We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just got back from wonderful holiday in Sorrento and wish we could go back! We stayed at The Grand Hotel Royal and just loved it. Our rooms were spacious, although they were two triple rooms, spotless and very comfortable. We have four children ranging from 5 to 12 years and was pleasantly surprised at how welcome we were made to feel. The hotel is bit glamourous but without any pretentiousness. Staff were so friendly and nothing was a problem. Loved that we could order drinks and ice cream by the pool, although I think we got a bit carried away with this luxury when we got our bill at the end! The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance to the town with all its restaurants and shops. I can safely say that all the restaurants had delicious food (and we're fussy eaters with Italian backgrounds) so do go and explore the town. Everywhere we turned there were beautiful little restaurants tucked away in corners. We finished every evening with a visit to the ice cream parlour near to the hotel. Visited Capri on a boat - loved it! Stunning views and again, people were so friendly and loved window shopping at the super expensive shops. The holiday was finished off with a fantastic taxi driver taking us back to the airport and filling us in on the history of Sorrento, Capri, Italy, Pizza etc... you name he knew it. Fantastic place, fantastic hotel, great people and would recommend it to anyone - Including families with young children!

Room Tip: try and get a room with sea views, although views of the street are not so bad as it's great to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritz230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannielloHotels, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Guests,
We thank you so much for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Royal on Tripadvisor.
We have appreciated your positive comments about the rooms, the great location of the hotel, and the kindness of the whole staff.
We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests.
Please, be free to e-mail or contact us for any further information or assistance you may require.
With our kindest regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned last night from The Grand Hotel Royal, we spent four nights in a 6th Floor Sea View room. The Hotel had a wonderful Old World Charm but with modern facilities. Check in was easy and very friendly even though it was 10pm, the concierge met us in our room with our cases and opened the roller shutter to the balcony where we were met with a fantastic view of the sea and all the lights from the towns opposite. Room service was quick and easy to order. The breakfast was a pastry delight, but with plenty of choices if you dont want cakes for breakfast! The pool area was nice and quiet and at no time did we struggle to find sun loungers even though we didnt go to pool area until after lunch. Food at the pool side snack bar was very good and it was not your usual snack type of service with full waiter service. The hotel was a 5 minute gentle stroll into the main Tasso Square but was lovely and quiet. I would recommend you pay a little extra for the sea views as it could be a liitle noisier with the road view. Would go back tomorrow if I could and I usually find fault everywhere. Had a fabulous honeymoon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 616 which was top floor with amazing views of the bay and Mount Vesuvius opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannielloHotels, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Guests,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the hotel and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the location, the rooms and services in general.
The satisfaction of our guests is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again in the “Royal”.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My new husband and I stayed here after a four night stay in Rome, the hotel is everything its name says, it is Grand and Royal. The checkin was seamless and fast and we were in our suite overlooking the sea in no time. The room was beaustiful and the view and balcony set up to die for. There was also a basket of fruit and a bottle of prosecco to toast us in our new life together! The bed was super comfy and they provided all the bath amenties you could ask for. There was also a in shower clothesline, which if you plan to do some washing is very convenient. The hotel had an AMAZING breakfast buffett served in a beautiful sunny room right off the garden. The breakfast buffett (included in our stay) had anything and everything you could want, from prosecco for mimosas to an omelet bar and a whole table of just pastries, it will fill the needs of adults and children. They serve breakfast from 7-10am, which was great the day we had to be at our excursion at 7:45am. The pool area is perfect as well, a huge, very well taken care of pool area and it even included a mini hydromassage pool, which we saw a lot of families using this mini pool for a children's pool also. The whole area is surronded by lemon and orange trees (which occasionally dropped a surprise on someone sitting under the tree!) the pool area was always kept very clean and in good condition. The bathrooms and the shower by the pool area were also very clean. The hotel also has a private deck down at sea level if you care to soak up some sun or take a swim in the Sea. This area also has a snack bar and bathrooms, which were very clean as well. Towels were also available at the pool or Sea area. I can't comment on the dinners because we went out every night, but the lunch at the area by the pool overlooking the sea were delicious and we were never disappointed. The hotel was centrally located and an easy walk to the center of Sorrento. We would definitely stay here again and we are so glad that we chose this hotel for our Honeymoon stay in Sorrento. It is classy, sophisticated and extremely inviting. Do yourself a favor and stay here when you come to Sorrento!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Sea and the Bay of Naples have a view of Mt. Vesuvius, amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaywardWander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannielloHotels, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Guests,
You have been so nice to describe your stay with such magnificent words and we are so glad that you have appreciated your experience.
We are pleased for all your kind words about the room, our swimming pool with a hidro-massage pool and spacious sun deck, the breakfast, and it is a pleasure to know that you have appreciated our location and services.
We really hope to welcome again at the “Royal” and in the meantime we remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We just got back from Sorrento two days ago and are ready to return! When we do, we will certainly stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. We had just spent a few crazy days in Paris and Rome, and after a long day of traveling (including the circumvesuviana strike) we thought we were in heaven arriving in Sorrento. We flagged a taxi at the train station and were politely told by the young driver he would be happy to take us for about 15 euro or we could walk about 5 minutes directly across from the train station and arrive at the hotel. It was so easy, we almost didn't believe it. "Grande" is missing from the hotel sign so we walked a little to make sure it really was THAT easy. We had a large room and bathroom with beautiful tile work. The towels are large and soft! Our room faced the street and small park. The street is never busy and we only heard a dog barking on occasion in the park. The staff was very friendly and remembered us each day we returned our key to the desk for safe keeping. Each morning we enjoyed breakfast in the dining room and felt like we were in a 1920's movie. The decor and white jacketed waiters are reminiscent of that era. There was a very sweet lady making eggs to order and the buffet seems endless. I was shocked to see you could even make your own mimosas! We spent a majority of our time at the beach (bathing platform). It accessible by a long path down the cliff or the "lift" that has a note posted to stay calm if it happens to stop, it should eventually go to the next level. The man working the beach bar was very attentive and helpful each day. The area was always clean and did not seem over crowded. It seems that most of the children go to the pool so the beach was very relaxing. The location makes it easy to get into the busier parts of town where you will find churches, restaurants, and shops. We spent each evening on the terrace overlooking the cliff with a bottle of wine (from The Corner Store). There were fireworks over the water each night we were there. Our last night, we made sure to get home in time to watch the sunset over the harbor, with Vesuvius just across the water.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to make sure you get a larger room! We really enjoyed the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellasMom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannielloHotels, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Guest,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the "Royal" and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the location, the rooms, the breakfast atmosphere, the staff attention towards you and services in general.
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the “Royal”; it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied.
I really appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you also in the future.
Best Regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The hotel is very well positioned near to the town, and its well appointed gardens and pool area overlook the bay of Naples. The staff are friendly, in particular Salvatore who was very attentive and helpful. The premises are overall very clean, and although some areas need a spruce up, in the main very well maintained and presented in a typical Italian traditional style.

The food at breakfast was varied and fresh, and we ate once in gardens overlooking the bay one evening, which was very pleasurable with excellent food. But there are some excellent and cheaper restaurants in town, so go explore.

If I were to pick up on any negative points: The air con the room (113) was a little lacking in power, whilst cold it needed more power in the fan. I did report it but the engineer said it was fine. The pool got busy, and lots of early morning risers depositing towels on the best beds, despite the signs telling you not to carry out this practice, you have to accept people will and do.

Overall not the best Sorrento Hotel we have used, but certainly we were very happy with the overall experience and worthy of its status in the ratings and therefore considering as an option.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, ours was ‘of the city’ which was not the greatest view (side street and an apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1971_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannielloHotels, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Guests,
We thank you so much to have had the time to write about your recent stay at the Royal.
We are pleased for all your kind words about the hotel location, the pool aerea, the hotel staff, the food and it is a pleasure to know that you have appreciated our services.
To the other hand, concerning the problem with the air conditioning, we think that maybe you left the balcony open and in that case the air conditioning does not work.
We value every feedback, be it positive or negative, as it helps us to improve every day.
We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.
Kind regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Have just returned from a week here with my family and extended family. It is a clean and tidy hotel with a good level of customer service. We liked the buffet night (Monday's) where you can eat outside on the terrace, however would have liked this more often. The meals in the main restaurant (you can only use this on 1/2 board) were OK but I would have liked to see more Italian cooking. The problem lay with the pool area which needs some work. The paving is rather uneven and has weeds growing inbetween. They also need to provide more staff outside to help with tidying up the dirty towels and clearing away the drinks. The bathing terrace down by the sea is good but gets very busy. My mother was talking to a lady who quite brazenly admitted to being from another hotel but liked our facilities better so was coming here instead! This is quite irritating when you return from a day sightseeing and then struggle to find 4 sunbeds together!

Room Tip: Had a family room which was perfectly big enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loulouSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Very pleasant place to stay. High standards. Staff very considerative and caring. Great location. Excellent facilities and acommodation. Explendid view. Worth every Euro spent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rangelferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Mr. Ferreira,
Thank you for the wonderful review and the time you have taken to comment on Tripadvisor we truly appreciate it.
We are happy to hear that the service and the staff of the Hotel Royal were very good, we consider it very important.
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay, and look forward to having you back.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £174 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing