We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel within a beautiful part of Italy”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel within a beautiful part of Italy”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed at this 4 star hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cleanliness was second to none and the reception staff were always willing to help, they organised a half day trip to Pompeii for us which was not too expensive and very interesting.

The food was excellent, you had a varied menu and the waiters/waitresses were always very attentive.

We were also fortunate to see an italian wedding reception in the hotel, and were not disturbed by their function.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone considering staying in Sorrento.

Lastly a tip if you catch a bus from Sorrento to Amalfi it travels through a town called Positano and the views are simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreeneyesMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    281
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
333
888
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We had two weeks at the beginning of April which was extended due to the ash cloud. This hotel has an extensive menu and the quality of the food is excellent. The waiters are both very professional and friendly. The room on the top floor facing the road was large and had just been redecorated to a high standard. The pool area and gardens were lovely. Great views across the bay - watched the boats come in to port - very charming and classy hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venus500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The service was wonderful. The first morning we were there we slept through breakfast, but the staff was so accommodating that they actually prepared a special breakfast for us. The hotel restaurant is excellent with fine service. The room was delightful with a beautiful view. This was one of the best hotel experiences we've had.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doctravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Well a perfect location, with beautiful gardens and wonderful staff. I cant reccommend this hotel enough if you are visiting Sorrento.
It is in a great location 10 minutes walk from piazza Tasso ( Main Square) where you can sit and watch the world go by.
We had our wedding in Sorrento at the cloisters and had a reception at the Royal. The quality of service was amazing, i couldnt fault a single thing during a 7day stay, something i have never said before.
The staff went out of there way to make our stay comfortable. Excellent Hotel, great staff. will definately return to our Sorrento Dream Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffordWiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Fantastic Hotel.

Having looked at some ( very few ) negative comments about this hotel, I can only say that they must have been staying at a different hotel from us.

Everything about the hotel is outstanding. As a Hotel manager myself, I can find fault with anything, but not at The Grand Royal. Our room was beautiful. We paid for a side sea view and this is what we had. It was very nice. The food is out of this world. Two rosette standard without fail. Breakfast also very good. The staff were all very nice. Friendly and would do anything for you. As in all hotels, if you treat staff badly ……they will get their own back, trust me , I know!!!!.

Excellent wine list and good value.

We cant wait to return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys being treated well and likes to eat

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaffCardiff_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Great central point for travel to the Amalfi Coast, Pompei, Capri and Naples. Typical old world hotel. Just a short walk to all communication - 30 min train to Pompei, many local buses to explore the peninsula, boats to Capri and Naples. The best view in Sorrento, scores of restaurants within ten minutes walk. Very good prices in low season, excellent value for money, however this is not a budget hotel. Staff very friendly and professional.

Internet services are not up to standard - no wireless in the rooms, and ridiculously, they still charge for the service.

The hotels on the Sorrento escarpment are not ideal for families with children - few activities except the pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_Stockevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

This hotel had some very nice and spectacular features - the breakfast room was very beautiful - beautiful views of the sea and gardens and lots of glass. The hotel generally had lots of old world charm, but sometimes it just seemed shabby and worn. Some of the furniture - especially in the rooms should be replaced. We stayed in an upgraded room facing the road - I would recommend a sea-facing room. Its about a 15+ minute walk to main square and shops of Sorrento. We didn't get to use the pool or see the lounge area by the sea since it was torrentially raining, but it sounded like (and looks like from other travelers' pictures) those were some of the hotel's best features.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCglobetrotterJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing