We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Royal and would definitely recommend it. It is perfectly situated for a walk to the main square (5 mins), the station and the marina. The first thing you notice when walking in is how clean it smells and looks, and how serene it feels. It was calming to walk back in after a busy day out.

We knew when booking that our room would overlook the street as this was the only room left that was large enough to take ourselves and our two children (12 and 7). We were a little worried about the noise from the road having read some reviews, however this was minimal (and we were only on the second floor!). It didn't prevent us from sitting on the balcony and enjoying a drink in the sun, in fact, we enjoyed the sunshine all day unlike the sea view balconies which didn't once the sun sank behind the hotel. The very effective air con and shutters drown out any street noise, which is minimal.

It is true that if you have noisy people above you, it can grate a little with furniture scraping the tiled floors etc and we were particularly careful to try and minimise our noise for the people staying below. Take ear plugs if you think you'll be bothered - it's nothing more than you get in most hotels!

The bedrooms were spotlessly clean, very comfy beds (including two proper beds bought in for the kids), a safe, a fridge and plenty of hanging space. Tea and coffee making facilities would have been the icing on the cake. Tip - take slippers as the tiled floor is a little cold and as mentioned, reduces noise clomping across the tiles.

The staff are probably the biggest plus. Super friendly and super accommodating. We arrived at 10.30 am after a very early flight and were given a wonderful welcome AND told our room was ready! The waiters were happy to suggest tweaks to the menu for our fussy 7 year old and made a fuss of both of the kids. Breakfasts offered a wide choice - something for everyone.

We sat by the pool on one afternoon. The sun is probably a little low in the sky this time of year so you had to choose your spot to avoid the shade. Towels were forthcoming and staff were available to serve drinks. Swimming though was out of the question for us - WAY TOO COLD!! There were a few hardy swimmers though. The view of the bay from the Terrace is beautiful!

Someone mentioned flies in their review. We didn't experience them in the hotel or grounds, but there were quite a few in the town and elsewhere on our travels in the area. There was a children's park close to the hotel and we left because the flies were especially bad there. We also got quite a few mossie bites. Use repellent!

Can highly recommend Di Nocera Car Service. We used them for trips to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Herculaneum and the Amalfi Coast. (Tony - an excellent driver, safe, polite and knowledgeable, and clean, well maintained vehicles.)

All in all a wonderful stay in Sorrento. Do see the sights - the history will blow you away - but also spend time in a lovely cafe enjoying a cappucino or a Prosecco in a bar, try the varied Gelatos, wander the streets and watch the world go by. A lovely relaxing place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Telgip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Guests,
You have been so nice to describe your stay with such magnificent words and we are so glad that you have appreciated your experience.
Attention to detail and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built, throughout the years, the success of the Royal and, more generally speaking, of all the “Manniello Hotels” in Sorrento.
Thank you for your patronage and we are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed the room (soundproofed and carefully finished, prepared and controlled by our housekeeper), the hotel location, all our services and really important the calm and well-being feeling that is felt at the Royal.
It is a pleasure to know that our staff is so appreciated by our guests; actually is what makes the difference.
I thank you for these words of appreciation I'm so happy you had good time at the “Royal” and that our place often give special emotions to the travellers who come to stay with us!
I hope that you will come and stay with us again soon when I would like to personally welcome you back.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento. It is one of the upscale hotels in town and with a magnificent view overlooking the Bay of Naples. Our room had a lovely balcony which made leaving the room very difficult. But the short walk to center of Sorrento was special. Great experience and very helpful staff!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesertDiva31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Guests,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your nice comment regarding our staff is the best compliment that a Hotel Manager can receive and I will be pleased to share it with my entire team.
You are right, our location is great, right in the centre of the town but in the meantime really quiet and the guests staying at the "Royal" can relax by the pool, at the hotel beach, in the magnificent garden and feel truly at home, sipping an aperitif at our elegant bar or enjoying a romantic "a la carte dinner" at our terrace “Le Sirene” with its stunning view.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the “Royal”.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We went to the hotel in September. The hotels was beautiful, just a five minute walk from the train station. The rooms were lovely, really clean although we didn't have a room with sea view which was a bit disappointing. The grounds were really well kept, staff for the hotel were constantly doing maintenance, cleaning the steps, mowing the lawns etc. The people behind the reception were very polite and friendly. One of the male receptionists, tall and slightly older, was especially helpful and polite. The hotel had a swimming pool although it was freezing but needed that on a hot day. There was even a lift down to a private, rocky beach. The entertainment was really good, with a great piano player and singer. I would recommend this hotel but just wish that we had of had a room with a balcony and sea view.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the fitness centre or spa as I'm not sure if there was any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Guests,
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the “Royal”, it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive impressions and I will immediately share your positive comments with our team especially with the reception staff, who I am certain, will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
Thank you once again for your very nice comment and for your recommendation for our hotel, which have made us very, very pleased.
We suggest next time to book a sea view room to enjoy the wonderful view from the balcony.
Feel be free to e-mail or contact me for any further information or assistance you may require.
With our kindest regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed at the Grand Royal w/c 12/10/2012 for 7ngts expecting something wonderful after reading the reviews, unfortunately it did not reach our expectations.
The hotel is within easy reach of the station less than 7 mins walk, however the main reception staff were a little arrogant and brusque in her manner, the female receptionist that booked us in gave no instructions or information about the hotel regarding , pool, breakfast, times etc.
The room was a fairly decent size, on the fifth floor, but unfortunately looked out to the front of the hotel. which turned out to be extremely noisy at night it over looked a piazza where it would appear the local teenage bad boys hung out in the evening, till the early hours, shouting screaming etc.
The bedroom floors all ceramic tiled as you would expect, however the walls are quite thin and every time the ajoining occupants in the next room moved a chair across the floor or opened a draw, or walked across the floor the noise was horrific, particularly when trying to sleep.
I don't know whether we were unlucky and the person in the next room had a OCD problem, but it certainly caused a few sleepless nights coupled with the traffic noise.
On our last night I was awoken by the new occupants next door who was I think was a German gentleman who had decided enough was enough and proceeded to shout from his balcony to ask the noisy teenagers to shut up.
The bathroom was a little jaded in areas around the bath and shower with the silicone sealant going black, however general housekeeping was fine, towels sheets etc.

Breakfast was a buffet affair, with a selection of hot and cold, which was overall quite good, apart from the bad cakes, and no coffee pots, its was a one cup affair, but again the staff we found to be of the same manner as the reception staff, we wondered into the breakfast room waiting to be seated, but alas it was a find yourself a table attitude.

The pool area, was a no go area due to the vast amount of flies, I don't know whether it was because of the many fruit trees, dotted around the well kept gardens, but unless you covered yourself in insect repellent they congregated in hundreds over your body.
Again on the couple of occasions we sat by the pool not once were we approached by the pool bar waiters to ask if we would like a drink, coffee, ect.
Pool towels were a hide and seek game, some days you had to hunt one out, the other days there were none, if I had known I would have taken my own, but the hotel states it provides them for the pool area.
There is a lower sea decking area reached by a very dirty antiquated lift at the bottom of the cliff, which was a happy respite from the pool flies, however the second time we used this we were told by a young arrogant pool boy I presume employed by the Grand Hotel to leave the area as it was closed, this was around lunchtime on one of the few sunny days, due to rain storms, I asked him why there was no signs anywhere to tell guests that the lower decking was closed, he just shrugged, and gestured in that purrhhh manner that the Italians do so well.
The toilets on this area were dirty, with full length glass doors to both toilets, both with faulty locks, there was a bar on this area, however dirty and never staffed, and looked like it had not been used in some time.
Its worth mentioning from a health and safety point that the metal steps for sea access hanging onto the side of the wooden decking were rusted and badly decayed one side completely unattached.
On the basis it was quite a trek to the sea lower deck, which involved the antiquated lift ride, plus a long walk through a damp smelly, and dirty tunnel, up some steps, across another deck area, then down some steps, we were somewhat annoyed to find we had to leave, and go back to the fly infested pool.
We checked out around 6.15am so were unable to have breakfast in the dinning room, we were offered a breakfast takeaway box instead, which I have to say was truly revolting, two slices of white cardboard bread which was soooo stale the sides were curled up and dried out, sandwiched between a plastic processed slice of cheese, and a thick soggy over ripe slice of tomato. a couple of very stale sweet cake type croissants, and a warm fruit juice carton. these went straight into the rubbish bin at the station, totally unedible.
Would we stay there again ? NO

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Guests,
We are really sorry that your stay at the Royal did not reach your expectations.
We accept with pleasure the negative comments because they help us to improve and sometimes the customers can see details that we do not see.
Normally we receive very, very positive comments and we are very surprised to read such a different one.
We wonder why you did not come to talk to the manager during your stay at the hotel.
If you have received a room on the city side it means that your reservation was for a room without sea view. In any case, the balconies of the rooms are soundproofed and if you leave the balcony closed there are no noise problems.
Sorrento certainly is not New York and there are no bad boys gangs around the city.
All customers find our staff very kind and friendly and we certainly are surprised of your judgment as our employees were selected one by one according to those characteristics.
It comes naturally to think that maybe you stayed in another hotel and not at the Grand Hotel Royal. Even the terrible noise that you heard from one room to another has never been reported by any other guest.
There are some flies because we have a beautiful garden, but certainly not the invasion that you described.
The cleanliness in our hotel is appreciated by all our customers.
Every year during the winter closure we make improvements and this year will be ameliorating the tunnel that leads to the beach.
Thank you for being our customer and we would love to have you again in the future maybe reserving a room overlooking the sea.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I visited here last week. We stayed for 8 days and had a wonderful time. Beautiful views from our balcony, very clean room and wonderful service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCGruv187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your review about the Hotel Royal and for your patronage.
We do our best to meet all of our Guests' needs, where possible and no one thing can be more pleasant for us to know that you appreciate our job. The satisfaction of our guests it is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
We really hope to welcome again at the Royal and, in the meantime, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information
Best Regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Our stay at the Grand Hotel Royal was - Marvelous. The location was perfect, a short walk to the excellent Shopping facilites and Tasso Square. The Hotel, overlooked the Bay of Naples" unbelievable " If you wanted to use the Public Transport, it was very reasonable,with both the Train and Bus Terminal TEN Minutes away. The Hotels Superb Service and, amazing Food made our Stay Truly Unforgetable.The local Restuarants and Bars Served Excellent Food, and we found the Locals Warm and Friendly.
If we were asked to give the Hotel and surroundings a Score out of 100, we would give it a Score of 99.
We would thoroughly recommend the Hotel, Sorrento and surrounding Areas to all Ages-
Fantastic--we will Return to the Grand Hotel Royal "Next Year"
Sandra & Stanley Hertfordshire.

Room Tip: A Room Overlooking the Swimming Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Valued Guests,
We have received your magnificient comment on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write it on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you had a “marvelous” and “unforgetable” stay at the Royal; your appreciation for our location, the stunning view and, as you reported, the “amazing food” and the “superb service”makes us proud of our work. Thank you for your willingness to recommend our hotel and, on behalf of the whole team, I look forward to having you again as guest at the Grand Hotel Royal next year.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Just come back from 8 nights staying at Royal Hotel. Was really glad we booked it., very convenient location - only 5 minutes from Train/Bus station so you can travel cheaply to visit places like Pompei and Amalfi. Hotel was lovely, nice gardens, pool and views were tremendous. Buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice - loved the prosecco which was complimentary with breakfast! We only ate once in the restaurant in the evening - food was fine but it was a little rushed for our liking so preferred to venture into Sorrento.

Room Tip: We chose a site sea view but were upgraded which was nice. Try not to get a room near the stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and, especially, that you appreciated the location, the magnificient view, the buffet breakfast and all our services.
I am really glad that your overall experience with us was positive; we do our best to try and provide our guests with high standards of service and assistance.
It is indeed a shame you didn't had the chance to enjoy a romantic dinner “A la Carte” by our magnificient Terrace “Le Sirene” with its stunning view of the Vesuvio and the entire gulf of Naples.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again at the Royal!
Warmest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £209 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing