We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great traditional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great traditional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We chose the Royal after doing lots of research and liked the idea of how central it was to the amenities but still a little walk away so we could get some peace at night. When we arrived the service was courteous and efficient, everything went as planned and we were given our room early as it was ready. The only concern I had about the hotel after reading various reviews was that they had an ant problem but this is not the case at all. We stayed on the 5th floor and the whole time we were there (8 days) we didn't see any ants in either our room or anywhere in the hotel and the hotel and facilities are absolutely immaculate. Breakfast can get busy so go early, the offering is fairly large with lots of pastries, fruit, hams etc. There is an area for bacon and sausage in hot holding units and you can have your eggs freshly cooked in either an omelette or scrambled style.
The views are absolutely stunning and lunch by the pool or lower beach area are very reasonably priced, its easy to get a sun bed and I did once read that you have to pay for your beds by the beach but this is not true, everything is included in the price. Overall the hotel is perfectly situated for town, the staff are very pleasant and the facilities are well maintained and clean. This hotel in my opinion is way above 4 star and we would definitely return if in Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guests,
We thank you so much for your beautiful and kind comment on your stay posted on Tripadvisor.
Thanks to your review, future guest can be informed in a proper way about our hotel.
Attention to details and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built, throughout the years, the success of the “Royal” and, more generally speaking, of all the “Manniello Hotels”.
Thank you, In your review you mention that we have no problem about ants, that the food is reasonably priced and that the hotel is absolutely immaculate.
We were especially happy to notice that not only did you praise the hotel, but what is most important to us, our staff. I have passed your comment to our team and everybody was delighted by your kind words.
We hope to welcome you soon back to the “Royal”.
Your sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    271
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
318
839
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in July.
This was our mini honeymoon as we got married in Malta and went straight to Sorrento for our "relaxation"
Check in was an ordeal over our cards. There were ants on the bathroom floor, when I said it to reception, the receptionist just said "ok" and kept doing what he was doing.

The room was never cleaned properly and bathroom amenities were never replenished.

The corridors are so noisy so you can hear everything going on.

The views from the hotel were amazing without a doubt.

But you can only sit in certain parts of the outdoor area during the day, they take all the cushions off the lounge area until they have staff to tend to that area, for the price you pay you should be able to sit and have a coffee anywhere.

Speaking of the coffee, it is horrible and a disgrace for the price of €6.50.

The breakfast in the morning is very nicely presented and there is an egg station fir omelettes, fried eggs etc.
Other than that the quality of the food is awful.

Thankfully it is a very short walk to the centre where you will find the best of everything.

1 or 2 of the. Reception staff were great but that was it.

At 1200 for 4 nights, this was a real treat to ourselves but for us it was no where near value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our customer.
It is certainly thanks to the comments and suggestions of our Guests, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve our service but in this case, we are sorry, we can not agree with your review.
Contrary to your assertion, we respect a lot our guests; we have really great care for them and this comes to us every day confirmed by the many reviews we receive.
Having a beautiful garden there may be some ants, which, of course, are attracted to the food some guest has in the room but the maids are always taking a great care of it.
For all other guests the hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere and it would be strange that only your room in the whole hotel was not clean in the appropriate way. Same consideration for the great and delicious food served in our hotel.
Our huge terrace is always available for our customers as for those who want to dine à la carte and for those who only wish to consume at the bar.
All the reviews we receive recognize that our staff is very friendly and professional and we do not understand why they should not have been with you as well.
We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Royal and our staff are looking forward to offer their service and to take care of your every need.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just got back from a week long stay in Sorrento and stayed at this gorgeous hotel. From the service to the view to the old world decor this is the place to stay when visiting. Mauro and Salvatore at the front desk could not have been more helpful. Daily my wife and I had many questions for them and they answered each and everyone with care.

The service at this hotel is fantastic. Salvatore and Andrea made my wife and I feel like family whenever we were at the pool or the bar (which was daily). Salvatore is from Sorrento and knows all the good spots to go.

Guiseppe, at the pool restaurant, was terrific as well.

Location, Location, Location. This hotel is steps from the main square and overlooks the beautiful Bay of Naples. Also very easy to get to the marina for ferries to other parts of Amalfi Coast or train to Pompeii.

The pool is perfectly situated and they have a great deck for lounging by the bay as well.

The daily breakfast is terrific, so much food and all very fresh.

Our room was very clean and the view left us speechless. The entire hotel is spotless.

When we venture back to that part of the world again, hopefully soon, we will definitely be staying at the Grand Royal. They helped make our 10 year anniversary even that much more special.

Room Tip: Our room was on the seaside of the hotel and so quiet and peaceful. Not sure how the other side is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdevito23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. The hotel and the rooms are indeed lovely and beautifully-appointed, and all the Grand Hotel Royal team pride themselves on always going the extra mile to exceed every guest’s expectations We believe our quiet yet central location in the city of Sorrento ensures that our customers are often pleasantly surprised with the connectivity options to both all areas around Sorrento, bus, train station which are all located a short walk from the hotel.
All in all I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we would like to thank you once again for your feedback and would welcome the opportunity to have you back with us on your return visit to Sorrento.
Your sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had 5 days at The Royal in early July and overall rated the hotel very highly.
Spotlessly clean, great position only 5 minutes walk max from the centre, wonderful sea views,a fantastic breakfast and lovely gardens and pool area.
Only downside for us was we had an anniversary meal on the terrace, but my wifes main course arrived luke warm and certainly not hot. It was replaced, but my meal wasn't, which meant we eat the main course at different times. Not great on a special night. The Maitre D was aware, but apart from replacing the meal nothing was done to repair our disappointment.
That aside we would definately stay here again if returning to Sorrento

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must as the views are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilS14350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the "Royal" and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the location, and the cleanliness of our hotel.
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the “Royal”; it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied.
Regarding the dinner at the hotel, we are disappointed to read that you felt that the restaurant manager did not, on this occasion, deliver the standard of excellence so many of our customers have experienced previously. All posts related to the restaurant have always been enthusiastic regarding both the kindness and professionalism of the staff and the quality and taste of food.
Sometimes it may happen that someone gives a wrong impression especially when it is very busy but, please, be sure that even at the restaurant, as throughout the hotel, the staff is very polite and professional.
Anyway, we will check the situation and we will organize a meeting with the restaurant staff in order to ameliorate this aspect.
I really appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us very soon the opportunity to serve you again.
Best Regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Royal hotel. The hotel itself was beautiful, with a calm, traditional feel and the staff particularly senior bar attender Salvatore gave us exceptional service. Everyone made us feel welcome. The food was excellent and We looked forward to the amazing breakfast every morning.
One of our highlights of the evenings was the 7pm knock on the door from a smiling courteous young lady with fresh towels and chocolates and on our last evening she thanked us for staying and gave us a lovely tin of sweets. These simple touches separate your hotel from the average.
Once again I would like to give a special thanks to Salvatore for preparing us the best cocktails and making our stay a memorable one.
We will return to your fabulous hotel for sure.
Sabina

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy that you had a memorable stay with us. Here at the Royal we are committed to personal touches. We were especially happy to notice that not only did you praise the hotel, but what is most important to us, our staff. I have passed your comment to our team and everybody, especially Mr. Salvatore (the barman) was delighted by your kind words.
The location, the view, the food, the rooms, all our services… everything comes together to make our hotel a corner of paradise. Our Food and Beverage team know how to take care of guests, from our special dishes prepared by our Chef to the personalised services of our waiters.
The rooms are all carefully finished, prepared and controlled by our housekeeper and cleanliness is of utmost importance.
We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
My warmest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had the very best time in Sorrento. It's a bit difficult to get to Sorrento from Naples but once we finally arrived at The Grand Hotel Royal we felt like we hit the jackpot. The hotel is fantastic and the staff at every level superb. The Breakfast Room and the extensive breakfast is just fabulous. Our room was lovely and spacious, we were so lucky to get a slight upgrade as it was described. Room always kept super clean. We will difinetely go back again and request the same room with the lovely view.

The pool was perfect only one little flaw was the whirlpool did not work. The private seaside area is really great with access to a sundeck and to swim in the sea (the water was lovely) The town in only a short walk from the hotel. Everything was perfect. Thank you Grand Hotel Royal for great service and a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneYarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your nice feedback following your visit at the “Royal” and I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and thought that the hotel was “wonderful”.
I am also delighted to hear that you found the staff “at every level superb” and the breakfast “fabulous”. I am sorry that you found the whirlpool not working; sometimes clients block it in some way, but our technical unlocks it immediately without any problem.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we may assist with your room choice.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic Hotel! The sea view was amazing. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for us and made our stay perfect! Thanks to Salvatore for making great cocktails and Guiseppe for our Italian lessons at breakfast. The breakfast was fantastic and service was impeccable. We will be going back :-)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCR1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for posting such a review on the site for us and I am delighted that you found the staff to be “brilliant” and that you appreciated the fantastic service.
I am also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and that you also managed to sample Salvatore’s great cocktails.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit, also for having others Italian lessons from Giuseppe.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing