We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,867)
Filter reviews
1,867 results
Traveller rating
1,404
327
91
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
327
91
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbay of naplesthe cliffbathing platformelegant hoteltrain stationprivate beachsun deckfive minute walkhalf boardsister hotelthe main squarebreakfast buffet isfantastic hotelpastriespiazza tassobeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
830 - 835 of 1,867 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights late July 2014 and enjoyed the hotel and particularly the fantastic views across the Bay of Naples and to Mount Vesuvius. Only used the hotel on a B&B basis, but staff all very friendly and helpful and buffet breakfast was excellent. We had a side view room with balcony which had a nice veranda and a partial view of the sea one way and the road the other. If we stayed again, we would pay a bit extra for a direct sea view. Only slight disappointment was that the room did not have any tea or coffee making facilities, but other than that we had no complaints at all. Hotel is very convenient to the main square and shopping streets of Sorrento (5-10 mins walk approx.). Free WiFi was included and was quite a decent speed.

Room Tip: If your budget allows it, go for a sea view room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for this review on the Hotel Royal.
It is a pleasure to read these words of appreciation, I'm so happy you had good time at the “Royal” and that our place often give special emotions to the travellers who come to stay with us! Thank you. We’re glad we were able to meet your expectation of how a hotel should be. This is really what we always strive for: to make every stay worth its while and to meet every client’s heart’s desire.
Thank you for highlighting our great staff and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed everything of our hotel especially the excellent buffet breakfast. It gives me great pleasure to know that the staff left such a magnificent impression on you as our service is something we take great pride in. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Yours Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a fabulous 11 night stay in July at this marvellous hotel. The staff are highly polite and courteous and very helpful. Salvatore on reception couldn't do enough and Guiseppe in the restaurant did everything we asked him for and after day 1 knew what drinks we wanted every morning!! The hotel has style and class and is a true Italian type hotel which is kept immaculately clean.
drinks at the hotel are rather expensive compared to just out the hotel and that stopped us getting more at the bar. The bar staff are however excellent and eager to please.
We asked for a high room and were given exactly that and facing the sea which has a view to die for! The room was clean and truly Italian in style with a fabulous marble bathroom and plenty of space for storage.
Sunbeds were a bit of a problem with beds being saved early morning and then never used and staff did not notice or do anything. However the beds round the pool were large and very comfortable.
The hotel is in a great location for the train port and town and really could not be beaten.
Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: sea facing high room is well worth the extra. Rooms on the back may well be noisy from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkyDivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely comments on the Grand Hotel Royal. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and particularly our service. Our team do strive to exceed all our guests expectations and to read that we have succeeded is just fantastic. The Grand Hotel Royal enjoys a unique location in the center of Sorrento, surrounded by a magnificent centuries-old park; a green oasis in the heart of Sorrento with a breathtaking view of the gulf of Naples.Thanks for confirming that the staff is “highly polite and courteous and very helpful” and that “The hotel has style and class and is a true Italian type hotel which is kept immaculately clean”.
We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay, and look forward to having you back.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Sorrento for three nights in July. We paid extra for a sea facing room and it was worth every penny - the views were amazing. The hotel has a lovely feel to it, its is elegant, spacious and very clean and although it was busy it never felt busy. Our room was on the third floor, the bed was very comfortable and as previously mentioned the views were outstanding. There is a fully stocked mini bar which i thought was reasonably priced, lots of wardrobe space and the shower was great! We had breakfast which was good, not a huge choice but what was there was lovely. The decking/swimming area is beautiful and lovely to lie and relax and have a swim. We did have an evening meal in the main restaurant, there isnt a great deal of atmosphere but the service and food were both excellent. Every member of staff we spoke to were helpful and friendly. Location is great for shops, restaurants and bar - i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will return.

Room Tip: Sea facing room is well worth the extra money
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the hotel and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the food, the staff, the rooms and services in general.
The satisfaction of our guests is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you very soon again in the “Royal”.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved this hotel! Our family stayed for a week in July. It has fantastic views from the pool side restaurant and verandah. The pool was good as was the bathing platform my boys enjoyed both and was nice to have 2 venues to choose from. Cannot fault the perfect service from the staff especially the waiters & maids which service the room every day. Food at the pool side restaurant very reasonable so ate there most days for lunch also the view to die for. The hotel is also a 5 min stroll from the centre of Sorrento. We got the train (station 5 mins from hotel) to Pomeii which was surprisingly easy & cheap just got off train and was right outside the archaelogiocal site. Below the hotel is the marina picollo where we got the jetfoil to Capri which although expensive was very convenient & good service at 20 mins. All in all a fab holiday and missing the hotel & all it's staff already!!!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view you wont be disappointed and quiter side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your beautiful expression to describe your stay as a " All in all a fab holiday and missing the hotel & all its staff already”
Sorrento is one of the most famous holiday destination in Italy and the “Royal” is one of the most renowned hotel in the hearth of the city. It has a private beach, a centuries-old garden, the terrace “La Terrasse” with its amazing view, the staff is professional and friendly. All these aspects render our hotel unique and exclusive. We have appreciated all your kind words to describe the hotel, the staff, especially the waiters and maids and the quality of our restaurant.
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the “Royal”, it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again at the “Royal”, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A first class hotel with superb staff dedicated to looking after you and making you feel valued.We had dinner out but breakfast was excellent.We missed the ability to have several cups of early tea and coffee not from room service but understand they are not allowed to provide tea making facilities; a pity because sun rise and views over Vesuvius were mind blowing.
The only problem was nothing to do with the hotel;the booked and confirmed taxi which should have been provided by Thomson did not arrive until the hotel( again to their credit) had made 5 telephone calls.Being 45 minutes late the taxi drove like a maniac for an hour which took the edge off things.

Room Tip: Front high room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pannones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you have taken to comment your stay with us.
We have appreciated all your compliments about the breakfast and the staff.
We hope to welcome you soon back to the “Royal” and we are looking forward to offer our services and to take care of your every need.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews