We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and each time we receive an excellent level of service. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is lovely with great views over the bay. We love the breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haydon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights. Everything about the hotel was perfect. this is exactly what I am looking for in a hotel. I wish the US had hotels like this. My room had stunning views of the Bay of Naples, but I would imagine that a "garden view" room would be equally lovely -- the garden is wonderful! It's wonderful to stay at a hotel with such elegance and style, especially when a vacation can be busy and exhausting. The bar is lovely -- great place to unwind after a long day of sight-seeing. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful -- nothing was too difficult to ask. Luigi helped me extensively in making my reservation prior to traveling; Andrea was front-and-center every evening to help with any question; Veronica keep my room sparkling and even gave me a gift upon arrival.

I a super-busy tourist area like Sorrento, it is so worthwhile to stay in a lovely, special place -- this is IT!!

Room Tip: The sea view is spectacular, but I think a garden view would be lovely as well. You have the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseeCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

What a surprise - fabulous position, cliff edge overlooking sea, close to everything but in quiet spot, superb garden and pool area, room gorgeous - lucky to be given one of the larger rooms (they are all different), staff helpful, good breakfast in beautiful rooms also overlooking sea, delightful common areas and so spacious. Only criticisms were no free wifi and no coffee making in hotel. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Must have a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We've just enjoyed a week at this fabulous 4 star hotel (oozing with literary history) and hanging romantically on the cliff edge of Sorrento - my husband, 13 year old son, 18 year old daughter and myself. It was perfect - most probably the best family holiday we've had. Not a single grumble from either of the kids for having to share a room!
Of course Italy is not cheap - but we found dining in many of the local restaurants on a par with our 'edge of London' prices. I confess we didn't eat in the hotel once.
But we did have some lovely afternoon teas outside in the garden and in delightful reception rooms and drinks in the bar. Do ask Alfonso or his son to cut up a lemon for you. You can eat the whole thing! Yes - not bitter at all! A very special lemon, grown in the grounds of the hotel.
Rooms: were not enormous, but full of character and charm. We liked the firm beds! And sea view was wonderful.
Breakfasts: were lovely. Fresh, and varied.
Service: exceptional! Luigi and his team really looked after us well. They have a wonderful knack of being courteous, yet friendly and not over-fussing. On check out day I accidentally left a silver broach in our room. When we came back to the hotel (after a final shop!) to collect our taxi and our bags - the maid had found it and left it at Reception for me! Lovely honest staff.
Location: couldn't be better. On the cliff edge, as I said. But a short walk from the centre of Sorrento (for shops and restaurants etc), and still a short walk from the Railway, the bus and the ferry. My husband 'doesn't do' public transport in the main! Even he was happy to use the easy (and fun) public transport.
Sightseeing: Pompeii - we went on the train. Hairy coming back because trains were cancelled, so we were all rather squashed and late. But Pompeii was fabulous. Even 13 year old son was impressed. If you can afford it - do have a guided tour. We paid 10€ each for a 2 hour walking tour (no more than 10 in the group) of the main sites whilst our guide Lido painted our imaginations the whole time and showed us a living, colourful town instead of a rather impressive heap of ruins. I enjoyed it far more than my last visit aged 15 back in the 1970s with my dad marching us from point to point in the middle of a hot August barking information at us from a Guide book!!
We were told Herculaneum is more impressive. Something to come back for!
Capri: we took the ferry. A delight. Especially Axel Munthe's former home (Villa San Michele). Doubly interesting to learn about his life and works too.
Amalfi: we took the bus along the coast road. Cheap and comfortable and great way to see the views. Could have stopped in Positano but we spent our time in Amalfi instead. Tip - don't drop in the cafe bang opposite the breathtaking church in the main square. It was the only disappointing food we ate in the whole holiday. Shame. Otherwise Amalfi is well worth a visit!
Naples: we took the ferry. Sadly dirty and not a nice city. Litter simply everywhere. Glad it wasn't prime season. Archaelogical Museum was truly disappointing by UK standards. They have an awesome collection, ruined in poor displays. Audio guides were poor. and stupidly you couldn't find the audio numbers in the rooms without a huge hunt.
That said - of course you should do the museum. The Mosaics are unbelievable! Even a fantastic portrait of a well to do woman with pearls round her neck.
We didn't feel very safe - glad it wasn't height of season and glad to get back to Sorrento.
Easter: We left on Good Friday - having enjoyed the build up to Easter. And on the morning of the day we left, 3 of us got up at 3.00am to watch a fantastic 500 strong Easter procession pass along the street in front of the hotel. So glad we got up for this. It took them 3/4 hour to pass and was an incredible display of Roman Catholicism Italian Style.
Would we go again? Of course. And I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the Amalfi coast than in this Hotel in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view! You're hanging on the cliff overlooking nothing but the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyHolidaySeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We choose this hotel for its location. We had a sea view suite with a great view. It is a older hotel, so you do hear your neighbors. The beds were like hospital beds, hard! The linens and towels for this price of property should been better quality. Staff was OK, could of had a better Conceige service. Dinning in the hotel was pricey compared to the local restaurants, which there were several near by.

Room Tip: Check your room first before upacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knordstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

In the 19th C., this was The Place to Stay in Sorrento: Byron, Shelley, Ibsen, et al all stayed, along with many of the Crowned Heads of Europe. Its age means it's central; its status, that it has a fantastic cliff-top situation surrounded by sub-tropical gardens. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, the food is excellent, and all in all it's one of the nicest places I've ever stayed.

Room Tip: The sea views really are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philoxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

When the sun is shining and you sit on the balcony looking across the bay to Naples with Vesuvius in the distance what could be better.
Our room was clean, bright and good decorative order. The room was compact. The only meals we had in the hotel were breakfast which was a good selection with fantastic views and friendly service from the staff. On two of the days we had two large America tour groups in who unfortunately both had the same departure time for their tour. The restaurant simply could not cope with the numbers all at the same time. The staff were apologetic and encourage us to take some juice whilst we waited a few minutes for tables to be prepared. This unfortunately was not good enough for one of the American tour group. The manager Luige was proffesional and dealt with this individual brilliantly.
All staff were very helpful. The hotel has a English country house feel to it in decor and style. The only negative point was the £ struggled with some of the hotel prices. eg 5 Euro for a small glass of beer

Room Tip: If your budget allows the sea views are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £162 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing