We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel Amazing service”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We unfortunately did not stay in this hotel but their sister hotel de la ville! We however were able to use the beach facilities in the Royal all we can say is "top notch" what really impressed us was the reception staff who were so friendly and welcoming! The hotel is amazing, the beach facilities very classy! We ate there full lunch both days and everything was perfect! This hotel certainly is 5 star! We are so sorry we did not stay here but we will return next summer for sure! Congratulations Royal! Cu next year

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank irelandsinglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guests,
All my staff and me would like to thank you so much for your beautiful comment.
We are really pleased for all your kind words about the “Hotel” and the reception staff. Thank you for your words of appreciation, we are so happy you had a good time at the “Royal” and that our place often gives special emotions to the travellers who come to stay with us!
Best regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent 2 weeks here and loved every minute. The room was a good size, very comfortable bed and plenty of storage space. It was kept clean even when we left the 'do not disturb sign' on by mistake until the afternoon. The housekeeper checked that we wanted new towels and sorted the room out. The buffet breakfast was excellent - good choice of hot and cold food, freshly cooked omelettes and eggs and even glorious cream cakes and prosecco! I did check this out on a few occasions - just to make sure it was ok. Access to train and bus station is easy -literally 5 minutes just up the road where you can get to Pompeii, Naples and Positano. We did not eat in hotel in evening - bit expensive and nicer to go and explore Sorrento town where there are many good restaurants - see our reviews on these. Reception was particularly helpful - willing to show us where bus stops, shops etc were on a map and explain how to get there. Only negative point was long wait for lunch on last day. We will return - thank you

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view or sit out on terrace at night to see sunset if at back - not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JMASON13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We thank you so much for your comment on your stay posted on Trip advisor.
We have appreciated all your compliments about the location of the hotel, the rooms, the friendly and helpful staff, the view, the buffet breakfast and the cleanliness of the whole hotel.
Our delicious dishes are freshly prepared and therefore you felt that the service at lunch time was slow. Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay and look forward to having you back.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely, elegant Hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the views amazing. Right out to Mount Vesuvius! I especially loved the terraced area, where you could have a cocktail or dine overlooking the sea. Very romantic for couples. The lobby and common areas were beautiful, and the reception helpful.
The breakfast was a feast of choices, including freshly made omelets, pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, etc.
I was amazed at the size of the room. It was a suite with separate living room area. The bath was large with two separate sink areas.
One comment is that I would have liked to have the sheets changed daily.
I was a solo visitor, and this is definitely not a place for singles. The average age was over 60. But the location was perfect for walking into town for shopping, dining,etc. And it was very close to the port where you can catch a boat to Capri, Positano, Amalfi, etc. Also walking distance to the train station and bus terminal.
I did have trouble with the wifi, but the staff helped me with it.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We thank you so much for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Royal on Trip advisor.
We have appreciated your positive comments about the room, the great location of the hotel, the buffet breakfast and the kindness of the whole staff especially at the “reception”.
We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests.
Please, be free to e-mail or contact us for any further information or assistance you may require.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and didn't want to leave!! I could not fault anything about this hotel. The staff, food, rooms and view are absolutely to die for! I would recommend this place to anyone looking at staying in the beautiful Sorrento.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the wonderful review and the time you have taken to comment on Trip advisor, we truly appreciate it.
We are very happy to learn that your stay was pleasant and we thank you for your patronage. Reading your review, we can say that our service, facilities and our location is consistent trying to improve and please our guest as best as possible, from our housekeeping staff to the front desk, concierge, kitchen and restaurants, we go that extra mile to satisfy our guests and making them truly feel like they are at home.
We thank you for having chosen our hotel once again for your stay, and look forward to having you back.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I only stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful hotel, which was a big mistake on hindsight. The staff was more than wonderful and the hotel oozes class and warmth. We had asked for a room with see view, which we did not get, BUT instead we were offered an upgrade with a beautifully decorated room and large private balcony. The pool area was superb, and so was the private beach far below the hotel terrace, to be reached by elevator. Stunning views over the Bay of Napoli. We are definitely coming back next summer and will then stay for a week. Sorrento itself is a dream, with restaurants to die for, not least the Michelin rated "Terrazza Bosquet", serving one of the best meals we have ever had, with Italian wines, surely made in heaven. Our only complaint about the hotel is the poor lunch service at the terrazza restaurant, also advertised as a "gourmet" experience, which it simply was not. The time to stay in Sorrento is late July, when one is sure to catch the best fire works ever. That show will live in our memories forever, and is part of the reason why we will return next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonas-disco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review following your stay with us and for your very kind words about the team, our wonderful terrace , the location, the breakfast and all our services.
I am also delighted that we were able to offer you an upgrade.
We are a very dedicated team of people who take immense pride in what we do and we want each and every guest to feel as you did, like you were the only guests. We regret that, in contrast to other customers, you have not enjoyed the lunch served at "La Terrasse". Could happen, not everyone has the same tastes and for that, if advised by the customer, our waiters always offer a different dish if they do not like something.
We are happy that your experience left you wanting to come back. We do hope that you will and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with a booking.
Until next time,
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family and I spend 11 nights at the Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento in July 2014. We had a wonderful stay and I cannot fault the hotel in anyway. The staff were friendly and could not do enough for us. The hotel was clean, fresh and perfectly located for both Sorrento and as a base for the Amalfi coast, Pompeii etc.. The pool and beach areas were excellent as were the dining and bar Also the hotel was really good value for money ! All in all great hotel, great staff and we will be going back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Royal and for taking the time to write your lovely review.
We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much; our goal is to indeed spoil our guests from the moment they arrive until the moment they have to leave and we’re so glad that you have been writing “the hotel was really good value for money” and “all in all great hotel, great staff and we will be going back soon”.
We hope to see you back very soon at the “Royal”and do remember to book with us directly to receive the best available rates and special offers.
Kind Regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had stayed at the Baglioni in Rome in July and when we returned in August to Sorrento, we stayed at the Royal but found the latter experience somewhat short of 5*.

The hotel has a box in the hallway which asks for feedback but as my flight was leaving at 9 in the morning i didn't have time to record it there but here are all my observations. The picture attached will help you decide whether they have a proper due attention to detail.

Location - superb with great views

Staff - umm this is where compared to the Baglioni the hotel was found SERIOUSLY lacking. Waiters/waitresses and service staff are fine. No problem there.
But there are no women at the front of house/reception. The hotel was founded by an uncle/nephew and think they kept women out of the place from day one--- it lacks a lightness of touch generally.

Nobody smiles at the reception. They need training imho. The main chap, Ciro, we encountered most of the time was miserable. Maybe its a language thing if i am being kind. But demeanour was quite unapproachable and , ahem , i found him slightly arrogant/beligerent. For instance, my wife had a couple of vouchers (for meals etc) presented to her by the hotel when she booked from the UK. She had printed these out but the frame bled off the edge of the page when they printed and the Jobsworth initially refused to take them even though the text had printed in its entirety. He was convinced there was more text even though the screen shot shows there wasn't and he encounters the same voucher every day of the week. Given we were spending Euros3000+ on a four day stay and the voucher was for Eu140his behaviour was that of a 2 bit joint. A cheap stunt. Come on man, this is not Marrakech where i might expect this racket. Similarly , when we had arrived he took all our credit card details (and pre registered payment) and took passports away to photocopy them retaining them for 24 hours, which we found rather odd as the next day they were just in their unlocked drawer.....

There is no concierge, no door man. So often a queue forms to speak to someone at reception.

Breakfast great. No issues there.

Rooms are a bit dated. We were at the rear of the hotel so fairly rubbish view of someones fruit cages/vegetable patch. But we were out doing trips so didn't really care.

Generally the look of the room seems tired but it seems recent. Tiled in a moorish tile and then the furniture is newish looking but looks like mdf with some veneer and inlay, just didn't sit well together in style with the floor.
Given sorrento is so well known for sorrentoware and inlays this was a bit suspect. I would expect this gig in a 3* hotel. If you are used to classic antique furniture you will be disappointed. All the rooms are identically furnished, again it is the lack of a female touch which makes the rooms a bit stark/not soft enough. And some rather odd observations to throw in there - there's a big column that goes across the bath tub in the bath rooms and this divides the bathtub and darkens the room a bit too much for my liking. It really kind of shows a lack of attention to detail when this place was constructed. They could easily have turned the bath round. Not rocket science.Similarly, the bedroom ceiling is vaulted but they spoil it all with a great big fire alarm plonked in the middle of the vault. It looks wrong and shows poor thought to design, probably a man who didn't care about aesthetics.

Rooms were generally as clean as you could be expect but only cleaned once a day.
Not refreshed in the evenings.
Rubbish doesn't seem to get removed throughout our four day stay. I had earbuds and crisp packets which remained on the beside for the duration. No complementary gowns, towel slippers, etc.
No welcome fruit, chocolates or water in the room when you arrive.
Again some very serious failings which i feel let the place down. They don't cost much.

And the pool ----what can i say???! There is crazy paving round it that has seen better times. it is so uneven and chock full of weeds!!!! See the picture. And they serve drinks and water in GLASS bottles and glasses. How ridiculous. Im surprised no one has considered this to be a trip hazard and whether the use of glass round the pool has passed a health and safety inspection.
And the wetness of the towels/odour made me suspect they fold the dirty towels and bring them back out the next day rather than washing them.

In essence, its a great location but many shortcomings.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! Too many shortcomings to call this a 5* hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for letting us compared to the 5-star luxury Grand Hotel Baglioni in Rome. We very much appreciate the female staff, so true is it they are in all departments of the hotel. At the reception desk there is a girl and we are surprised that you have never seen her; it is one less than last year because one has moved to a city in northern Italy. Our staff is highly appreciated by all our customers and especially the staff of the front desk is judged friendly and very professional. Regarding the night porter we will verify with him what happened. In any case we apologize in advance and if, as you claim, he acted in an improper manner we will take appropriate action. The gift voucher discount that we grant to customers who book directly with us is very much appreciated and it is something extra than just we do. At the pool drinks are served in plastic cups but it happens that some clients gets served to the bar in glass beakers and then carry it around the garden and by the swimming pool as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £200 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing