We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

A group of eight of us stayed here for five nights in mid October. The hotel is brilliantly situated very near the centre of town and easily walkable to the ports or railway station.
Our reception was friendly and efficient as was the service throughout our stay.
We had booked rooms with sea views which were what it's all about and they were well worth the extra charge. We had two rooms on the 4th floor and two on the 3rd (we did book 6 months before so had rather hoped to be at least on the same floor) and the rooms were varied in shape and size but generally well furnished and comfortable but rather tired - the problem with staying towards the end of the season.
We did not eat in the hotel (Sorrento has some excellent restaurants such as Da Emilia or Il Borgo) and breakfast was frankly rather disappointing with weak orange juice and strange tasting coffee; however the view from your table or from the cocktail bar balcony made up for everything!

Room Tip: The sea view is worth it - in fact you'd be crazy not to have it - why else are you in Sorrento?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George-the-Pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Imperial Tramontano with husband and 14 yr old son. From the moment we arrived we were totally relaxed. Our room overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius was magnificent. Even with the sofa bed already made as a bed we had plenty of space. The bathroom was big and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were amazing and the staff were thoughtful and remembered what drinks we liked in the bar in the evenings. We were within walking distance of all the shops and the railway station and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

From its grounds to its interior, the Tramontano is an exquisite hotel. The staff was very accommodating, our breakfasts delicious and the suites were wonderfully appointed and extremely comfortable. I especially enjoyed our view of the Bay of Naples.

One word describes the lobby...gorgeous. The hotel offers various sitting areas for its guests which made it very comfortable for our party of eight.

We would definitely come back to the Tramontano on a return trip to Sorrento.

Room Tip: Going to sleep and waking up overlooking the Bay of Naples was a dream come true
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Staff excellent andRooms very helpful and friendly. Rooms well appointed but like most hotels in Italy the bathrooms could do with updating. Good views and very central, minutes from the harbour and ferries to Capri. Close to railway station. Swimming pool area and gardens very relaxing and well maintained. Restaurant food very acceptable but not 5 star. (shame). Bar and balcony area 1st class. Service excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaide23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Went here for 4 nights for a wedding anniversary. It is in the centre of Sorrento and great for getting down to the harbour (hotel has it's own private lift) and to go to the shops and restaurants. We asked for a sea view room which had a wonderful view. Rooms were basic and need some updating but did not ruin the trip. Staff are lovely and breakfast room has a great view over the harbour. Swimming pool area was really nice. Drinks/food was very expensive but so is the whole of Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank insearchofaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

What a setting for a hotel in this wonderful location and my room on the first floor was huge,beautifully furnished with a stupendous view of the bay plus Vesuvius.Breathtaking.My sister and niece had a larger sit out balcony room on another floor.
This hotel has everything going for it,from the lovely grdens with swimming pool to the cool interior for a drink from the friendly barman.
The front desk staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.
The self service breakfast buffet catered for all with varied choices hot & cold with table service coffee from again excellent staff.
We had the hotel dinner every evening due to my "old age!" with very good food choices(Oh the fresh Pasta dishes} and waiters second to none in the helpful,friendly department.
I would highly recommend this choice of hotel for anyone who wishes to indulge in an out of this world trip.No wonder the song was written on this terrace with such views.
Well done Tramontano and thankyou.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the bay are superb especially the 1st floor which are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three days in Sept. Great location, decent room overlooking the court yard and pool. We would definately stay here again and certainly hope to.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £163 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing