We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woderful hotel and great location. Can't wait to return”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We selected the Grand Royal as the hotel at which we wanted to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. Not cheap and we paid the extra for a sea view and it was worth every penny. Our room was very comfortable and the views of Vesuvius over the trees and plants outside our balcony were wonderful. Breakfasts in the atrium were varied and plentiful and the service was very good with nothing being too much trouble for the team. Evening dining was not cheap but as a last night treat we pushed the boat out had a wonderful dinner on the terrace and were rewarded with the most beautiful sunset imaginable. With the pool, the lower terrace and the decking offering the chance to swim in the Mediterranean we were spoilt for choice as to where to relax so we spent our days moving between all three. Well situated close to town centre (10 min walk) and train/bus stations if you want to make your own way further afield. Overall it was a wonderful holiday in a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. We’ll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea view. You'll regret it if you don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LeightonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your visit with us and I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and thought that the hotel was “wonderful”.
I am also delighted to hear that you found the staff extremely friendly and that you enjoyed a wonderful dinner on the terrace watching “the most beautiful sunset imaginable”.
We feel very privileged that you chose to spend your special anniversary with us, and hope you will join us to celebrate many anniversaries to come.
We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel, and we were very pleased to see that the standards were just as high as before.

All of the staff really go out of their way to be friendly and that helps to make a holiday more enjoyable.
The head barman, Salvatore was friendly to chat with and was always willing to suggest a different cocktail to try. In the restaurant, Antonio, Giuseppe, M.Grazia, Rosario and Michele made breakfast and dinner a very enjoyable experience.

The breakfast selection is comprehensive from fruit to cakes, cold meat to cereals and egg dishes are made to order. The quality of the food at Dinner is simply stunning and you really have to leave room for the desserts.

We had a sea view room on the 5th floor and the view across the bay of Naples to Vesuvius is something to behold. The room itself is a good size and was cleaned to a very high standard each day.

During our two-week stay, we used the private beach decked area every day and the sea was very clean. The pool area looked clean and inviting, but more guests seem to be ‘reserving’ sunbeds by leaving towels on them this year, despite the signs telling you not too.

The hotels location is ideal, perched on the cliff above the sea with the train station, bus station and main town square all within 5-10 minutes.

Once again, we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view, it really is worth it and a high floor is better. Powered Shutters can be lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Garth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guests,
It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your return visit to the “Royal” and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site on your return home. It is rewarding to hear that you could not have been more pleased with the hotel or the staff.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful view, the buffet breakfast, the “stunning food” and that you found your room comfortable and “cleaned to a very high standard each day”.
We have a very dedicated team of people, so I am thrilled that you appreciated their assistance and that you thought everyone was kind, considerate warm and welcoming at all times. We all love what we do and we want to do it to the best of our ability. It is our aim to provide all our guests with a memorable stay and I am so pleased that we did this for you.
I have passed your kind words to everyone who appreciate your time and wonderful feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully as soon as possible.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We unfortunately did not stay in this hotel but their sister hotel de la ville! We however were able to use the beach facilities in the Royal all we can say is "top notch" what really impressed us was the reception staff who were so friendly and welcoming! The hotel is amazing, the beach facilities very classy! We ate there full lunch both days and everything was perfect! This hotel certainly is 5 star! We are so sorry we did not stay here but we will return next summer for sure! Congratulations Royal! Cu next year

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank irelandsinglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guests,
All my staff and me would like to thank you so much for your beautiful comment.
We are really pleased for all your kind words about the “Hotel” and the reception staff. Thank you for your words of appreciation, we are so happy you had a good time at the “Royal” and that our place often gives special emotions to the travellers who come to stay with us!
Best regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent 2 weeks here and loved every minute. The room was a good size, very comfortable bed and plenty of storage space. It was kept clean even when we left the 'do not disturb sign' on by mistake until the afternoon. The housekeeper checked that we wanted new towels and sorted the room out. The buffet breakfast was excellent - good choice of hot and cold food, freshly cooked omelettes and eggs and even glorious cream cakes and prosecco! I did check this out on a few occasions - just to make sure it was ok. Access to train and bus station is easy -literally 5 minutes just up the road where you can get to Pompeii, Naples and Positano. We did not eat in hotel in evening - bit expensive and nicer to go and explore Sorrento town where there are many good restaurants - see our reviews on these. Reception was particularly helpful - willing to show us where bus stops, shops etc were on a map and explain how to get there. Only negative point was long wait for lunch on last day. We will return - thank you

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view or sit out on terrace at night to see sunset if at back - not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JMASON13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We thank you so much for your comment on your stay posted on Trip advisor.
We have appreciated all your compliments about the location of the hotel, the rooms, the friendly and helpful staff, the view, the buffet breakfast and the cleanliness of the whole hotel.
Our delicious dishes are freshly prepared and therefore you felt that the service at lunch time was slow. Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay and look forward to having you back.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely, elegant Hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the views amazing. Right out to Mount Vesuvius! I especially loved the terraced area, where you could have a cocktail or dine overlooking the sea. Very romantic for couples. The lobby and common areas were beautiful, and the reception helpful.
The breakfast was a feast of choices, including freshly made omelets, pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, etc.
I was amazed at the size of the room. It was a suite with separate living room area. The bath was large with two separate sink areas.
One comment is that I would have liked to have the sheets changed daily.
I was a solo visitor, and this is definitely not a place for singles. The average age was over 60. But the location was perfect for walking into town for shopping, dining,etc. And it was very close to the port where you can catch a boat to Capri, Positano, Amalfi, etc. Also walking distance to the train station and bus terminal.
I did have trouble with the wifi, but the staff helped me with it.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We thank you so much for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Royal on Trip advisor.
We have appreciated your positive comments about the room, the great location of the hotel, the buffet breakfast and the kindness of the whole staff especially at the “reception”.
We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests.
Please, be free to e-mail or contact us for any further information or assistance you may require.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and didn't want to leave!! I could not fault anything about this hotel. The staff, food, rooms and view are absolutely to die for! I would recommend this place to anyone looking at staying in the beautiful Sorrento.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the wonderful review and the time you have taken to comment on Trip advisor, we truly appreciate it.
We are very happy to learn that your stay was pleasant and we thank you for your patronage. Reading your review, we can say that our service, facilities and our location is consistent trying to improve and please our guest as best as possible, from our housekeeping staff to the front desk, concierge, kitchen and restaurants, we go that extra mile to satisfy our guests and making them truly feel like they are at home.
We thank you for having chosen our hotel once again for your stay, and look forward to having you back.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I only stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful hotel, which was a big mistake on hindsight. The staff was more than wonderful and the hotel oozes class and warmth. We had asked for a room with see view, which we did not get, BUT instead we were offered an upgrade with a beautifully decorated room and large private balcony. The pool area was superb, and so was the private beach far below the hotel terrace, to be reached by elevator. Stunning views over the Bay of Napoli. We are definitely coming back next summer and will then stay for a week. Sorrento itself is a dream, with restaurants to die for, not least the Michelin rated "Terrazza Bosquet", serving one of the best meals we have ever had, with Italian wines, surely made in heaven. Our only complaint about the hotel is the poor lunch service at the terrazza restaurant, also advertised as a "gourmet" experience, which it simply was not. The time to stay in Sorrento is late July, when one is sure to catch the best fire works ever. That show will live in our memories forever, and is part of the reason why we will return next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonas-disco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review following your stay with us and for your very kind words about the team, our wonderful terrace , the location, the breakfast and all our services.
I am also delighted that we were able to offer you an upgrade.
We are a very dedicated team of people who take immense pride in what we do and we want each and every guest to feel as you did, like you were the only guests. We regret that, in contrast to other customers, you have not enjoyed the lunch served at "La Terrasse". Could happen, not everyone has the same tastes and for that, if advised by the customer, our waiters always offer a different dish if they do not like something.
We are happy that your experience left you wanting to come back. We do hope that you will and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with a booking.
Until next time,
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £200 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing