We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal in July 2013.
We were given an upgrade to a Junior suite. Our room was lovely and we had a lovely bathroom with 2 washbasins which is something we particularly like.
The location is fantastic right on the stunning coastline and 2 minutes walk from the main centre -just perfect.
The staff were lovely and very charming and helpful. The breakfast was very good, lots of fresh fruit and amazingly perfectly soft boiled eggs. They also had a chef available to cook eggs ,omelette however you liked. Lunch on the terrace was very good and in the evening we also had the buffet and BBQ which was served on the terrace overlooking the coastline - the scenery was stunning and very romantic. We didn't eat any other evening meals in the hotel as we like to eat outside when we are on holiday and the rest of the evening meals were served inside the hotel dining room.
We would definitely go back to this hotel again but next time I would like a room with a sea view. I understand that these rooms are quite a bit more expensive so it depends on how you like to you use your room on holiday. we love having a drink on the balcony whilst we are getting ready to go out in the evening and so for us it would be worth the extra cost to sit and enjoy the view. If that's not something you find yourself doing then save your money because the view is stunning from the dining areas and sun terraces.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review following your stay with us and for your very kind words about the team, our wonderful terrace , the location, the breakfast and all our services.
I am also delighted that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade.
We are a very dedicated team of people who take immense pride in what we do and we want each and every guest to feel as you did, like you were the only guests. We are happy that your overall experience left you wanting to come back. We do hope that you will and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with a booking.
Until next time,
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    284
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
339
902
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A fantastic hotel which is perfectly situated, 2 minutes from rail and bus stations,a very short distance from the main marina for ferries to Capri and 2 minutes walk to the main shopping area.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and well appointed. The bedrooms, although not big, have everything you need and are well maintained and cleaned to a high standard.
The terrace overlooks the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius as do the two swimming pools.
Dinner at night is a culinary experience with a choice of 20 starters and 20 main courses as well as chef's recommendations every night. Delightful!
Overall this hotel is not huge, it is small and intimate with a friendly atmosphere. Ideally positioned to explore the surrounding area.
Not the most inexpensive hotel in the area but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for the fantastic review, as a team we are thrilled that you loved your stay.
We are very proud of the “Royal” and we like to think that we go that extra mile to ensure that each and every guest goes away with fond memories of their time with us. I am pleased that you did and thank you for sharing your thoughts on the site.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have only good memories of this wonderful hotel, the rooms are grand and comfortable with excellent facilities. The dining room is almost of a bygone era with service and ambiance at the fore. The terrace facing Vesuvius and overlooking the Bay of Naples and Sorrento harbour is if anything a magical place to spend an evening. Only 5 minute walk to centre of Tasso Square, many places to eat, a 5 minute walk to train station gets you Pompei and Herculaneum and many places fast. Use water to travel swiftly up and down the Amalfi coast. Visit Diana's bathroom, a puzzle for those wishing for a little history and wonderment.

Room Tip: The Sorrento facing rooms are cheaper so ask for higher floors to improve the view, but all are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you so much for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Royal on Tripadvisor.
We have appreciated your positive comments about the location, the rooms, the restaurants and our “magical” terrace with the most breathtaking view of the Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.
Thank you once again and looking forward in having you back with us in the future, we remain
with best regards
Giuseppe Massa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I recently spent five nights at the Grand Hotel Royal on my honeymoon. While expensive, the hotel is ideally located right near Tasso Square, which was amazing. My husband and I walked there almost every day for lunch or dinner. The hotel itself is situated overlooking the water on the cliffs, where there is a pool and adjacent restaurant, and an elevator takes you down to the sun deck right on the water where there is another small snack bar. It is a small hotel, which is nice, and the staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. They helped us book two dinners where free shuttles were provided. The interior of the lobby is bright and sunny, renovated and very nice. The room we stayed in wasn't modern, per se, but spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a big soaking tub and double sinks. Overall, we had a great time at this hotel. If you are looking to be right near the center of town and right on the water, then this hotel is worth the money splurged! If possible, go for full water views.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the hotel and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the location, the rooms, the staff, the food and services in general.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive impressions and I will immediately share your positive comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the Royal, it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied.
We can say that our services and facilities are consistent trying to improve and everybody please our guest as best as possible, from our housekeeping staff to the front desk, concierge, Bar and Restaurants.
We would like to thank you for having been our special guests and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel Royal.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

From the minute we entered the Grand Royal I knew we had picked the right hotel. It's super close to the train station and city center of Sorrento while being on a quiet street away from the crowds. The service was excellent with extremely helpful staff. They took care of everything from scheduling excursions to arranging drivers and transportation. The grounds are goregeous set right on the water. Lots of outside spaces for lounging, sunning, socializing, and meditation. Breakfast buffet was awesome. Rooms were nice, spacious and clean. Wish we would have request waterfront. The electronic shades really allow you to block out any light or noise from outside and get some good deep sleep. The best resto in Sorrento is also very close by, Ristoranto Pizzera Tasso.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely comments on the Grand Hotel Royal. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and particularly our service. Our team do strive to exceed all our guests expectations and to read that we have succeeded is just fantastic. The Grand Hotel Royal enjoys a unique location in the center of Sorrento, surrounded by a magnificent centuries-old park; a green oasis in the heart of Sorrento with a breathtaking view of the gulf of Naples.Thanks for confirming that the rooms without sea view situated on the Correale street are not noisy and closing the balcony there is no noise at all.
We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay, and look forward to having you back.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The location of the Royal is ideal, if not spectacular. Just a short walk to the square, the port (for a boat to Carpi or Naples), terrific shopping and nice restaurants. (We liked Tasso and La Basilica.)

The lobby, parlor, sitting rooms, courtyards and terraces of this facility are simply extraordinary. Peace and tranquility done to perfection. Then there's the view. Stunning.

Our room, 604, was advertised as having a "ocean side view." It did, and the balcony was wonderful. The room was not large but very comfortable. While such designs don't usually appeal to us, the tile (a white backed floral pattern in mustard/yellow geometric framing) and wall treatment (white with pale yellow framed sections) was lovely. We took pictures of both. The furniture was also exquisite, with all of the pieces having inlaid wood. Again, pictures. Then there were the electronic, blackout vertical shutters. A terrific touch.

The pool and "beach areas" were wonderful. Because hotels in this area of Sorrento are built on a cliff, there is no sand, nor conventional beaches. The Royal has a "lift" that takes guests down to a boardwalk/sunbathing area at water level. There you can jump in or climb down to the Mediterranean. One can also walk down perhaps 150-200 steps to reach the area. We walked up, once, because my wife forced me to. (There is also a nice pool at the hotel/street level which we did not use. That would have been too easy.)

Although the Royal has the appearance of a five star property, I could not bestow the top rating. There were too many "little things." I'll take the time to elaborate because, when one is sacrificing big dollars, attention to detail is important.

When we checked in, the agent (a French fellow?) was VERY NICE but clearly in a hurry. It was probably because he was alone. Later, when I asked about a late checkout, I got a bit of an attitude from Serene, although she did extend the room deadline one hour. (I am always surprised when such requests are not handled with a high level of diplomacy. That should be part of the basic training at high end properties such as the Royal.)

In the room, the soap was about the size of a silver dollar, and not much thicker. Lathering up was not possible. The towels were surprisingly rough. For what we were paying, I would have expected lush, thick cotton, flown in daily from Egypt. And, on our last day, the shower handle/head detached from the flexible hose.

Then there was the WiFi, or non-functionality thereof. Apparently it's an Italy thing. Like my wife said, while the Roman engineers and architects may have been 2,000 years ahead of their time, their Italians ancestors must have pulled from a different gene pool because they appear to be about two decades behind. (To boil it down, the wifi was terrible and, because of a family issue that occurred while we were away, the lack of wifi proved problematic.)

But, would we go back to the Grand Hotal Royal? IN A HEARTBEAT! It's a solid 4.5 Star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dukesteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guests,
Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Royal and that you like to come back. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, the location and that you found most of the service you received to your expectations. Having read your comments I would like to firstly apologise for the issues you had last day of your stay with the shower handle/head detached from the flexible hose; clearly, as in any house, something can break but surely our technician has fixed it immediately. Secondly due a problem to the public nework we had some difficulties to connect to the web and we apologise for it.
So far no one guest had ever reported that the towels are rough, I spoke with the housekeeper who assured me that customers are happy about it. Thank you for your words of appreciation: the Hotel's location is close to the centre of the town and guest staying at the hotel can relax and feel truly at home, sipping an aperitif at our terrace bar or enjoying breakfast, lunch and dinner at our restaurant with the sea-view at your feet. The rooms are all carefully finished, prepared and controlled by our housekeeper and cleanliness is of utmost importance.
We hope to welcome you back very soon to the Royal and our kind staff are looking forward to offer their service and to take care of your every need.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked half board with reservation as often food is not good.Beyond my expectations it was fine dining every night including the buffet evening.Room with wonderful sea view ,helpful staff, perfect position for exploring the wonderful Amalfi coast cannot think of anything which could have improved our stay

Room Tip: Whilst the sea view rooms are expensive they are worth it to wake up with the amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank flavia1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are so happy that you loved your room, the location of the “Royal”, the quality of the food and the the courtesy of the staff. Thanks to your review, future guest can be more informed about our hotel and the town of Sorrento.
I really appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you also in the future.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing