We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May 2012. My mom had a sea view suite on the third floor and I had a standard garden view room on the fourth floor. The suite was a split level with the bedroom upstairs, the living room and large bathroom downstairs. The bathroom downstairs from the bedroom was a bit of a problem for my mom who became ill while we were in Sorrento. The suite had two doors that opened to a spectacular view of the Bay of Naples. The suite could have used more electrical outlets in the bedroom loft. The standard garden view room had twin beds and was very clean and comfortable. Beautiful view of the Sorrento mountains from the room. The hotel staff was wonderful and very helpful. They even arranged for an English speaking doctor to come to the hotel to see my mom. They were very helpful with arranging a tour for me.

We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel for most of our stay. We had room service as well. The staff in the restaurant were wonderful. They were the nicest people, remembered us each time they saw us, and asked about our stay in Sorrento. Excellent service when presenting meals. The breakfast was unbelievable, some of the most beautiful pastries I have ever seen and tasted every bit as good as they looked. Meals were not expensive and the portions were very large for Italy, almost too much. Our waiter made terrific local wine selections for us.

Would definitely stay there again. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are quiet and well furnished.

Room Tip: Some of the suites do not have a balcony to sit on, make sure to ask if there is a balcony or just t...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aunteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel Tramontano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had a nice small room with a garden view which wasn't that impressive but still nice. I found hotel a bit too expensive though. It was comfortable and clean (apart from the balcony which has been forgotten with few cigarettes lying there on our arrival and never tidied up through our stay). However, we loved the decor of this hotel and breathtaking view through the window during breakfast time. Breakfast was included and pretty good choice and also had many extras which needed to be payed for if required. If you can afford to spend extra, get a bigger room with a sea view and you will love it. By the way, it has got a perfect location with everything near by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eglutik35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hotel is located on the waterThe view from our room was breathtaking.My husband and I travelled with our adult son.The reservation manager arranged for us to have a suite on the second floor.It was perfect.The loft gave us privacy.The hotel staff was among the best we have ever encountered and we travel alot.The reservation manager,the concierges,the wait staff in the dining room,the bellhops could not have been more helpful.Alitalia had lost a piece of luggage which they didn't deliver for 4 days.The concierge desk kept calling the airline in an attempt to help us.
The hotel is well maintained,the breakfast buffet was generous and constantly refilled.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we would certainly go back there if we ever travel to the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel was was fantastic. The decor was amazing,the rooms where clean and tidy. The view from our room was superb seeing the Bay of Naples before us. The maids came in every morning to make the beds,clean the rooms and to restock the sundries used. The Breakfast was wonderful there was plenty to choose from, the service staff were always welcoming and first class. The view while having breakfast was breathtaking seeing Mount Vesusvius across the Bay, one particular morning a tall ship came sailing in. The grounds and pool are fantastic we sent alot of time in and around the pool.

I recommend this hotel to anybody going to sorrento it is in a central location near to all the shops,next door to the park overlooking the large marina where the ferries go to Capri. It has excellent views of the Bay of Naples. We loved it so much last year we are going back for a second visit!!

Room Tip: book early the ones with balconies and seaviews go quick if you want a good seaview make sure you as...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is the most outstanding hotel I have ever stayed in. From the hotel staff to the pool to the wounderfull senior suite with sea view everything was amazing. My self and fiance (now husband) stayed here for 10 nights during our wedding/honeymoon. Very central to everything in Sorrento yet out of the way from all the hussle and bussle

Room Tip: Sea view senior suite go on treat yourself
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a fabulous hotel....old and grand but well kept and elegant. Perched on the cliffs with views that will make it hard to leave your room! The grounds are lovely and the pool area is great...relaxing. Breakfast was great with a huge variety, good service and a dinning room with beautiful warm morning sun and the same spectacular view. The best part of our stay though was the friendly and professional service we got. From The bellman that greeted us when we arrived to the waiters and housekeeping staff, all were warm and friendly and seemed genuinely glad to have you there. Special mention to Vito and Rosanna at the front desk. They were always helpful with tips and advice on getting around town and helped us find the best shops and restaurants. We will be back to stay again!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CMVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We loved every aspect! It is a gorgeous hotel. The common rooms, the terrace, the pool and the gardens are spectacular! Our rooms faced the pool and had amazing balconies! The room size was good and the features were beautiful. The hotel is right in the center of the city which was wonderful. The staff was fantastic! It was tremendous value for the money!!!!
What a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £172 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing