We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Fantastic Hotel.

Having looked at some ( very few ) negative comments about this hotel, I can only say that they must have been staying at a different hotel from us.

Everything about the hotel is outstanding. As a Hotel manager myself, I can find fault with anything, but not at The Grand Royal. Our room was beautiful. We paid for a side sea view and this is what we had. It was very nice. The food is out of this world. Two rosette standard without fail. Breakfast also very good. The staff were all very nice. Friendly and would do anything for you. As in all hotels, if you treat staff badly ……they will get their own back, trust me , I know!!!!.

Excellent wine list and good value.

We cant wait to return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys being treated well and likes to eat

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaffCardiff_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    270
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
316
835
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

Great central point for travel to the Amalfi Coast, Pompei, Capri and Naples. Typical old world hotel. Just a short walk to all communication - 30 min train to Pompei, many local buses to explore the peninsula, boats to Capri and Naples. The best view in Sorrento, scores of restaurants within ten minutes walk. Very good prices in low season, excellent value for money, however this is not a budget hotel. Staff very friendly and professional.

Internet services are not up to standard - no wireless in the rooms, and ridiculously, they still charge for the service.

The hotels on the Sorrento escarpment are not ideal for families with children - few activities except the pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_Stockevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

This hotel had some very nice and spectacular features - the breakfast room was very beautiful - beautiful views of the sea and gardens and lots of glass. The hotel generally had lots of old world charm, but sometimes it just seemed shabby and worn. Some of the furniture - especially in the rooms should be replaced. We stayed in an upgraded room facing the road - I would recommend a sea-facing room. Its about a 15+ minute walk to main square and shops of Sorrento. We didn't get to use the pool or see the lounge area by the sea since it was torrentially raining, but it sounded like (and looks like from other travelers' pictures) those were some of the hotel's best features.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCglobetrotterJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

The hotel is brilliant! Very relaxing, private and spacious. Gardens are amazing! Our second stay. I intend on traveling back next year with friends!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukesheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

We stayed here at the beginning of November after reading good reviews on here. Very disappointed though

Good points - lovely elegant hotel, great views, clean, beds & towels changed daily (very small towels though and no bathrobes, which you would expect in a hotel like this). Great location close to the centre and ideal for train station.

BUT, now for the bad points! It is not made clear on their website that only half the services are available once its past October! And there are a few things not mentioned in other reviews on here!

We paid for a Prestige Double and ended up with a small room on the 3rd floor.. much smaller than shown on their website. Half the rooms were being decorated so they probably stuck us where they could. We'd asked for a room on the top floor, but they apparently weren't available - hard to believe they were in use, as there were only 20 of us in the hotel!!

No evening meals in the hotel after October! This is not stated on their website. Indeed, with a Prestige room, we should have had a complimentary free evening dinner, which is impossible if the restaurant doesn't even open!

Room service only offered sandwiches - no hot food - and they would set you back €5 each plus a further €5 per person service charge so €10 for a small sandwich was ridiculous.

No cooked breakfast offered. Every day it was the same 2 sorts of bread rolls and some tough old bread which wouldn't even toast! Dry stale pastries came out every day. Packet ham and cheese slices, tinned fruit or cereal. Seriously, 7 days of this was more than enough!

No outside bars or restaurants open. We had to ask reception to track down the barman whenever we needed a beer.. mind you at nearly £5 for a small bottle of beer it was probably a good thing we had to wait to be served!

Bathing decks weren't open - all ripped up for the winter!! - and not even the lift was open which they boast of, to take you down the bathing area! Swimming pool was clean but freezing and no one used it while we were there.

No drinking water in the rooms.. incredibly poor considering this is a 4-5 star hotel and you're on mainland Italy! Having to keep buying bottles of water just to get a drink is hardly what you should expect in a hotel of this standard.

Only 2 English TV channels - BBC Prime and BBC World.

They advertise free internet if you book a prestige room.. but turns out its ONLY if you have your own laptop!! OK if you were on business, you may have one with you but how many people take a laptop on holiday!? They charged €2 for 15 mins to use the pc in the reception area!

Overall it spoiled our holiday as there was nothing of interest in the hotel and no amenities at all. We may as well have booked into self catering! And at £200 a night it was terrible value for money.

Also be aware that they charge €20 a day to park!!

Would never stay there again sadly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

We were actually booked into the sister hotel the Grand de Ville, but one of their floors was out of comission and as we had booked a premier room and one wasn't available they moved us to the Royal, The Grande de Ville looked wonderful and the front desk staff were great, but the Royal was definitely better.
It was very grand with beautiful Italian furniture, we had a room facing the ocean and the view was spectacular.
The staff were wonderful, very helpful, we didn't have any meals at the hotel so can't comment on that.
Every thing was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very clean with beautful Italian tile on the floor and walls, and Italian tile on the bedroom floor.
The hotel is in a great location, close to the train and bus station, and a 10 min walk to the square.We would definitely stay at this hotel the next time we are in Sorrento

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheffgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MA USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

This was our second visit to the Royal. Beautiful hotel located in prime location overlooking Bay of Sorrento. Pool overlooks the bay, or go ot the lower deck and swim in the bay. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Has old world, traditional feel with traditional inlaid furniture and Italian tile floors. Rooms immaculate. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast in lovely dining room. Pool side snacks, terrace bar also available.

The hotel is secluded and quiet but just a couple of blocks from busy Tasso square and great shopping and eating!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing