complaints there. The best breakfast we had in Italy at a hotel! Go out for dinner unless you cant find the view! which is stunning. The crowd here is definatley 50's plus, if that matters to you. If they changed a couple of things here my stay would have been perfect, but now I feel slightly dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal. We liked it so much in 2010 that we came back again this year. Everything in the hotel is clean and updated, but it retains that charm of an old "grand hotel" and makes us feel very welcomed and well-taken-care-of. The other visitors tend to be mostly on the older side and hailing from English-speaking nations, but there were also some families and younger couples and people from France, Germany, Russia, etc. In general, other guests were friendly, but reserved, and not at all rowdy. The location is great, in a quiet area just a short walk into the center of town, but also close to the train station, supermarket, an atm, etc. The staff is very helpful, friendly, and courteous. Although the staff all speak English well, they responded very positively(and patiently) to our attempts to converse in Italian. The rooms are kept very clean and are nicely decorated with inlaid wooden furniture and painted floor tiles characteristic of the region. The breakfast spread is pretty amazing, with anything that anyone could possibly want for breakfast, (though we noticed that this year self-serve coffee and teapots replaced the waiter-served morning beverages, but don't be afraid to ask a server to bring a cappuccino; he will be happy to oblige). All the food we had at the hotel, in fact, was great. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner and the small cafe beside the "beach" (a private dock with a ladder into the sea-- Sorrento doesn't have much beach, mostly cliffs that go straight into the water) for lunch. The hierloom-like local tomatoes used for the Caprese salad at the "beach" were especially wonderful. The hotel grounds are lovely, filled with flowers, delicious-smelling vines, and orange-lemon trees. The pool is nice and the private dock (complete with chairs, umbrellas, towels, and staff) and swimming in the sea below the cliff is great. Even though it is relatively close to the marina, the water is clean and there is now a line of little buoys to prevent boats from coming too close. Best of all are the views from the terrace- Vesuvius, Naples, Ischia, and Procida, etc. Breathtakingly beautiful, and, all in all, a lovely place to spend a holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea obviously have a much better view, but are more expensive. The others face eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here at the end of June,we where on our honeymoon.Nice touch with the basket of fruit in our room.The room we had with a sea view and terrace was wonderful.The hotel is just a short walk to the Piazza Tasso plus in a great location to base yourself to travel around the Amalfi coastline."Wish we had done this".The hotel puts on a great breakfast spread,and the lovely lady (did not get her name)cook's one of the best egg white omelette's.Over all this could be a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view,worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

we chose Sorrento for the wedding cerimony of our daughter and specifically the Grand Hotel Royal for offering a dinner to our guests. We also took three rooms for few nights. We must say that the organization, the kindness and the professionalism of the hotel staff was immaculate, spotless. Carlo (who was relentless in helping us with luggage), Mario ( the dining room master), Giuseppe (the hotel director) just to name few of the staff, worked very hard to organize, prepare and serve us and our guests an unforgettable evening between the sunny hotel terrazza and the beautifully pale-green dining room. Dont need to talk of the beauty of Sorrento and of the astonishing Gulf of Naples, where the good Lord (not the hotel !) served us a sun-set who let all the presents breathless. Just to remain factual, all worked perfect.
in regard to the room accomodation that we used, we must say that it was not the cheapest in Sorrento, but by far and large the ratio quality/price was the best we have ever experienced in many years of journeys: the Royal is rated 4 stars, if we are not wrong, but hotel features and staff professionalism deserve a 5 star rating, no doubts.

Room Tip: we booked rooms not on the sea side (which are more expensive). However, also the rooms "road-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincenzop187175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed in May and only just got around to writing the review.

This hotel is simply stunning, The views from the terraces and our bedroom were amazing.
Staff were also amazing,. Nothing too much trouble. Very professional in every way.

We paid extra for a full sea view and were not dissapointed. If you can afford it for a special occasion it is well worth it.

The food was good, but not perhaps every evening, but generally it was good. Just sometimes it was a little bland, but this is the only negative about the hotel. The Gala Buffet was very good. Also breakfast was really fabulous, Prosecco served every morning, what a treat. Lots of choices, omelettes were wonderful and cooked by a lovely smiley, charming lady.

But other than a couple of not so good meals a lovely hotel with a sense of Italian opulence but without the stuffines.

Well done Grand Royal

We would definatley go again.

Room Tip: If you can pay for a sea view, its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenix201109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, TravelUp, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing