We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,867)
Filter reviews
1,867 results
Traveller rating
1,404
327
91
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
327
91
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbay of naplesthe cliffbathing platformelegant hoteltrain stationprivate beachsun deckfive minute walkhalf boardsister hotelthe main squarebreakfast buffet isfantastic hotelpastriespiazza tassobeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
834 - 839 of 1,867 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A first class hotel with superb staff dedicated to looking after you and making you feel valued.We had dinner out but breakfast was excellent.We missed the ability to have several cups of early tea and coffee not from room service but understand they are not allowed to provide tea making facilities; a pity because sun rise and views over Vesuvius were mind blowing.
The only problem was nothing to do with the hotel;the booked and confirmed taxi which should have been provided by Thomson did not arrive until the hotel( again to their credit) had made 5 telephone calls.Being 45 minutes late the taxi drove like a maniac for an hour which took the edge off things.

Room Tip: Front high room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pannones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you have taken to comment your stay with us.
We have appreciated all your compliments about the breakfast and the staff.
We hope to welcome you soon back to the “Royal” and we are looking forward to offer our services and to take care of your every need.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Really nice hotel - and very high standard.
Fantastic pool and private lift down to the sea - really friendly staff. Comfortable rooms.
We booked a non sea view and that seems a sensible option - the view from our room was fine and over the town square - not quite the "staring at another building" view I was expecting.
Watch out for Bands playing in the square - which took place twice during our one week visit.

Room Tip: We had two standard rooms - one was much larger than the other - so it's always worth asking to see another room if you don't like the first. Sea view seems an expensive luxury.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GarryHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you for this review on the Hotel Royal!
It is a pleasure to read these words of appreciation, I'm so happy you had good time at the “Royal” We’re glad we were able to meet your expectation of how a hotel should be. This is really what we always strive for: to make every stay worth its while and to meet every client’s heart’s desire.
Thank you for highlighting our great staff. It gives me great pleasure to know that the staff left such a magnificent impression on you as our service is something we take great pride in. We truly appreciate when guests notice our dedication and our attention to detail and I am thrilled that you wrote: " Really nice hotel - and very high standard".
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Yours Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Royal as a party of 6 after a week in Capri. The hotel is well located, 5 minutes walk from the centre of the town and 15 minutes walk to the port. Shops and restaurants are in easy reach. The hotel has a fantastic terrace with beautiful views over the Bay, excellent seating areas both in the gardens and in a comfortable covered terrace. Rooms are comfortable and have a decent free Wi Fi service. Breakfast was excellent for a European 4* hotel and service was also very good indeed. I can't think of any significant drawbacks for the hotel other than the fact that the rooms seemed to be susceptible to infestation by flying ants - I guess that goes with the territory! A very nice and well run hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony at the front of the hotel, overlooking the Bay - the views are excellent. We were only able to get a side balcony as the hotel was very busy - even these balconies offered very nice sea views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you for reviewing the “Royal”. We are very happy that you enjoyed our very privileged location in the hearth of Sorrento and close to so many local amenities. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all our facilities we have on offer at the hotel. We believe that our service is what truly sets us apart from our competitors and reading your great comments just enforces our belief. Having a beautiful garden makes that there may be some insects, is part of nature, but they are not so many. Thank you for writing “a very nice and well run hotel”.
Please, do come and stay with us again in the near future where I am sure we will once again meet your expectations.
Yours Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here with my husband in July for 9 nights and found the hotel very convenient for Piazza Tasso in the centre of Sorrento.
The room was spacious and had a lovely sea view. We were given Euro 149 to spend in the hotel as part of the deal when booked direct with the hotel.
There was a bottle of Prosecco and a bowl of fruit waiting for us in the room which was a nice touch.
The breakfast was outstanding with an enormous choice of sweet and savoury options. There was also a cooked breakfast and a choice of freshly prepared eggs.

The pool area was lovely with large comfortable sun beds, the only down side was that there were no umbrellas available which I found a problem as I like to get out of the sun for part of the day. Part of the pool falls into the shade by afternoon but by then all the those beds were taken.
The beach area is reached by a lift within the cliff and there is a jetty with direct access to the beach. There are umbrellas available here.
The snack bar was very limited and quite expensive, however the restaurant by the pool is a delight. The views are amazing and the choice and value for money was very good.
The grounds of the hotel are very beautiful with fabulous views.

The entire hotel is spotless and the staff are friendly and very helpful. In particular Salvatore on reception was always ready with a smile and a friendly word. He was also very helpful in arranging a change in booking for us. We had booked into a hotel restaurant in Massa Lubrense which is only reached by sea. We had to change the booking because it rained on the day we were due to go and he was very helpful in arranging the staff to collect us by boat.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and I have only reduced the rating because of the umbrellas by the pool.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room on the first floor. The view was slightly limited by the trees but I imagine rooms on higher floors would have an uninterrupted view. However, they are more expensive and since the views are beautiful throughout the hotel we didn't feel it was necessary.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and the time you dedicated to us. We are pleased for all your kind words about the room, the amazing view, the superb breakfast buffet, and it is a pleasure to know that you have appreciated the great location of the “Royal” and the services in general.
Thanks for confirming that “the entire hotel is spotless and the staff are friendly and very helpful”; all the member of our staff are so thankful especially Salvatore on reception for having mentioned him. Thank you for your willingness to recommend our hotel and, on behalf of the whole team, I look forward to having you again soon as guest at the Grand Hotel Royal.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for 7 nights commencing 25th July with our daughter and granddaughters ,we had rooms on the 3rd floor . The rooms were immaculate (in fact the whole of the hotel is) The toiletries were renewed daily and the view from the rooms was spectacular.
'
The staff are welcoming ,helpful and friendly and work extremely hard to cater for everyone's needs. The waiters were immaculately dressed and provided excellent,quick service, always with a smile as did Rosa our chambermaid. Mauro and his colleagues on reception were very helpful and informative.

We stayed on a half board basis the food was very good and the snack bar menu and the restaurant menu were extensive and prices compared very favourably with those in town.

We had a superb holiday we had no complaints at all (our granddaughters would like pancakes on the breakfast menu next time we return !! )

A delightful place ,worth every penny.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors have lovely views over the bay .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We have received your magnificent comment on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write it on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you had a marvellous stay at the Royal; your appreciation for our location, the stunning view, the “superb breakfast” and for our great staff makes us proud of our work. A special thanks from the chambermaid Rosa and from Mauro together with his colleagues at the reception for having mentioned them in your review.
We are very pleased, as well, that you confirmed that the food is very good both at the snack and at the restaurant and the prices are very favourably. We would like to thank you for your words:
“A delightful place ,worth every penny” and for having been our most welcome guests and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews