We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly excellent”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed here for three days in May and, despite a few odd gripes, I would definitely recommend it. We were welcomed very warmly when we arrived, and the desk staff were always extremely helpful. We, too, asked for a kettle, but the staff were not allowed to issue electrical appliances, so they were polite but firm on this point. We had a sea view room, with views to die for! The room was lovely - clean, comfortable beds, very well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with one problem - why don't they serve fresh coffee? There is no excuse for a big coffee pot in Italy. I would recommend the fresh marmalade though! We never ate dinner there as we considered the food to be overpriced. In the square opposite there's a lovely restaurant/cafe serving the freshest food around, at extremely reasonable prices - Restaurant Angelina Lauro, try it if you are fed up of the usual highly priced pizza and pasta in Sorrento. Finally, on departure, is one of the hotel's greatest features, convenience! Just a five minute walk to buses for the Amalfi coast and the Circumvesuviana for Pompeii, Ercolano, and Naples.

Room Tip: Have a sea view! Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

PROS:
- Well situated, close to train station and <5 minute walk from city center
- Great pool and fantastic dock on the water for sun bathing
- Rooms are clean, nicely decorated and have balconies (we didn't have sea view, but it was still very pleasant)
- If you go for the breakfast included package, it's well worth it - lots of selection and buffet style (and if you leave before breakfast starts, they give you a to go/takeaway bag!)
- Ask for the hotel's map which has all the timetables for transportation in the area, so convenient!
CONS:
- Some people at the front desk are amazing, some are rather cranky
- Hair dryer is one of those old ones on the wall, best to bring your own
- Guests don't know the international rule of "towel and sunscreen on the chair means it's spoken for" and will dump your stuff on the ground and steal chairs if you walk away for a minute...annoying

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keightat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This hotel is very expensive, but it is well positioned and well maintained. It is better than most 4*hotels.... Closer to 5. If you're going to stay here might as well go for the Sea view otherwise stay somewhere else.

Staff is pretty good but quite rigid and really upset me at checkout which took 30 minutes due to error on the bill and other issues.

One problem was the discount voucher offered when you book on the hotel website. It is very confusing what you need to bring to actually use it. The discount voucher part of the confirmation wasn't good enough. Needed the "coupon". What coupon?. Oh. it's in a separate email. Thankfully, I had that email with me and eventually they took off the 40+ euros. But the money must be spent on the property and I found their food to be quite poor and way overpriced. The kitchen has penchant for excessive salt. I found the"free"breakfast also poor with pretty awful coffee in a country that usually does coffee well. Bad orange juice, hardly cooked bacon, oversalted soggy fried potatoes.... the same spread every day... No variety.

Also disappointed by lack of electric kettle to boil water in the room and none available even when requested. Similarly put off by the snotty attitude that an iron wouldn't be available because you could pay for laundry service. And disliked the rough old sandpaper towels in the bathroom.

But despite these shortcomings, still earns 4*from me as it would have been 5 otherwise.... The hotel is clean and the rooms are nice. But, I don't think I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Unless you're willing to pay the extra for Sea view, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2beTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Grand Hotel Royal is only about 200 metres from the Circumvesiuviana by foot. It is perched on a cliff with an incredible view. The whole property is elegant, spacious and well kept. Service is great, rooms are clean and quiet and everything works. The breakfast buffet is really excellent with a great deal of variety. The pier below the hotel is accessed by an elevator from the pool level. The hotel is a short walk from the center of the action in Sorrento, but just removed enough to make it peaceful. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view... the difference between these rooms and the street side is enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Warm welcome without overkill. Views from sea view rooms are spectacular. 2 minute walk into town centre. Very well position,d for day trips. Bus station and train station all within couple of minuets walk. We took train too Pompeii which was 3euros and about 25 mins. Tired trains but Very quick and on time.
Excellent choice of restaurants in town and the back street are best value for money.
Our room has been spotless with fab service , excellent air con that only works if you shut the doors and windows ! Very clever. I have to say in over 50 years it one of the best hotels.
Breakfast superb, free wifi in our rooms. Superb room service, they have been great .
Excellent swimming pool and bar service. Lift down to private beach with bar and spotless clean patio area and lovely lower decking.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. We had an excellent stay with faultless service and a stunning room. Breakfast is superb with a view and a half !
We found the hotel via trip advisor and thank you it was worth it

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a room with a sea view and balcony. Book a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My husband, two friends and I spent last week at the Grand Royal Hotel in Sorrento and what a great week we had, visiting up and down the Amalfi coast! The best part was our daily launch point at this pristine hotel. I have never seen such beautiful tiled floors and walls- a refreshing change from so many dark heavily carpeted hotels. Our large rooms with balconies overlooked the Bay of Naples and the sumptuous grounds. The best part of the hotel experience was Serena who found us a great, reasonably priced restaurant every night, booked our tours, and offered helpful advice on everything and all with ease and charm. Also- no charge for Internet .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

THIS HOTEL SUCKS. DO NOT STAY HERE.

I'm staying here now with my family and there's no airconditioning. It's so hot and stuffy in our room that I might as well sleep outside. Many patrons have been calling asking if they can turn on the airconditioning to which the concierge replies <<open the door>>. Apparentlybthis hotel only turns on the airconditioning during certain months which is ridiculous. If it's hot, it's hot. We came here to enjoy our vacation, nit ti suffer through the night in a sauna. Also, it is quite impossible to open the door the whole night considering the amount of mosquitoes that gave started to infest italy. The man at the concierge tried to tell me that there are no mosquitoes right now; however, there was nothing he could say when I showed him the 5 bites that were swelling up from my stay here.

Needless to say, this hotel should not deserve a 4 star rating. The only good thing here is that it has a view of the sea and the wait staff are nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for writing your review. We are sorry that your expectations have not been the best and thanks again for mentioning the skill of our staff always helpful and professional. We are careful in your selection of personal pride of our company.
Our Hotel is located overlooking the sea and it is surrounded by a secular park. The fact that insects may have disturbed you could be expected because of the magnificent nature that surrounds us, even if we had no customers ever reported such a problem.
We accept with pleasure the negative comments because they help us to improve and sometimes the customers can see details that we do not see.
Normally we receive very, very positive comments and we are very surprised to read such a different one.
This bad review is very unfair: until April 25, has been in operation the heating system because it was still cold at night. April the 25th we turned off the heating system and after a day standby compulsory (because it must be removed before the heat accumulated in the pipes and then it is possible to turn on the cooling system) the Air conditioning has been turned on.
We wonder why you did not come to talk to the manager during your stay at the hotel.
If you have received a room on the city side it means that your reservation was for a room without sea view.
Thank you for being our customer and we would love to have you again in the future maybe reserving a room overlooking the sea.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £198 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing