We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just returned yesterday from a 7 night stay at this hotel. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel over the last 10 years. Sometimes going back to a place you have enjoyed in the past can be a disappointment, but not this one. Just as good as it has always been. Fabulous views and rooms, lovely public areas, the swimming pool is fantastic and the outside space is beautiful and well maintained. We always opt for a full sea view on the 6th floor, fantastic, well worth paying the extra for. The staff are friendly and very helpful, nothing too much trouble. The location of the hotel is superb. You have the tranquil setting of the hotel at the rear with pool, gardens and beautiful view over the bay of Naples, yet you can walk to the busy Sorrento Centre in under 5 minutes, the train station (which we used to visit Pompeii) is 5 minutes walk, the buses also stop outside the train station (which we used to visit Positano and Amalfi) we got the hydrofoil back from Amalfi straight to Sorrento's port which again is only 10-15 minute walk from the hotel or you can use a bus to take you up the hill. The first two times we visited this hotel we came with our teenage sons and we all enjoyed it and this year we came as a couple and had a fabulous time. Suits all ages. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LichfieldKTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the "Royal" and we thank you so much for your loyalty and for all your compliments about the superb location, the faboulos view and rooms, the lovely public areas, the staff attention towards you and services in general.
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the “Royal”; it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied.
All the members of our staff, are so thankful and we really hope to welcome you soon again at the “Royal”.
Thank you for your loyalty and in the meantime, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
With our kindest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    281
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
333
882
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent 11 glorious days in Sorrento at the Royal an excellent hotel with spectacular views from our sea view balcony! The hotel was ideally situated for the centre of Sorrento where it is pleasantly bustling with visitors and residents.
Our room was spacious and clean and housekeeping excellent. We did have a few hiccups the first when we were inundated with ants following a day of heavy rain we reported it to reception before going into breakfast but on return to our room found they were still there my husband then went looking for the maid who promptly sorted the problem the second we asked at reception if we were able to have early breakfast the following day as we had early start on a trip to be told to mention this to dining room staff ourselves I felt this was the responsibility of the reception desk! This aside a super hotel and dining staff were fantastic the food was very good we are missing it already.Will be returning soon

Room Tip: Sea view a must the views are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Mrs. Pauline,
Thank you for the time you have taken to comment your stay with us.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you have appreciated the food, your room with its spectacular view and the hotel location.
To the other hand, concerning the problem with the early breakfast, we apologize and we will organize a meeting with the reception staff in order to ameliorate this aspect.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at the “Royal”, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
Kind regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just returned from two week holiday in Sorrento as a family group of 8. First visit for 3 couples and we were not disappointed. Hotel has fabulous central location, with simply superb grounds (must be the envy of other hotels). Staff couldn't be more helpful, whether reception, maids or bar staff. Rooms were immaculate and well maintained. This hotel is guaranteed to make your holiday special. Breakfast room was spacious and there was large selection, evening meals were excellent with lots of choice. During our stay there were 2 big weddings held in the hotel but this made to difference to the service we received, we credited this to the efficiency of the staff. We found food provided at lunchtime to be of high quality and of great value - perfect for days when you don't want to leave the hotel.

Special mention must go to Stefano on reception who was extremely efficient, friendly and helpful, Giacomo who gave excellent bar service and went the extra mile to get to know us, and Antonino who ensured our dining experience went without a hitch.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms good, we didn't have sea view but made no difference as views from terrace and pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Mr. Neil,
You have been so nice to describe your stay with such magnificent words and we are so glad that you have appreciated your experience.
We are pleased for all your kind words about the rooms wich all carefully finished, prepared and controlled by our housekeeper; cleanliness is of utmost importance.
Thank you, as well, for your comment about the “high quality of the food” and your appreciation regarding the Breakfast room.
We agree with you that the hotel location with its superb grounds is “the envy of other hotels”.
All the members of our staff, especially Stefano, Giacomo and Antonino, are so thankful to have mentioned their attitude towards you during your stay.
Thank you for this post, I'm happy to see that people appreciate our effort to make their stay as pleasant as possible and the funny thing is that we know we are not perfect and we can always improve and the important thing to do give you the best with a smile trying to solve any problem you may have!
Warmest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel royal grand for 2 weeks food great rooms great staff brilliant I would like to praise giacomo stefono and al the resturant staff anyone who criticises this hotel is just looking for faults don't listen to them I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this was one of the best I have stayed in

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Markjarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Mr. Jarrett,
Thank you for your beautiful expression to describe the Royal as “one of the best hotels all over the world”.
Sorrento is one of the most famous holiday destination in Italy and the “Royal” is one of the most renowned hotel in the center of the city. It has a private beach, a centuries-old garden, the terrace “Le Sirene” with its amazing view, the staff is professional and friendly. All these aspects render our hotel unique and exclusive.
Anyway, we know we are not perfect and we are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer.
Thank you for your words of appreciation, we are so happy you had a good time at the “Royal” and that our place often gives special emotions to the travellers who come to stay with us!
Assuring you since now our best attention to any further visit, may we take this opportunity to send our warmest regards.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISRAEL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and we had a great time.
The hotel is beautiful and its public areas are charming. The room is beautiful and well maintained, and the view from its balcony is stunning. Breakfast is excellent, the private beach is great and the staff is friendly and professional.
We will be happy to stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you so much for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Royal on Tripadvisor.
We have appreciated your positive comments about the room, the private beach, the great location of the hotel and all the members of the staff are so thankful to have mentioned their attitude towards you during your stay.
It is a pleasure to read that you miss the hotel; next time, we suggest you to enjoy a pleasant dinner by the terrace "Le Sirene" that offer the most breathtaking view of the sea.
Thank you once again and looking forward in having you back with us in the future, we remain
with best regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Hotel location first class, hotel had excellent decor and very clean, rooms great. But everything is an extra from safe key to no iron in room, use laundry facility I was told, no tea making in room. £22 to park car for one night. Food very disapointing of average quality and no taste. Service in bar and terrace was diabolical.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilH1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Mr. Phil,
Thank you for the time you have taken to comment your stay with us.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you have appreciated your room and the hotel location.
Of course, we value every feedback, be it positive or negative, as it helps us to improve every day.
We are really sorry that you had some inconvenient concerning your stay.
Concerning your kind opinion about the “diabolical service in bar and terrace” (?), we apologize if they didn’t do the things in the exact timing you expected. We will check the situation and we will organize a meeting with the bar staff in order to ameliorate this aspect.
For security reasons we haven’t iron or tea making in the room but, of course, there is the laundry and the room service.
We are very surprised concerning your comment about the food. During your stay we received no complaint from you about it.
Anyway, as you know, the tastes of the people differ and it is practically impossible that every guest appreciates the same dishes. For this reason our waiters receive dispositions from the Hotel’s management to change dishes. Furthermore they suggest a replacement that can satisfy the taste of the guests.
We are always ready to listen and to help our guests; perfection on the service can only be achieved if customers during their stay make the necessary reports.
We really hope that you next stay will be more pleasant and will do our best to assist you in any situation.
Kind regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing