We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel with excellent service”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had an amazing honeymoon stay at Grand Hotel Royal. We had the most beautiful room with a magnificent view overlooking the entire Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius. Being slightly off season (end of October) we got a great rate for the best room offered. The entire hotel is gorgeous (lobby, piano room, restaurant, outdoor patio and pool area). It is located in a great spot within a few minute walk to the heart of town (Piazza Tasso). The hotel provided a complimentary breakfast each morning that included an assortment of delicious food including made-to-order omelettes, fresh fruit, pastries and even complimentary prosecco. The service is also excellent at the hotel. We cannot say enough good things about Hotel Royal and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    281
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
333
888
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My husband and I stayed her with 3 other friends in July 2010....lovely location just out of the buzz of the town but an easy stroll when we wanted to find a restaurant for dinner/head for the railway to Pompeii or Naples/head for the ferries to Amalfi/Positano/Capri/Ischia. The service/rooms/staff were all excellent and we were happy to be just a short distance from the town....lots of other hotels we had considered were a much longer distance away or up the hill the other direction. The hotels up the hill to the south have wonderful views also but out of the sun by late afternoon....we sat and enjoyed the last of the rays till dinner time when the sun set over Capri!
This is a traditional hotel but obviously very much favoured by the locals judging by the number of weddings taking place. We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast (which was fantastic with plenty of options) and snacks some lunchtimes but only because we preferred to experience the local flavours.
We enjoyed the sea-swimming from the pontoon below the cliff altho the lift down to it could do with some modernisation (I wouldn't like to be stuck enroute down/up through the cliff!!) and the long damp passage from the lift to the sundeck could be better lit.
Apart from that we were really impressed and are now booked to return to Sorrento to the new hotel (La Favorita) owned by the same group for our son's wedding next year. I hope it lives up to the same standards.....!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stufio_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

I decided to splurge a little and paid extra for a room with a view. And it was absolutely the best view of my month-long holiday. The balcony overlooked the beautiful Bay of Naples with Mt Vesuvius in the background. The rooms are spacious and very clean. There was some echoing of hallway noise but not enough to worry me. I'd read about others hearing chairs scrape across tiled floors - and yes I also heard these. But it was not constant and didn't keep me awake.

After 4 nights of sleeping well, luxurious bathing, lovely breakfasts, my fantastic view and the relaxing surroundings, it was with great reluctance that I checked out.

The hotel is such a good location to explore Sorrento and is very close to the train. When we arrived, we caught a taxi but its seriously only a 3-block walk. We also took train to Pompeii and walked into the square and shops very easily.

I found the staff to be plentiful. The breakfast staff were great - cheerful and happy to help. The concierge even arranged to have a small repair in my glasses carried out while I day-tripped it to Amalfi.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueInIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We have recently returned from this hotel (October 2012) we stayed for two weeks. the room we were given overlooked the road and garden area with a small balcony, we found this to be an excellent room to people watch, it's a must in Italy. all of the facilities are kept immaculately clean. The hotel presents in a very laid back yet efficient manner from the moment you arrive all of the staff are engaging from the bell staff to the cleaners and the restaurant team. The view from the terrace is wonderful with a bathing area and jetty accessed via the lift. during our stay we ate the the hotel predominantly and I have to say as a fussy eater the food was always to a consistently high standard with high standards of service. If you are looking for a hotel which is well placed in Sorrento with old world charm and excellent service you may well find it here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul021964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2012

As the name suggests we stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal for 10 nights H/B end of Sept / start of Oct. We found everything about the hotel excellent, our room, food and the staff were all very good. The buffet breakfast was extensive with a good selection of both hot & cold food. The evening meal in the dinning room was served and presented very well with a varied menu to choose from. Outside the hotel has large gardens for you to explore and find your favourite spot for either relaxing, swimming / sunbathing or just enjoying the magnificent view. On the terrace you can enjoy a candlelight al a carte meal over looking the Bay of Naples looking across to Mt Vesuvius, definately recommended. It would be difficult for us to select an individual member of staff that stood out as they were all fantastic as was the classicaly cool but elegant lounge and reception area which has a comfortable / homely feel about it. We were lucky to have the Grand Hotel Royal as our base for our wedding and honeymoon in Sorrento. Well done the Grand Hotel and Thank You for a very hospitable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergus95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Loved the hotel. My husband and I had a seaside view with balcony(509). Lovely room, could have been a bit bigger though. Our girls were across the hall (520) with a city view and their room was 2x the size. I looked as though on the floor room plan, our room on our side of the hallway looked to be smaller. They were nicely decorated rooms with beautiful tile everywhere and comfy beds. The breakfast room/food was amazing. The hotel sits on the Bay of Naples with amazing views. It is a 5 minute walk to the train/bus station, but several sets of steps (luggage) you have to navigate. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms on Bay with balcony worth the splurge, esp with good weather or time enough to enjoy view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing