We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay
Level Contributor
155 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

When the sun is shining and you sit on the balcony looking across the bay to Naples with Vesuvius in the distance what could be better.
Our room was clean, bright and good decorative order. The room was compact. The only meals we had in the hotel were breakfast which was a good selection with fantastic views and friendly service from the staff. On two of the days we had two large America tour groups in who unfortunately both had the same departure time for their tour. The restaurant simply could not cope with the numbers all at the same time. The staff were apologetic and encourage us to take some juice whilst we waited a few minutes for tables to be prepared. This unfortunately was not good enough for one of the American tour group. The manager Luige was proffesional and dealt with this individual brilliantly.
All staff were very helpful. The hotel has a English country house feel to it in decor and style. The only negative point was the £ struggled with some of the hotel prices. eg 5 Euro for a small glass of beer

Room Tip: If your budget allows the sea views are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    263
    120
    39
    21
See reviews for
223
550
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have stayed in many European hotels but never experienced this level of service. Every employee greeted us with such warmth and made us feel as if we were right at home. The rooms are fine, beds comfy, the views from our rooms over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius were magnificent. Be sure not to miss cocktails in the bar with Pepe, who has been there more than 25 years. He makes a great cocktail, too! The breakfast was a large varied spread, loved the poached eggs. The views from this room are also wonderful. Location is perfect for access to shopping, dining, and the port (for ferry to Capri).

Room Tip: View of Bay of Naples is worth it if you can swing it. The fourth floor rooms have a balcony with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfeiten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here with some girlfriends for a long weekend last May and really enjoyed it. The location was great with fabulous views - make sure you have a glass of prosecco on the terrace in the evening - they bring great nibbles with them. We stayed in a standard room and had a view of the pool which was pleasant. the rooms were pleasant and large enough. The hotel is located just a few streets away from several other restaurants ans bars so we never ate dinner there but the breakfast spread was quite large and again the views were fabulous. I would stay here again if I went back as I think its fairly good value for money. The only negative was that the pillows were REALLY hard. It was like sleeping on a brick however they were better when they exchanged them

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine unless you specifically want a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimpton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Booked a late summer 7day break here, Sept 2011. Absolutely super Hotel. Can't say a bad thing about it. Very friendly, superb breakfast, and plenty of restaurants nearby for an evening meal if you want to eat out. Evening dining in is good,(but not wonderful). Give it a go, but you won't want to do it every night. Room with seaview strongly advised. The view is stunning. The hotel is probably better for the slightly more mature clients! (like us!!) Would not think it ideal for people with young children, but that is probably true of most of Sorrento. We are about to book again, for a longer stay this time.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view, and if you can afford it the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife and I enjoyed this hotel immensely, the room was beautiful the food was good and the pool area was tranquil you could not ask for mor, the staff were great and a 5 minute stroll and you were in the heart of the town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hellsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Absolutely glorious hotel, staff can't do enough for you. Rooms are spacious, airy and tranquil.
Fabulous pool, beautiful food. Balconies with the view of vesuvius.
Short stroll into the heart of Sorrento, easy to catch the train to destinations such as Pompeii and Herculaneum.
Best holiday ever.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatePP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

It's taken a while to get this review going but she's watching bloody big brother and I've got no int so here it is.

I went to the Imperial Hotel with my family back in September 2011, 6 adults and 1 toddler for a friends wedding. The staff as we checked in we're very friendly and helpful and told us a lot of good info about the area and what do see and do etc. hotel rooms were lovely and clean, nice and airy with all the bits and bobs.

The hotel is quite old but it's not dated, it's done out in an old fashioned way but this takes nothing away from the experience.
Breakfast was superb, I ate like a pig for 5 days, fill your boots!
Lunchtime we ventured out or ate round the pool. Again the grub and the service was very very good. The pool staff were very attentive. It was quite quiet aroundvthecpool even tho it backed onto a cobblestone road. The pool is nice, not massive, but ok. It's not really 'kid friendly' as such, but my little'un wasn't bothered, it was good enough for her.
Evening meal was a set menu, not really my bag, but this was great. We didn't have a bad meal at all and the selections were fine for all of us every evening. Again, I ate like a gannet.
The standout for me were the staff in the restaurant, especially Jack and the don of the Gaff, Luigi. My daughter loved them and it made for a great experience for her. Bearing in mind this isn't a child orientated hotel, they did really well.
The location was superb, right on the beach and 5 mins from the main square.
All in all, a really lovely place to be if your staying in Sorrento....so much better than that CARZY I stayed in in Kalkan, Turkey. Here's hoping that place has fallen into the sea along with all the staff as well.
Anyway, in a nutshell, hats off to the Tramontano, I would 100% recommend you stay here. It's well boaty. Cheers.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thedalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Property: Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing