We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay Mr and Mrs Tolley”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We have recently returned from this hotel (October 2012) we stayed for two weeks. the room we were given overlooked the road and garden area with a small balcony, we found this to be an excellent room to people watch, it's a must in Italy. all of the facilities are kept immaculately clean. The hotel presents in a very laid back yet efficient manner from the moment you arrive all of the staff are engaging from the bell staff to the cleaners and the restaurant team. The view from the terrace is wonderful with a bathing area and jetty accessed via the lift. during our stay we ate the the hotel predominantly and I have to say as a fussy eater the food was always to a consistently high standard with high standards of service. If you are looking for a hotel which is well placed in Sorrento with old world charm and excellent service you may well find it here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul021964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

As the name suggests we stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal for 10 nights H/B end of Sept / start of Oct. We found everything about the hotel excellent, our room, food and the staff were all very good. The buffet breakfast was extensive with a good selection of both hot & cold food. The evening meal in the dinning room was served and presented very well with a varied menu to choose from. Outside the hotel has large gardens for you to explore and find your favourite spot for either relaxing, swimming / sunbathing or just enjoying the magnificent view. On the terrace you can enjoy a candlelight al a carte meal over looking the Bay of Naples looking across to Mt Vesuvius, definately recommended. It would be difficult for us to select an individual member of staff that stood out as they were all fantastic as was the classicaly cool but elegant lounge and reception area which has a comfortable / homely feel about it. We were lucky to have the Grand Hotel Royal as our base for our wedding and honeymoon in Sorrento. Well done the Grand Hotel and Thank You for a very hospitable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fergus95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Loved the hotel. My husband and I had a seaside view with balcony(509). Lovely room, could have been a bit bigger though. Our girls were across the hall (520) with a city view and their room was 2x the size. I looked as though on the floor room plan, our room on our side of the hallway looked to be smaller. They were nicely decorated rooms with beautiful tile everywhere and comfy beds. The breakfast room/food was amazing. The hotel sits on the Bay of Naples with amazing views. It is a 5 minute walk to the train/bus station, but several sets of steps (luggage) you have to navigate. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms on Bay with balcony worth the splurge, esp with good weather or time enough to enjoy view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank candelario R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for one week in October and overall a nice hotel, good location with beautiful views, but I did have greater expectations, having read the reviews on TripAdvisor.

Generally staff were courteous with the exception of ladies on the front desk.

Stayed in a single room which resembled a corridor and nothing more, just wide enough to fit a single bed and dressing table at one end.
I did complain to reception and offered to pay for an upgrade but nothing came of my requests, extremely disappointed as this room did not come cheap!

Food quality was ok but nothing special and having spoken to several other guests they were of the same opinion.

Would I return to this hotel - No - too many niggles.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank JJ0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent a long gritty day in Naples on our way to Sorrento from Rome. We were tired & had beaten off pickpockets at the Naples train station. When we were shown our room at the Grand Hotel Royal we thought we had reached heaven. We had a stunning view of the Bay of Naples & Mount Vesuvius. The room was large & extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless & had a great shower bathtub. The tub was a little slippery so be sure to put the bathmat down if you shower. They had the weirdest hair dryer I've ever seen but it worked. The service was extraordinary but you paid for it. We decided to wait to wash our load of clothes when we realized it would cost about $150 for the hotel to do it! If you go to Sorrento from Naples take the boat & avoid the awful commuter train trip with luggage. Sorrento was a safe haven from the bustle of the larger Italian cities.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a view. Each room had it's own balcony & was a wonderful pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had room no. 217. This had an amazing view of Vesuvius and Naples over the Mediterranean. The room was spotless, huge bathroom and a balcony with table and chairs. We enjoyed a buffet dinner on the terrace which was delicious. In fact, this terrace with its majestic views is a great spot any time of the day to have drinks etc.

Sorrento centre is a short easy walk from the hotel.

We were lucky to be there when the ocean temp was still good for swimming and the hotels private lift (yes, lift drilled into the rock) takes you down to their serviced sun deck with pontoon . Might add that the lift takes 39seconds and is rather small (deep breath for claustrophics) but reliable.

Breakfasts were relaxed, comfortable and offered variety as expected of a buffet with options for freshly cooked eggs on request.

Provided a wonderful italian experience.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view with balcony - absolutely worth it and try to get from 2nd floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review following your stay here at the Royal and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the "Royal". When we are able to meet the expectations of our customers means that we are working well and we pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests.
The location is certainly great just 5 minutes walking throught the beautiful Lauro Park to the Piazza Tasso.
I will make sure to share your great comments with the entire team. Your kind recognition will be very well received.
We hope you carried back home a few precious memories of your stay in Sorrento and that you will consider the “Royal” as your home in Sorrento.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £171 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing