We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    281
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
333
886
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for one week in October and overall a nice hotel, good location with beautiful views, but I did have greater expectations, having read the reviews on TripAdvisor.

Generally staff were courteous with the exception of ladies on the front desk.

Stayed in a single room which resembled a corridor and nothing more, just wide enough to fit a single bed and dressing table at one end.
I did complain to reception and offered to pay for an upgrade but nothing came of my requests, extremely disappointed as this room did not come cheap!

Food quality was ok but nothing special and having spoken to several other guests they were of the same opinion.

Would I return to this hotel - No - too many niggles.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent a long gritty day in Naples on our way to Sorrento from Rome. We were tired & had beaten off pickpockets at the Naples train station. When we were shown our room at the Grand Hotel Royal we thought we had reached heaven. We had a stunning view of the Bay of Naples & Mount Vesuvius. The room was large & extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless & had a great shower bathtub. The tub was a little slippery so be sure to put the bathmat down if you shower. They had the weirdest hair dryer I've ever seen but it worked. The service was extraordinary but you paid for it. We decided to wait to wash our load of clothes when we realized it would cost about $150 for the hotel to do it! If you go to Sorrento from Naples take the boat & avoid the awful commuter train trip with luggage. Sorrento was a safe haven from the bustle of the larger Italian cities.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a view. Each room had it's own balcony & was a wonderful pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had room no. 217. This had an amazing view of Vesuvius and Naples over the Mediterranean. The room was spotless, huge bathroom and a balcony with table and chairs. We enjoyed a buffet dinner on the terrace which was delicious. In fact, this terrace with its majestic views is a great spot any time of the day to have drinks etc.

Sorrento centre is a short easy walk from the hotel.

We were lucky to be there when the ocean temp was still good for swimming and the hotels private lift (yes, lift drilled into the rock) takes you down to their serviced sun deck with pontoon . Might add that the lift takes 39seconds and is rather small (deep breath for claustrophics) but reliable.

Breakfasts were relaxed, comfortable and offered variety as expected of a buffet with options for freshly cooked eggs on request.

Provided a wonderful italian experience.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view with balcony - absolutely worth it and try to get from 2nd floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review following your stay here at the Royal and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the "Royal". When we are able to meet the expectations of our customers means that we are working well and we pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests.
The location is certainly great just 5 minutes walking throught the beautiful Lauro Park to the Piazza Tasso.
I will make sure to share your great comments with the entire team. Your kind recognition will be very well received.
We hope you carried back home a few precious memories of your stay in Sorrento and that you will consider the “Royal” as your home in Sorrento.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My wife and i and another couple stayed for a long weekend from the 26th to the 29th October, all the staff we met were friendly and efficient, the rooms were immaculate and we had a fantastic sea view.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was lovely and catered for all tastes. there are plenty of terraces and chill out areas to relax in, The hotel is in a great location on the sea front and only a short 10 min stroll to the main town. can't really fault the hotel at all, one of the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Would recommend a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan8303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal for 7 nights from the 12th of October, 2012. We arrived quite late and were greeted by a very charming receptionist who checked us in very quickly and courteously escorted us to the lift,even pressing the floor button for us.We were on the sixth floor.
The room was beautifully furnished, spacious and spotlessly clean. Our bags were delivered to the room within minutes by a very cheery porter. Throughout the week the room was very well maintained, toiletries replaced daily and all the housekeeping staff that we came into contact with were cheery and friendly.

We went down to the dining room on the first evening and were greeted by Antonino who showed us to a table. I offered our apologies for being late, it was nearly 9.30pm.Absolutely no problem."Enjoy your meal and do not rush". The food was excellent as we were to find on all 7 nights of our stay. The Gala buffet was wonderfull. The waiting staff were very efficient and friendly and could'nt do enough to please us.

Breakfast was a magnificent buffet with more choice than I have seen in most hotels.
Patriczia,cooking the eggs, in whichever way you chose, was an absolute darling!!

The public rooms were very restfull and beautifully furnished.

It was a delight to wander through the very well kept gardens and onto the terrace to sit and enjoy the magnificent views and soak up the sun. The staff were unobtrusive, but always polite, friendly and helpful.

Although we did not use the pool area it was certainly very pleasant and well maintained.

We made the mistake of going down to the beach area just as it was about to close.The attendant there was friendly and quite happy to wait a few minutes extra whilst I took photographs and accompanied us back.

The only little niggle that I had were the Bar prices, which were very high. For example, a very small measure of Tio Pepe sherry at 6 Euros equated to 1 Euro a sip!!

We had a fabulous holiday in Sorrento and are so pleased that we chose this most wonderfull hotel. We are already planning a return next year when we will stay for longer.

Tony & Margaret, Scotland

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Mrs Margaret & Mr. Tony,
I thank you for these words of appreciation and I’m so happy you enjoyed our way of welcome you here at the “Royal”! What is clear to me is that you understood that we are here for you and that we are at your disposal to make your holiday easy and without unpleasant surprises!
We can say that our service, facilities and our location is consistent trying to improve and please our guest as best as possible, from our housekeeping to the front desk, concierge and restaurant staff, we go that extra mile to satisfy our guest and making them truly feel like they are at home.
All the members of our staff are so thankful to have mentioned their attitude towards you during your stay.
Thanks to your review, future guest can be more informed about our hotel, we are glad that you were able to mention every aspect of your experience.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the “Royal”.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel in October and we had a fantastic time.Location is excellent,close to the railway and coach station and a short stroll from the main square in Sorrento.The hotel is spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard.The decor throughout was very classical with lots of dark wood and glass. The bedrooms were a delight,large balconies and furnished to a high standard. We stayed in a premier room and the views over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius were amazing.Staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially Salvatore on reception who was the perfect gentleman. Food was excellent and reasonably priced.We would definitely return and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Premier room was excellent value for money.Large balconies with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for the precious time you have spent on commenting your last stay at the “Royal” on Tripadvisor.
We are so pleased to read such a beautiful comment as yours. We are happy to know that you had a “fantastic time” and that you appreciate the hotel location, the food, the room, the amazing views and the friendly and helpful staff, especially Salvatore who thanks you so much.
We hope to welcome you soon back to the “Royal” and thanking you for your patronage, we remain at your disposal for any further information.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing