We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,867)
Filter reviews
1,867 results
Traveller rating
1,404
327
91
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
327
91
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbay of naplesthe cliffbathing platformelegant hoteltrain stationprivate beachsun deckfive minute walkhalf boardsister hotelthe main squarebreakfast buffet isfantastic hotelpastriespiazza tassobeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
837 - 842 of 1,867 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here with my husband in July for 9 nights and found the hotel very convenient for Piazza Tasso in the centre of Sorrento.
The room was spacious and had a lovely sea view. We were given Euro 149 to spend in the hotel as part of the deal when booked direct with the hotel.
There was a bottle of Prosecco and a bowl of fruit waiting for us in the room which was a nice touch.
The breakfast was outstanding with an enormous choice of sweet and savoury options. There was also a cooked breakfast and a choice of freshly prepared eggs.

The pool area was lovely with large comfortable sun beds, the only down side was that there were no umbrellas available which I found a problem as I like to get out of the sun for part of the day. Part of the pool falls into the shade by afternoon but by then all the those beds were taken.
The beach area is reached by a lift within the cliff and there is a jetty with direct access to the beach. There are umbrellas available here.
The snack bar was very limited and quite expensive, however the restaurant by the pool is a delight. The views are amazing and the choice and value for money was very good.
The grounds of the hotel are very beautiful with fabulous views.

The entire hotel is spotless and the staff are friendly and very helpful. In particular Salvatore on reception was always ready with a smile and a friendly word. He was also very helpful in arranging a change in booking for us. We had booked into a hotel restaurant in Massa Lubrense which is only reached by sea. We had to change the booking because it rained on the day we were due to go and he was very helpful in arranging the staff to collect us by boat.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and I have only reduced the rating because of the umbrellas by the pool.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room on the first floor. The view was slightly limited by the trees but I imagine rooms on higher floors would have an uninterrupted view. However, they are more expensive and since the views are beautiful throughout the hotel we didn't feel it was necessary.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and the time you dedicated to us. We are pleased for all your kind words about the room, the amazing view, the superb breakfast buffet, and it is a pleasure to know that you have appreciated the great location of the “Royal” and the services in general.
Thanks for confirming that “the entire hotel is spotless and the staff are friendly and very helpful”; all the member of our staff are so thankful especially Salvatore on reception for having mentioned him. Thank you for your willingness to recommend our hotel and, on behalf of the whole team, I look forward to having you again soon as guest at the Grand Hotel Royal.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for 7 nights commencing 25th July with our daughter and granddaughters ,we had rooms on the 3rd floor . The rooms were immaculate (in fact the whole of the hotel is) The toiletries were renewed daily and the view from the rooms was spectacular.
'
The staff are welcoming ,helpful and friendly and work extremely hard to cater for everyone's needs. The waiters were immaculately dressed and provided excellent,quick service, always with a smile as did Rosa our chambermaid. Mauro and his colleagues on reception were very helpful and informative.

We stayed on a half board basis the food was very good and the snack bar menu and the restaurant menu were extensive and prices compared very favourably with those in town.

We had a superb holiday we had no complaints at all (our granddaughters would like pancakes on the breakfast menu next time we return !! )

A delightful place ,worth every penny.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors have lovely views over the bay .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We have received your magnificent comment on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write it on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you had a marvellous stay at the Royal; your appreciation for our location, the stunning view, the “superb breakfast” and for our great staff makes us proud of our work. A special thanks from the chambermaid Rosa and from Mauro together with his colleagues at the reception for having mentioned them in your review.
We are very pleased, as well, that you confirmed that the food is very good both at the snack and at the restaurant and the prices are very favourably. We would like to thank you for your words:
“A delightful place ,worth every penny” and for having been our most welcome guests and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After 4 nights in Sorrento at the Grand Hotel Royal and 3 in Rome, we look back on the Sorrento experience as the one we'd like to repeat (not that Rome was bad, just different). The GHR is satisfying on so many levels. It's hard to believe the Hotel was built only in the 60s. It is constructed so well and built in a style as if it had been built some decades earlier, but it has all modern functioning conveniences. The continental breakfast is not to be bettered anywhere. The view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius was fabulous. The location close enough to town but far enough away to not be noisy was excellent. The restaurant was superb, especially when you eat outside at sunset. The pool & "beach" are wonderful. The staff is nothing if not cordial and accommodating. Plenty of English is spoken, but they appreciate your attempts at Italian. If we ever torneremo a Sorrento, this is the place we would go.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Bay of Naples.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your nice comment regarding our staff is the best compliment that a Hotel Manager can receive and I will be pleased to share it with my entire team; your kind recognition will be very well received.
The location, the view, the food, the rooms, all our services… everything comes together to make our hotel a corner of paradise. Our Food and Beverage team know how to take care of guests, from our special dishes prepared by our Chef to the personalised services of our waiters.
The rooms are all carefully finished, prepared and controlled by our housekeeper and cleanliness is of utmost importance.
Thanks to your review, future guests can be more informed about our hotel, we are glad that you were able to mention every aspect of your experience.
On behalf of the whole team, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal soon.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned from a 7 day break celebrating our silver wedding anniversary, the hotel was excellent. The staff were really helpful and friendly at all times and nothing was to much trouble. Really good range of food at breakfast and evening meals. Bedrooms good size, clean and tidy.
Location of hotel was only a 5 min walk from centre of Sorrento.
1st hotel that we have stayed in that you don't have to put your towel out on sun lounger early morning. Would recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your visit with us and I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and thought that the hotel was excellent.
I am also delighted to hear that you found the staff extremely friendly and the food very good.
We feel very privileged that you chose to spend your special anniversary with us, and hope you will join us to celebrate many anniversaries to come.
Thank you for your recommendation and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we may assist with your room choice.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a fantastic hotel, deserving of it's rating and consistently good reviews. Returned today from a 4 night break for our 30th wedding anniversary and it was everything we hoped for. Facilities were excellent, staff fantastic and the restaurants superb. We ate a' la carte on the terrace on the last night and it was a great meal in superb surroundings. I am on this site looking to book for next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CCully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guests
We thank you so much for the precious time you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Royal.
Thank you, especially, for having written all those beautiful words confirming what reported in almost all reviews we receive. Every now and then we happen to be dealing with particular people ... or to receive fake reviews, but we can do nothing about it.
All the members of our staff are so thankful to have mentioned their attitude towards you during your stay.
We are so glad to learn that your stay was really pleasant and we thank you for your patronage.
We really hope to welcome soon again at the “Royal”, in the meantime, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Your sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews