We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, We Felt Like Royalty”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, We Felt Like Royalty”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our 2-night stay at the Grand Hotel Royal was one of our favorite stays of our recent two-week trip. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, with an amazing terrace that overlooks Mt. Vesuvius and is absolutely perfect for watching the sunset over the hills and water. The staff was very friendly - Salvatore at the front desk was one of the nicest people we met in Italy and made us feel welcome every time we had a question. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the bathroom was gorgeous. The breakfast room was gorgeous! The white walls, giant windows overlooking the gardens, attentive staff and generous breakfast made us feel so relaxed and happy every morning! We wish we had stayed here longer, and it is first on our list to return to in the future!

Room Tip: We had a room with a "partial" view of the water from the balcony - which meant that the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review of the Grand Hotel Royal.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We truly are a hidden gem among the myriad of the Sorrento hotels. As a matter of fact, the Grand Hotel Royal enjoys a unique location in the center of Sorrento, surrounded by a magnificent centuries-old park. A green oasis in the heart of Sorrento where our guests can really relax and enjoy a treat such that brought you to write: "We felt like Royalty." My team and in particular way Salvatore, were delighted with your praise, they just love it when they succeed in their efforts to make the stay of our guests the best possible one. We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
With our kindest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    281
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
333
886
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel very well placed for train and town . View of the bay wonderful, but you really need to book a sea view as the other side is on a very busy road . By italian hotel standards , this hotel is excellent. Reception staff very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Sea view essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to complete this nice review following your recent visit to our hotel.
It is true, our location is ideal: in the heart of the city of Sorrento situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvelous camellias, orange and lemon tree.
For your next booking at the "Royal", we suggest to visit our website where you can find the cheapest rate; as a matter of fact, by booking directly with us, you will receive a “Gift Voucher” on extra purchased at the hotel. I am pleased that we were able to offer you a wonderful stay and to learn that you found the reception staff to be friendly, helpful and always willing to assist during your stay. Your kind words have been shared with the team. I hope that you will give us the possibility to continue offering you many others memorable stay at the Grand Hotel Royal.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

A good, central hotel with amazing views over the bay of Naples.

Well situated to walk round the centre.

Would like to revisit when decking area open and pool warm enough to swim in :-)

Staff all friendly and helpful, there was a wide selection for breakfast but didn't try the restaurant in the evening as it looked very formal and we had a baby 2 yr old with us and preferred to tire her out by pounding the streets, that said they were all very good with her.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenjiAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at The Grand Hotel Royal; it is always gratifying to read so a great review.
Our location is ideal: in the heart of the city of Sorrento situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvelous camellias, orange and lemon trees; whilst the extensive buffet served in the Glicini Restaurant is appreciated by all our guests and we have a superlative Housekeeping team, who maintain the hotel and rooms in pristine condition.
Your kind compliments have already been forwarded to our great team, who pride themselves on always exceeding every guest’s expectations. Your recommendation is very valued, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit as a returning guest.
For your next booking at the "Royal", we suggest to visit our website where you can find the cheapest rate; as a matter of fact, by booking directly with us, you will receive a “Gift Voucher” on extra purchased at the hotel.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was the first place we stayed on our tour of Italy pt. 2. The front desk workers were pleasant and we found checking-in to be seamless. The room was ready and clean and so forth. The grounds are beautiful and we took full advantage of the deck by the sea. It was so nice and relaxing down there. The breakfast was the best. There are a lot of shortcuts on breakfast in Italy, but not here. The beds are stiff but we've learned to expect that over there. The location is great. It is in walking distance to everything and very close to the train station as well. Our only complaint is that we had an ant issue in the bathroom. In their defense, we accidentally left some trail mix open on the counter, but there were a lot of ants! They had someone up immediately to remedy the problem and we never saw them again. We were constantly looking for ants the rest of our stay...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are pleased for all your kind words about the staff, the room, the amazing view, the superb breakfast buffet, and it is a pleasure to know that you have appreciated the great location of the “Royal” and the our splendid garden. Just because we have a beautiful garden there may be some ants, which, of course, are attracted to the food.
I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the Royal!
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have been to Sorrento with my wife to celebrate our anniversary, and we could not have made a better choice. The town and the surrounding area are amazing, there is so much to see, and the hotel was fabulous. Very central location, close to bar, restaurants, beaches etc. and with an absolute stunning view. The staff was very polite and helpfull, and we also enjoyed staying in the pool when we were too lazy to go to the beach. Definetly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paolo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We’re happy to have been part of your anniversary celebration but we want to assure you that with or without a special reason to spend some time in Sorrento, you’ll get the best services we can provide here at the “Royal”.
We’re certainly pleased that you feel you got your money’s worth and even more. This is what we always strive for: our client’s satisfaction. We’ll make sure everybody in the staff gets to know about your favourable comments.
I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the Royal!
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

From the moment we arrived, the staff were so friendly. The views to die for and the rooms lovely. It is so close to any of the sights and easy to travel from to all the Amalfi Coast or Naples or Pompeii with the train only two euros return to Pompeii. All in all a great five days at an elegant hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majorcraique49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guests,
It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your recent visit at the Grand Hote Royal. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for the lovely compliments.
I do hope that you will visit again in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.
Warm regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is lovely, the breakfast is outstanding, so are the bedrooms and the view is simply out of this world. Would also highly commend the staff at the bar, pool area and especially the lovely gentleman at the deck area as well as the waiters at breakfast. The only fault lay with the female reception staff (2 of them) one of which was not very pleasant to say the least - one example - after we had paid a not insubstantial bill for a luxury room with full sea view for a ten day stay - all the receptionist said was 'can I have the key of the room'. She did not thank us for our stay or wish us well on our journey or said even hope to see you again. This was either bad mood day or lack of training. It reflected very badly on the hotel and would need to be corrected. Have refrained from a long time before doing this review but after considerable reflection feel that the hotel must be made aware of this lapse.

Room Tip: Should ideally choose a room with partial or full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and the time you dedicated to us. We are pleased for all your kind words about the staff, the room, the amazing view, the superb breakfast buffet, and it is a pleasure to know that you have appreciated the great location of the “Royal” and the services in general.
While I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and accommodation at Hotel Royal, I am sorry if you didn't find all perfect.
All of the staff members here are very courteous and establish a special relationship with the customers very much appreciated by our guests.
This also applies to the two girls at reception; if they do not have acted as normally do, I can guess it was perhaps because they were very busy in that moment.
The two girls were very much appreciated by all our customers and we are sorry that from this year they will not work with us anymore.
Clearly, for us is very important the relationship with customers and who will replace them will be well-trained in this.
We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
With our kindest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing