We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,867)
Filter reviews
1,867 results
Traveller rating
1,404
327
91
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
327
91
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbay of naplesthe cliffbathing platformelegant hoteltrain stationprivate beachsun deckfive minute walkhalf boardsister hotelthe main squarebreakfast buffet isfantastic hotelpastriespiazza tassobeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
828 - 833 of 1,867 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family and I spend 11 nights at the Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento in July 2014. We had a wonderful stay and I cannot fault the hotel in anyway. The staff were friendly and could not do enough for us. The hotel was clean, fresh and perfectly located for both Sorrento and as a base for the Amalfi coast, Pompeii etc.. The pool and beach areas were excellent as were the dining and bar Also the hotel was really good value for money ! All in all great hotel, great staff and we will be going back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Royal and for taking the time to write your lovely review.
We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much; our goal is to indeed spoil our guests from the moment they arrive until the moment they have to leave and we’re so glad that you have been writing “the hotel was really good value for money” and “all in all great hotel, great staff and we will be going back soon”.
We hope to see you back very soon at the “Royal”and do remember to book with us directly to receive the best available rates and special offers.
Kind Regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had stayed at the Baglioni in Rome in July and when we returned in August to Sorrento, we stayed at the Royal but found the latter experience somewhat short of 5*.

The hotel has a box in the hallway which asks for feedback but as my flight was leaving at 9 in the morning i didn't have time to record it there but here are all my observations. The picture attached will help you decide whether they have a proper due attention to detail.

Location - superb with great views

Staff - umm this is where compared to the Baglioni the hotel was found SERIOUSLY lacking. Waiters/waitresses and service staff are fine. No problem there.
But there are no women at the front of house/reception. The hotel was founded by an uncle/nephew and think they kept women out of the place from day one--- it lacks a lightness of touch generally.

Nobody smiles at the reception. They need training imho. The main chap, Ciro, we encountered most of the time was miserable. Maybe its a language thing if i am being kind. But demeanour was quite unapproachable and , ahem , i found him slightly arrogant/beligerent. For instance, my wife had a couple of vouchers (for meals etc) presented to her by the hotel when she booked from the UK. She had printed these out but the frame bled off the edge of the page when they printed and the Jobsworth initially refused to take them even though the text had printed in its entirety. He was convinced there was more text even though the screen shot shows there wasn't and he encounters the same voucher every day of the week. Given we were spending Euros3000+ on a four day stay and the voucher was for Eu140his behaviour was that of a 2 bit joint. A cheap stunt. Come on man, this is not Marrakech where i might expect this racket. Similarly , when we had arrived he took all our credit card details (and pre registered payment) and took passports away to photocopy them retaining them for 24 hours, which we found rather odd as the next day they were just in their unlocked drawer.....

There is no concierge, no door man. So often a queue forms to speak to someone at reception.

Breakfast great. No issues there.

Rooms are a bit dated. We were at the rear of the hotel so fairly rubbish view of someones fruit cages/vegetable patch. But we were out doing trips so didn't really care.

Generally the look of the room seems tired but it seems recent. Tiled in a moorish tile and then the furniture is newish looking but looks like mdf with some veneer and inlay, just didn't sit well together in style with the floor.
Given sorrento is so well known for sorrentoware and inlays this was a bit suspect. I would expect this gig in a 3* hotel. If you are used to classic antique furniture you will be disappointed. All the rooms are identically furnished, again it is the lack of a female touch which makes the rooms a bit stark/not soft enough. And some rather odd observations to throw in there - there's a big column that goes across the bath tub in the bath rooms and this divides the bathtub and darkens the room a bit too much for my liking. It really kind of shows a lack of attention to detail when this place was constructed. They could easily have turned the bath round. Not rocket science.Similarly, the bedroom ceiling is vaulted but they spoil it all with a great big fire alarm plonked in the middle of the vault. It looks wrong and shows poor thought to design, probably a man who didn't care about aesthetics.

Rooms were generally as clean as you could be expect but only cleaned once a day.
Not refreshed in the evenings.
Rubbish doesn't seem to get removed throughout our four day stay. I had earbuds and crisp packets which remained on the beside for the duration. No complementary gowns, towel slippers, etc.
No welcome fruit, chocolates or water in the room when you arrive.
Again some very serious failings which i feel let the place down. They don't cost much.

And the pool ----what can i say???! There is crazy paving round it that has seen better times. it is so uneven and chock full of weeds!!!! See the picture. And they serve drinks and water in GLASS bottles and glasses. How ridiculous. Im surprised no one has considered this to be a trip hazard and whether the use of glass round the pool has passed a health and safety inspection.
And the wetness of the towels/odour made me suspect they fold the dirty towels and bring them back out the next day rather than washing them.

In essence, its a great location but many shortcomings.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! Too many shortcomings to call this a 5* hotel
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for letting us compared to the 5-star luxury Grand Hotel Baglioni in Rome. We very much appreciate the female staff, so true is it they are in all departments of the hotel. At the reception desk there is a girl and we are surprised that you have never seen her; it is one less than last year because one has moved to a city in northern Italy. Our staff is highly appreciated by all our customers and especially the staff of the front desk is judged friendly and very professional. Regarding the night porter we will verify with him what happened. In any case we apologize in advance and if, as you claim, he acted in an improper manner we will take appropriate action. The gift voucher discount that we grant to customers who book directly with us is very much appreciated and it is something extra than just we do. At the pool drinks are served in plastic cups but it happens that some clients gets served to the bar in glass beakers and then carry it around the garden and by the swimming pool as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights late July 2014 and enjoyed the hotel and particularly the fantastic views across the Bay of Naples and to Mount Vesuvius. Only used the hotel on a B&B basis, but staff all very friendly and helpful and buffet breakfast was excellent. We had a side view room with balcony which had a nice veranda and a partial view of the sea one way and the road the other. If we stayed again, we would pay a bit extra for a direct sea view. Only slight disappointment was that the room did not have any tea or coffee making facilities, but other than that we had no complaints at all. Hotel is very convenient to the main square and shopping streets of Sorrento (5-10 mins walk approx.). Free WiFi was included and was quite a decent speed.

Room Tip: If your budget allows it, go for a sea view room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for this review on the Hotel Royal.
It is a pleasure to read these words of appreciation, I'm so happy you had good time at the “Royal” and that our place often give special emotions to the travellers who come to stay with us! Thank you. We’re glad we were able to meet your expectation of how a hotel should be. This is really what we always strive for: to make every stay worth its while and to meet every client’s heart’s desire.
Thank you for highlighting our great staff and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed everything of our hotel especially the excellent buffet breakfast. It gives me great pleasure to know that the staff left such a magnificent impression on you as our service is something we take great pride in. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Yours Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a fabulous 11 night stay in July at this marvellous hotel. The staff are highly polite and courteous and very helpful. Salvatore on reception couldn't do enough and Guiseppe in the restaurant did everything we asked him for and after day 1 knew what drinks we wanted every morning!! The hotel has style and class and is a true Italian type hotel which is kept immaculately clean.
drinks at the hotel are rather expensive compared to just out the hotel and that stopped us getting more at the bar. The bar staff are however excellent and eager to please.
We asked for a high room and were given exactly that and facing the sea which has a view to die for! The room was clean and truly Italian in style with a fabulous marble bathroom and plenty of space for storage.
Sunbeds were a bit of a problem with beds being saved early morning and then never used and staff did not notice or do anything. However the beds round the pool were large and very comfortable.
The hotel is in a great location for the train port and town and really could not be beaten.
Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: sea facing high room is well worth the extra. Rooms on the back may well be noisy from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkyDivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely comments on the Grand Hotel Royal. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and particularly our service. Our team do strive to exceed all our guests expectations and to read that we have succeeded is just fantastic. The Grand Hotel Royal enjoys a unique location in the center of Sorrento, surrounded by a magnificent centuries-old park; a green oasis in the heart of Sorrento with a breathtaking view of the gulf of Naples.Thanks for confirming that the staff is “highly polite and courteous and very helpful” and that “The hotel has style and class and is a true Italian type hotel which is kept immaculately clean”.
We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay, and look forward to having you back.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Sorrento for three nights in July. We paid extra for a sea facing room and it was worth every penny - the views were amazing. The hotel has a lovely feel to it, its is elegant, spacious and very clean and although it was busy it never felt busy. Our room was on the third floor, the bed was very comfortable and as previously mentioned the views were outstanding. There is a fully stocked mini bar which i thought was reasonably priced, lots of wardrobe space and the shower was great! We had breakfast which was good, not a huge choice but what was there was lovely. The decking/swimming area is beautiful and lovely to lie and relax and have a swim. We did have an evening meal in the main restaurant, there isnt a great deal of atmosphere but the service and food were both excellent. Every member of staff we spoke to were helpful and friendly. Location is great for shops, restaurants and bar - i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will return.

Room Tip: Sea facing room is well worth the extra money
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the hotel and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the food, the staff, the rooms and services in general.
The satisfaction of our guests is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you very soon again in the “Royal”.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews