We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in beautiful Sorrento”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Luxury in beautiful Sorrento”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Royal in Sorrento and cannot praise it enough, It's a beautiful hotel just 2 minutes walk from the main square but wonderfully calm and peaceful despite this. The private pontoon at the bottom of the cliff is perfect for sunbathing. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food was lovely - if a little expensive.We will be returning for more of the riviera lifestyle!

Room Tip: Pay more for the sea view if you can afford it - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyKLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guests,
I was so happy to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. Thank you for your kind words concerning our friendly and helpful staff.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive impressions and I will immediately share your positive comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
We truly believe that “Spectators see well than actors”, this is important to us to improve our services and meet guests’ needs and expectations.
I do hope that you can return soon to the “Royal” for another pleasant stay.
My kindest regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    277
    76
    25
    15
See reviews for
325
865
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a last minute booking and therefore could not get a sea room view, as a result whist the room was good, comfortable clean and had air con that was actually quiet and worked, the view was not the best, so first piece of advice of you want a view 121 is not the place to be. also odd that the room has no flannels so if the rest of the rooms are the same suggest you bring one with you, So that's the only negatives out of the way, The hotel and staff were great and the location is perfect for the town , we took advantage of the three night voucher system and the food and service was high quality and eating out on the terrace overlooking the sea was enjoyable, breakfast as others have mentioned is excellent. Pool and swimming facilities at the sea were great my only gripe is not with the hotel but the people that stay there. Hotel has a don't reserve sun beds policy but frankly people ignore it, they reserve beds not only by the pool but down on the pier blow as well so they get best positions all day, or just leave for the day. This can be infuriating as you end up with a pool which may be occupied by 80% towels and 20% people. How the hotel can stop this I don't know other than of a bed is not occupied for an hour or so then the towels are removed.
Never the less we had a fabulous time and would like to thank all the staff and the management at the hotel and especially the chefs for the august gala night , simply would we stay there again, yes and definitely sea view room next time

Room Tip: Sea room view are the best, rooms in annex at end of hotel have poorer views than rest of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and the wonderful words; we are happy that you had a fabulous time at the “Royal”.
In your review you mention our Restaurant and Bar which we consider the Cherry on top, as mentioned it offers the most breathtaking views of the sea, combined by our Food and Beverage team who know how to take care of guest, from our special dishes prepared by our Chef to the personalised services of our servers. You are wright, the buffet was superb.
The rooms are all carefully finished, prepared and controlled by our housekeeper and cleanliness is of utmost importance.
I am indeed very sorry to learn the inconvenience you experienced during your visit concerning the sunbeds, but at this stage I can only ask you to accept my sincere apologies; unfortunately there are customers who do not like to respect the rights of others or who think to be cleverer reserving sunbeds both at the pool and the sea but this is not always easy to verify.
I was so happy to read that we met your expectations. I have passed on your comments to my great team and I do hope that you will visit us again soon.
Yours Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A beautiful building in a beautiful park with huge trees and flowers overlooking the beautiful Gulf of Naples! Beautiful and elegant interior decoration, Italian furniture, hand painted tiles,murano lamps, paintings, engravings and statues... Soft light, Italian music and a Prosecco at the bar or a Sorrentian Dinner with talented musicians at the elegant restaurant... Highly professional and attentive staff wearing elegant uniforms day and night, even at the pool bar. The terminal of the bus from the Naples Airport is at the Sorrento train station which is about 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Piazza Tasso which is the center of the town is about 7 minutes. A well managed hotel with excellent service and ideal location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulgezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guests,
I was absolutely delighted to read your very kind words following your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel Royal. As you mentioned, the hotel is beautiful and elegant in every aspect and the staff is highly professional, elegant and very attentive.
I was so happy to read that we met your expectations. I have passed on your comments to my great team and I do hope that you will visit us again soon.
My kindest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We enjoyed every minute. We've been married for twenty years and this has been a second honeymoon. We has a room with a sea view which was heaven. The staff and facilities were great. Way to go! We would definitely consider choosing this hotel on our next vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyrosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Mrs. Rosenberg,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent second honeymoon stay with us at the Grand Hotel Royal. I was delighted that you liked the room and you enjoyed the welcome and all the services we provided you with. I was glad that we met your expectations in all aspects of your stay and we all hope that we get the chance to repeat this very soon.
My kindest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have stayed in this hotel twice now and we love it, can't fault it anywhere, good food and plenty of it, the place is spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful. It's worth paying that bit extra for a sea view room, the sceanery is just fantastic.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for returning to stay with us we really appreciate your loyalty; it was a pleasure to have you stay with us again.
I am delighted that you had a great time at the “Royal” and that you appreciated the food, the helpful staff, all our services and indeed the spectacular views of the bay of Naples and the Mont Vesuvius.
My team and I are always happy to offer a friendly and efficient service and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back next year for another relaxing holiday.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It was the second time we stayed for a long week in the region and the Royal Hotel lived up to all its promises. Not only is Sorrento a good place to start discovering the region, but the hotel Royal is a quiet place to return to each evening and has a lot to offer: the facilities are good (we did not use the swimming pool area but always the sea facilities) and the dinners, barbeque and buffets were very well organized with still sufficient focus on the individual guest. Kitchen and restaurant staff was very friendly, service was fluent, and food was top. Also the breakfast is very well done with a good range of products. Other Staff was also very friendly and gave us some good tips on the things to visit.
We had a room with sea view and that is really relaxing. Room was always very clean and the airco made it excellent to sleep.
The hotel is at only 10 minutes from the center and at 20 minutes from the harbour where boats can be taken to Capri and Naples. Paestum is at 1 hour drive.
Most of the guests were older people, but also some families stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel.We are always most pleased to hear great feedback about our staff, that you enjoyed the food in our restaurants, and that you had good informations from our staff at reception desk. All of the team at the Grand Hotel Royal love going the extra mile to exceed every guest’s expectations. Thank you for your fabulous review of your stay at our hotel, and for highlighting all of the aspects that make the “Royal” so special. We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Yours Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Amazing hotel, clean quiet with great service. The private deck beach was absolutely a great way to enjoy the sea, the beautiful coast view. There were so many places across the hotel and overlooking the coast where you can just sit quietly, enjoy the view , have a drink.
Worth every penny.
Easy walk to the center of town

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the view to the sea. More expensive, but worth it... It makes a big difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RR12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. We are always most appreciative of comments regarding our exceptional service standards. The highly trained and experienced team are also the most welcoming, friendly and accommodating hotel staff in Sorrento, who will always go the extra mile to exceed every guest’s expectations. We are very pleased you had the opportunity to experience many of the facilities the hotel has to offer and especially the private deck beach.
We value your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Yours Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing