We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to fault in this hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nothing to fault in this hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My Australian family and I (approximately 30 people) stayed at the Royal in May and also held a wedding reception at the hotel following our daughter's wedding in Positano. Everything was faultless. The staff are a joy to deal with, the location is ideal, the water views are spectacular, the gardens are beautiful, the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast caters for every taste and the hotel is convenient to all the main attractions. As for the wedding, the hotel arranged everything for us - transport, hairdressing and makeup, photographer, entertainment, a baby sitter when needed - and the staff put us in touch with an expert to deal with the wedding paperwork, both church and civil. The outdoor reception was perfect - aperitifs on the terrace as the sun set over the Bay, dinner in the hotel garden grotto with the lights of Naples in the distance, strolling mandolin and guitar players, top quality food, an amazing wedding cake and a singing Maitre de. The most enjoyable wedding reception my family and I have ever attended. Chris and family from Australia.

Room Tip: All rooms of every price are excellent. The main difference is whether or not you want a direct wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewJames2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Mr. Chris
We thank you to sharing your experience and all the staff is grateful for your really kind words, nothing can be more pleasant for us to know that you appreciate our job. The satisfaction of our guests is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our organization and also the romantic atmosphere on our Terrace.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the “Royal”.
Best regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    284
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
340
902
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. On the whole, it is a fairly decent place to stay. The room was clean and attractive, if a little dated. We had a land facing room on the 2nd floor with no real view to speak of, but we didn't find the road outside noisy or have any other problems with the room. As other people said, internet and usage of the safe were additional charges, and car parking was 20 euros a day.

The common areas of the hotel, breakfast room and restaurant etc. were much the same in terms of decor and cleanliness as the room. There is lots of space both inside and outside to sit and relax, although the bar drinks prices are rather steep. Having now experienced the hotel myself, I have to admit I find people using the words 'lush', 'luxurious' and 'opulent' to describe the place a little misleading - its clean and tidy throughout but looked like its last refurbishment was many years ago. I would say that the hotel quality was acceptable and fair for the price we paid (£500 each for 3 nights including BA flights in July). One definite asset to the hotel is its staff, whom I found to be extremely friendly and helpful at every opportunity.

During our stay we were able to use the pool and terrace until around 8pm which seems to contradict some previous reviews. The pool area itself was clean and tidy, although the loungers are quite old and don't go completely flat, and the one-towel-each restriction was a bit inconvenient. The hotel is situated on a cliff 30 metres above sea level; to get to the private seafront terrace you have to take an old, small and clunky lift all the way down a shaft built inside the cliff - a bit nail biting the first time but it does get you there!

The best thing about the hotel is the location, Sorrento centre is just a few minutes walk away. We dined in 3 different restaurants in the centre and each served excellent authentic Italian food. On one day we drove up to visit the Pompeii ruins (45 mins drive) which was fantastic, another day we took the ferry across to Capri for a wander, the port is reachable by foot from the hotel. One tip if you go to Capri, get yourself a taxi or bus from the port up to the main town centre to enjoy the spectacular views; the very steep and long footpath we climbed up is not a good idea to tackle in flip-flops!

One other tip - take some mosquito repellant and bite relief as we averaged 4 or 5 bites per day during our stay.

Overall a reasonable hotel in a great location, I would give it 3.5 stars but as I can't, I'll round up to a 4 as it was decent enough for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have just booked up yet again for a week at this hotel in September . We return to this hotel because it is so consistent . The reception staff are so professional and prompt. Check in only takes minutes and you are escorted to your room which is closely followed by your luggage. On one occasion we were not keen on the room given to us and wihout hesitation they actually showed us to several other rooms and gave us a choice. These infact were upgraded rooms. The rooms are furnished to a high standard. Breakfast is buffet style with a manned egg station where chefs will cook eggs to your preference . There is a vast choice of breakfast items. Evening meal is taken in a beautiful room with high ornate ceilings. You choose from a set menu which has ample choices and the food is superb. The waiters certainly know their job but will willingly engage in conversation especially Bout football. The maitre d antonio is so nice. The pool area is more than adequate and there is a jetty attached to the hotel which accessible via a lift. This is good as when it is really hot you can get a nice breeze from the water. It is actually situated in the bay of Naples and there is a marina with several boats coming and going. If you want peace and professionalism then visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to go for a sea view as the other rooms face onto a busy road. This is not a problem at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ib1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 days for our anniversary as an entree to the Amalfi coast. Hotel is just a few minutes from Circumvesuviana train station (and bus) on a quiet street. Amazing views of Naples bay, Sorrento marina, and Vesuvius. Sorrento center is bustling but convenient (5-10 minute walk); not isolated like the "picturesque" towns on the Amalfi coast. Hotel and service is first class.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if you can get one...so book ahead or not high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My husband and I spent 10 nights at the Royal in July. Having previously visited Sorrento and stayed at the Grand Hotel De La Ville (part of the same hotel group), we had already seen the lovely terraces and pool at the Royal and had spent a day down on the 'beach' (bathing platform). That experience had prompted us to opt for a full sea view room, and it was lovely to wake up to the fantastic view of the bay through the palm trees in the gardens. We found all the staff very friendly and the food of a very high quality. We were aware of the charges for the safe and the internet - as another reviewer has commented, both quite common costs in Italy sadly, not exclusive to the Royal, so it is just a question of grin and bear them or go elsewhere! Don't let such things put you off - the hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: Enjoy a sea view if possible. NB rooms on the road side can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal for one week early May 2012 and it is a beautiful hotel. We had a room overlooking the mountains which were lovely in the evenings with all the lights on the hillside. Our room was opposite lemon and orange groves which were open to the public and well worth a visit. Also the lovely museum at the end of our road which stands proud facing the hotel. We were on a Thomson holiday and were well looked after. There were trips out to Capri which was crowded out even in early May which did spoil it somewhat. We were glad that we had gone but it was a real toil of a day and the ride up to Anna Capri was a nightmare - much worse than the Amalfi Drive itself. Take the open top red bus in Sorrento and visit Massa Labrensa and walk down to the sea down the quiet little road past lemon groves - it's beautiful! Then walk back up the hill to the square and have a coffee at one of the little cafes. Visit the Intarsia ware museum - inlaid wood - there are some beautiful pieces of furniture in there. In fact our hotel room furniture was all inlaid wood and very pretty.

Room Tip: Don't spend a fortune on a sea-view room. The beautiful terrace looks across the Bay of Naples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaskell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent ten days at this hotel in June. It is in the most stunning peaceful location, overlooking The Bay of Naples and just a short walk from Sorrento town. The rooms are large by Italian standards and well maintained and beautifully clean. The hotel itself is set in beautiful immaculate grounds with very nicely maintained and luxurious surroundings inside the building itself. The professionalism and attention to detail of the staff cannot be faulted, they were more than helpful in every way and nothing was too much trouble. We are light sleepers and our room was very quiet and peaceful and of course the view was absolutely amazing. We went to the hotel on a half board package where the only upgrade available was for a side sea view. However, our room was upgraded to one overlooking the bay which was a very nice touch. We found the food excellent, the breakfasts particularly couldn't be faulted and there was only once I didn't particularly enjoy my dinner (main course), but I think that was just personal taste and preference, there was nothing wrong with it really. Like a previous reviewer I was slightly miffed that we had to pay for the safe and also wireless internet access but I think this is common in Italy so this wasn't a great surprise. The pool and beach access did close at 6 and that time could do with extending somewhat even if it was only by an hour. If the hotel would splash out and change these rules I think it would be perfect, it could easily be done by very slightly amending the price of a week's holiday without anybody really noticing and it would be a big plus for customer service. However, having said this, I must say I would go back to the hotel again tomorrow. We had such a lovely holiday and I would recommend it to anybody but families with children. It wasn't realy a suitable place to take kids, but great for couples. I have rated this properly excellent, I think it was a bit better than "Very Good" and the small complaints I have do not warrant dropping the ratings I don't think, but the hotel would do well to address them. I recommend this hotel should you want a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with good service, friendly staff and very good food.

Room Tip: Get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggieofbirches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing